We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“irish pub where dont know what a pint is....”

Hooley's Irish Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 7,200 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hooley's Irish Pub brings an authentic slice of Irish culture to Guangzhou. On a daily basis we'll whip you up a menu of traditional Irish pub grub, freshly baked bread, traditional Irish fare and even some modern fusion cuisine. Guinness, Kilkenny and much more on tap. Big frozen fruit drinks and a modern cocktail menu for the ladies! Regular live music performances plus big screen satellite sports.Hospitality exudes naturally from our staff; they have a good-natured mixture of gossip, wit, conversation, debate and information, proffered with friendly efficient service and that all important smile.
guangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“irish pub where dont know what a pint is....”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a place where big buch of foreigners conglomerate thinking they are closer to home. The prices are crazy, asking for a pint 30-40RMb in a kind of pub you can call a local pub in any english/irish town. And now we arrived to the question of a pint. We asked two pint of ale and received to 300ml glass. When we said we ordered a pint they said this is a pint in this place. Try to argue and tell that a pint is a mesure and it is the same amount of ml everywhere. Also as i prefer cider I asked it (it was on the menu) but every time we went to this place it was suprisingly not available.
So if you want to meet foreigners go there, if you want to have a relaxed pint which wont cost a bomb do not enter.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsofiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice traditional Irish pub”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was looking for a westerner looking for a traditional pub with traditional beer and traditional food and was recommended by my tour guide to go to Hooley's Irish Pub. They said sometimes Pub organise live music to attract local people. Great atmosphere and the staff speaks good English. The menu is a refreshing change to Chinese food. This pub is probably the only one worth going to. Good range of whiskeys in stock as well...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Felseghi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service with a lot of options”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I would definitely visit this bar. Tables outside, good indoor environment, TVs with sports on, great, friendly service, and good food. The bartender was sick the day we visited, and my friend and I wanted a bloody Mary. The waitress just followed our instructions so we could have the drinks we wanted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nswink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent burger in this part of the world”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wanted some real burger after eating all the chinese food on this trip. Surprisingly, burger at this bar was better than the burger joint Gail's. Although not the best around, the beef was juicy with a pretty good homemade bun. Should be amongst one of the better burgers i've had in Asia. Mojito wasn't done right. Should have gone for a beer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Still Prefer the Old Hooley's”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Firstly, location wasn't good but plenty of taxis. Ventilations was poor and stick to outdoors but avoid during summer months. Floor space rather tight and especially weekends where it can be a bumper to bumper situation! Live music was OK but sound quality rather dissapointing. Now sure a clever idea to have the toilets on 3rd floor, tricky especially after a couple of drinks...Oh how we missed the old Hooley's!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooley's Irish Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Been to Hooley's Irish Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing