We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one minus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
Ranked #6 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only one minus”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Well I choosed this hotel because of the brand . The hotel is very good , nice executive rooms . The lobby seems little comapring with the dimensions and volume of the hotel building . I think that lobbys must be nice so from this point of view the lobby is not fantastic . The rooms are big and the restaurant is good . Great breakfast and good cooking for lunch and dinner . The negative parts I have found are : 1 ) the location . youjust cannot go out to take a walk and eat in a close restaurant . you have to take a taxi and go . near the hotel are only office buildings . 2) no free internet . I thought that , if you pay 400 Euro / night at least I will get free internet ! the internet was a little expensive
3) The cost to eat in the restaurant seems over priced taking into consideration that if you want to eat you must take the cab 10 min .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    272
    45
    9
    13
See reviews for
54
52
31
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I travel to Guangzhou for business quite often and have chosen to stay at the Ritz most of the time because of the location. Yes, it is in a developing area, but close to where I need to go. The hotel will be at the center of the 2010 Asian Games, so perhaps by November 2010, the hotel's location will be a coveted area.

Service is typically ... how should I say this ... China. Don't expect the world or the refined service you may find at a US or European Ritz. The staff needs much training, but don't forget you are in China and although the culture and people are evolving and adapting quickly, it isn't up to par with the world just yet. This will be the challenge of their current GM, Michelle Caporicci’s job. Have never met her, but she doesn’t seem to answer her own mail. She usually has her assistants answer them.

The rude and curt nature of the staff is somewhat typical of Chinese service reps. I like to blame it on a cultural thing.

After reading a few other reviews, I will have to agree that they do give preference to English speakers who also “look” like they only speak English. If you speak Chinese to them, their attitudes change very quickly and not for the better. Trust me…we spoke English during the remainder of our stay after seeing this and service was considerable better. It is quite disappointing and upsetting given the price you are paying every night. In addition, the elevators take FOREVER to arrive. Whoever set their elevator system up did a very poor job at facilitating the traffic going to each floor. In short…it’ll take you at least 10 minutes going up or down when there is a crowd.

Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is still pretty new and clean. The fixtures are nice, but as another reviewer indicated, they were installed poorly. My bathroom door did not lock because the deadbolt was installed too high on the door. Hindsight, it was a good thing it wasn’t the main room door.

Anyway, they still have a ways to go. I think I will be trying the Grand Hyatt Guangzhou the next time to see if they are any better, but from the reviews, it might just be the same.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc_travellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The final hotel I stayed in during my tour of china. Compared to the other hotels that I stayed in (intercontinental Shenzhen and Sheraton Sanya) it was O.K. Rooms were very large and spacious and room service was good. Food was kind of lousy in the hotel. Well decorated and attractive. Can't say anything much about entertainment and leisure because i only stayed thier one night

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zane033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The interior decoration of this luxurious hotel is reminiscent of Versailles. Its location in the "New Town" means there is much construction around, and not much else. But rooms on one side have stunning views over the Pearl River and across to the city's Tower. One day, the location will be fabulous. The staff are polite and service is good. The restaurant provides an enormous variety of high quality food. Business services are good, if expensive. The pool setting is nice, but not appealing in winter. If you are coming to Guangzhou for a night or two and would like to live it up, this may be the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

A new hotel; great rooms and service. Location under development, so that is subject to change the coming years

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinLiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Ritz Carlton Guangzhou is superb. My family and I stayed there for only 3 days. But it every minute was a joy. They truly pamper you, and go out of their way to help out. Keep it up guys.

We will surely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GZGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I was recently a guest at the Ritz Carlton in Guangzhou; I was out by the pool with my colleagues and noticed the signs around the pool asking people to refrain from spitting. As westerners we found this quite amusing as it's not something that is done in our culture. BUT then we witnessed the need for the signs, a Chinese man and women yes women had lent over the edge of the pool and spat into the drain, which would eventually end up back in the pool. Chlorine will only kill a certain amount of germs and with the H1N1 virus and all the other bugs out there we were very surprised to see this happening with next to no supervision. We were quite put off by this behaviour in a hotel of the Ritz standard and pricing. There was no staff present to even attempt to stop this which I'm extremely surprised. We would think twice before swimming there again! This aside the hotel was great but this left a bad taste in the mouth as we enjoyed a swim after a long day at the Canton Fair to relax.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overseastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#5 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
W Guangzhou
W Guangzhou
#3 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.9 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#8 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Guangzhou
Grand Hyatt Guangzhou
#15 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
Address: No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#74 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the new CBD Pearl River New City of Tianhe District, the 351-room Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou is a luxury destination in the hub of Southern China. With 40 minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport and ten minutes from Guangzhou East Railway Station, hotel provides travel routes to various destinations in China, including direct trains to Hong Kong which take less than two hours. A series of new city landmarks such as Guangzhou Opera House and Guangdong Museum are at just steps away from the hotel. Distinctive services and facilities include 6 restaurants and lounges serving Cantonese and Western favorites, special cigars and wines. From intimate groups of ten to a conference for 800, meetings planners can choose from over 1,000 square meters / 11,000 square feet of exceptional function space available in The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom, three multifunctional meeting rooms, two boardrooms and spacious pre-function areas. An extensive health club and The Ritz-Carlton Spa(R) rejuvenate body and mind, while The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Level anticipates guests' needs with its dedicated personalized service. The Residences at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou features 91 luxury serviced apartments of one to four bedrooms in size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
Ritz Guangzhou
Ritz-Carlton Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ritz Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing