We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the four stars they brag to have....with some exceptions.”
Review of Guangdong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guangdong Hotel
Ranked #781 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent two nights at the Guangdong hotel in late August 2012 while in Guangzhou. Overall, the hotel met or beat expectations. Clean room with lots of amenities, attentive staff (there was an attendant on the floor, which I had not seen before) and lots of good stuff in the room like a complimentary robe, bottles of water, high quality toiletrees and more. The lobby was grand and they had a lot going on within the hotel. It felt like a nice, busy hotel with a solid central location.

The biggest drawback was that, to be candid, the staff just wasn't that helpful. The language barrier was a problem and no one spoke really solid English (we found that to be common in Guangzhou). That is certainly not a complaint, but it made it hard when your key in the door wouldn't work or when you were asking for a reccomendation for dinner. They kept pointing us to the restaurant, which was only okay. One night it closed at 8:45 PM despite a sign that said open to 2:00 AM.

The hotel is also a smoking hotel, which is just something that you have to know and get used to. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and the Travel Desk seems to be permanently closed.

All that being said, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilandBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangdonghotel, Director of Sales at Guangdong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for choosing Guangdong hotel, we look forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very nice, clean room, with good sized bed and wireless and wired internet access. Big clean bathroom with a slightly odd, low level bath. However the mini bar was empty and switched off, and the shape of the buildign does lead to some slightly odd shaped rooms. Mine hade an extremely long corridor with the wardrobe at the end.

The staff were very friendly. Unfortunately could not rate the pool as it was closed for winter.

I ate breakfast in the buffet on the grounf floor and both breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant above. Both very good, however would recommend the restaurant if you enjoy dumplings for breakfast! It's popular with the locals.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_and_T_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangdonghotel, Director of Sales at Guangdong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for choosing Guangdong hotel, we look forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 26, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 20, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 14, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I stayed here in early October 2006. The hotel is well appointed and staff are eager to please. Every floor has a manager who spots you heading for the lifts and gets it for you. I personally find this sort of thing a bit unnerving but it is all nicely done and tips are definitely not expected.

Rooms (business room) reasonable with all the bits and pieces you would expect. These rooms are recently refurbished according to the hotel blurb.

The hotel is pretty central and only 5 minutes from a metro station, Parks with museums and historic buildings are all within a 20 minute walk. Shopping streets likewise. You can get here from Guangzhou East station (from Hong Kong) by Metro if you can escape the clutches of the taxi touts. Make one change.

Restuarants are Chinese food only and English very limited. I spent an evening with a hundred Chinese watching me waiting for me to drop the chopsticks. They did give me forks and spoons but I had sent them back.

Food is good and if you are on your own impossible to finish the portions.

There was supposed to be a breakfast Western Buffet in the coffee shop but this was never functional.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Disgusted-Bagshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontonian_in_Daegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#45 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#185 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
472 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#46 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#22 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Hotel

Address: No.309 Dongfeng Middle Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510045, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #781 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $51 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangdong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guangdong Hotel is a 4-star hotel with accommodation capacity of 500 rooms. It's located in the downtown city and near the beautiful YueXiu Mountain and the world-famous Dr. Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall. From the hotel, it only takes 10 minutes' walk to the main shopping street and 5 minutes' walk to the nearest metro station. The distance between the hotel and the Guangzhou Railway Station and the new International Airport is only 3km and 26km respectively. The hotel features exquisite contour, multi-layered open green balconies, garden-like podium top, spacious and magnificent lobby with trees, flowers and fountains on its middle floor, which presentss all guests a picturesque southern landscape. Supplying complete facilities for services, recreation, business and conference, the hotel also provides the guests fine western and eastern cuisines in hotel restaurants with stylish dining atmosphere. It is an ideal place for business, tourism and conferences. We are cordially waiting for your presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guangdong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing