We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of art & youth atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
How Flowers Youth Hostel
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Reviewed January 28, 2013

First of all,it's really a cheap chain-hostel.However,the room live up to the price.Hostel is in the corner of a backstreet,so it's not easy to find out the first time.
There are many rice-noodle shops scattered around the hostel.Local snacks and meals are offered in different shops as well.
As the hostel is not far from Guilin Train Station,travelers coming to Guilin by train is convenient to live there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night in one of the dorms. We had to move twice because the aircon was blowing hot air, and we ended up in the smallest of the 4-bed dorms. It was quite ok, but very cramped and almost no room for luggage. The room was clean, but the bed sheets were very old and had old blood stains in them. For 40Y, this is not a very cheap dorm so I was disappointed.
The service was good and the food (diner and breakfast the next day) was good and cheap. The common area/bar looks good, there's a pool-table and they play good music. The wifi has to be the worst in the world, it took ages to load a webpage even though there weren't a lot of people around using it.
The bathrooms weren't very clean, the showers had lots of hairs stuck in the drain and there was a bad smell to them.
I think you can do better for 40Y, and maybe even find a cheaper place that offers better quality. We chose this place because it's very close to the train station, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a working aircon in your room because a lot of rooms have malfunctioning ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hostel was the worst of all the hostels in all eight cities we visited during our trip to China in December 2011. First, the hostel name on the building doesn’t match the name online. We weren’t sure if it was even the correct one because there are two similar hostels names in Guilin when we booked online. The hostel purposely misrepresented itself to be a different hostel in order to take advantage of the other hostel's better ratings. The misleading information also appeared on various hostelling websites.

If you stay at the hostel, you'll understand why it had to hijack the other hostel's name for better ratings. When we pointed out the misinformation online, the woman at the counter didn't care. She had a flippant, lackadaisical attitude about the misrepresentation and simply replied that she didn't manage the website.
Among our issues:

1. The website promises to offer certain services and room features that do not exist. The room we booked was supposed to have an ensuite toilet bathroom. Instead, our bathroom did not have a toilet, but only a Turkish toilet which you had to squat to use. Not a big deal except for the awful smell emanating from it the entire time. We had to keep the bathroom fan on the entire time we were in the room, and even that failed to properly mitigate the stench.
2. Basic necessities, such as the free city map offered on its website when we arrived, are also lies. Maps are only available for purchase. Again, if you don't truly offer a service, then you shouldn't lie about it on your website.
3. Also, tried to book a hostel for the next city we were traveling to, only to find one PC broken and other one with a superslow internet connection.
4. The light in our room was so dim, we had a hard time reading our guide book…… and...

5. When we raised these issues with the girl at the front desk, she couldn't respond to some of them and called her manager. Her final response to us, after talking with the manager, was “We offer this atmosphere for guests to stay here. You can leave if you are not satisfied.”
We do not recommend this hostel. Bad service and a bad attitude!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were there 3 nights and each of them in a different room. They told us they had a double room but afterall was a mistake and we had to change everyday.

Anywise it's clean and the common area it's really nice. The breakfast is delicious and it's quite cheap!

Internet is very, very, very slow. In fact think that you don't have it!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The location is near the train and bus station, but it's down a little street and up some stairs. Tough if you have lots of luggage.

This hostel is economical however nothing special, rooms are small. There is a co-ed shower/toilet that looks newer than the rest of the hostel, which is a little tired.

Some of the desk staff are very helpful but some not as much. I was trying to get directions to the bus station for a bus to yangshuo and the girl at the front desk just told me to go to the train station. Yet I knew the buses at the train station were not direct, which I preferred, and possibly more expensive than the bus from the bus station. A little disappointing that they would push this option instead of just giving me directions to the bus stations, only a 10 min walk away (same side of the street as the railway, easy to find).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sky_northern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The primary benefit of this hostel is the location near the airport shuttle stop and railway station. It is far away from the downtown attractions and in a sketchy alleyway. The facilities are in desperate need of renovation: shower doors won't close, there is no dryer for clothes, and some windows are exposed. On the upside, they did have hot water and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaberPrivateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Guilin Flowers hostel is a friendly, sociable hostel with excellent facilities. There is a huge lounge and communal area which is an ideal place to meet fellow travellers. There are two PCs with free internet. The hostel also serves food throughout the day. The staff are friendly and relatively helpful, speaking decent (although not fluent) English.

The hostel is located about 5 minutes away from the train station. It is a little difficult to find, tucked away on a side street. Make sure you have the hostel's name written down in Chinese. Several buses go from the main road towards the pagodas and other sights in Guilin.

We stayed in a 4-bed dorm which was spacious and comfortable, with good air-conditioning. Each bed had a plug point by it. The bathrooms were very clean and very modern. There are no Western toilets in the hostel, only Asian squat-toilets, but these are cleaned regularly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuchi200488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 648 in Guilin
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 648 in Guilin
158 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 648 in Guilin
1,207 reviews
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 648 in Guilin
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Flowers Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Flowers Youth Hostel

Address: No.6-2 Shangzhi Lane, Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range: $5 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — How Flowers Youth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your How Flowers Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing