We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds in China”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Jiuzhaigou County, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Beds in China”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Got upgraded from a double dorm to a double suite due to overbooking. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the beds were fantastic. I had trouble getting up in the morning to catch the bus to Yangshuo because the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast at the bar is pretty decent. The hostel is only a 5 min walk from the bus station, and the staff can help you get pretty much anywhere. There is no wifi in the rooms but they have it in the lobby. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Guilin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTravelsFaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    71
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
59
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Green Forest Hostel is in a good location in Guilin; 5mins walk to the bus station and 15mins walk to the train station. It is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. We had a room with no window, which I would not recommend. They do have rooms with windows which would be much better. The chill out area is very nice, with food, bar, wifi and books. Wifi did not work in the rooms. The staff were very helpful and had good english, and allowed us to hang out in the chill out area while waiting for our train connection having come back from Yangshou. I would stay again, but only in a bigger, windowed room. My only real complaint is that on one of the nights, some of the guests were particularly noisy in the common area, so loud the conversations could be heard in the room. It would have been good if staff asked them to quieten down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in a private room at Green Forest Hostel on two different occasions during our recent trip to China. Overall, we would recommend this hostel to other budget travelers and would stay there again.

Pros:
-Easy to get to (5-10 minute walk from the train station and main bus station)
-Central Location (Riverside, near many restaurants, parks, and stores)
-Helpful Staff (Friendly, English speaking and able to answer all the questions we had)
-Free Wifi and computers available (A must these days)
-Free Laundry Service (A major plus when on an extended trip)
-Private Rooms (Room 207 was quite nice, our other room was just OK, but both were clean and cost about $16 a night. A good value in our opinion)

Cons:
-No kitchen (but they do sell food and their are plenty of places to eat near by)
-Still being upgraded (some rooms are better than others, with newer furniture, etc.)
-Cats (We liked them, but if you have allergies be advised)

Room Tip: Room 207 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've stayed at most of the hostels in Guilin and this one is definitely the best. Their service is wonderful, they have a great lounge, the location is convenient, and the rooms are nice with a good view. Prices range from 80 RMB to 120 RMB depending on if you have a river view room or if it's single or double. Also, they have bigger community rooms for men or women that are even lower priced. The best thing is their lounge. They have good food and drinks, a TV with Wii and many movies, comfortable couches and tables, games, and lots of information about traveling. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and nice. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a great vacation in Guilin. There's lots of foreigners to chat with here too, and you can walk from here to many places too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My stay at How was amazing. i really enjoyed my stay there. The guys on reception speak great english and are very helpful. they wrote down in Chinese for me how I should ask for my train ticket, which was a great touch.
The lobby is a but cold, but its great if you have a jumper on. They have a huge tv with a great chocie of DVDs to chose from

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

the lobby was modern and well managed.
we stayed in a twin room, rather spacious room for a hostel :) Its was clean and ok. the matress and the sheets was great for two of us. facilitated with tv with lot of channels. the bathroom was ok, they provide tissue rolls.
we saw 2 kittens to play with before breaky :) morning breaky was filling and good, cost you yuan 25 if i not mistaken.
the staffs were good and helpful, especially when we're looking for direction toward the airport shuttle :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a very nice hostel in Guilin and very reasonably priced (because we were staying for an extended period over a low season, they even upgraded us to a river view room). When we checked in late at night, they even let us just go to our room and get some rest and pay the next day. Close to bus/train station with lots of street food options and walking distance to the center of town. There are a lot of hostel choices in the area so absolute bargain hunters may want to shop around a bit for the best price. My daughter loved the kittens and the breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced. Lobby was comfortable to hang out in and staff was friendly, spoke excellent English and were personable. We did most things on our own, but did pay to take the Li river cruise down to Yangshuo where we were staying next. I suspect that we could have gotten a much better deal on that had we shopped around a bit. It was pricey and once on the tour, they pushed an additional "country-side" tour for even more. Once we got to Yangshuo, we discovered that all of the "country-side" parts of the tour could be purchased for much less. So, I had a bit of a bad taste about the "tour" thing, but the hostel was top-notch!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank petpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
Ron Inn
#7 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 637 in Guilin
1,171 reviews
Wada Hostel
#1 of 208 in Guilin
409 reviews
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 41 in Guilin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station

Property: Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Address: No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing