We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Marina Plaza
Ranked #69 of 3,047 Hotels in Guangzhou
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Made another business trip to Guangzhou and this has become one of my favorite hotels when visiting China. The staff is always friendly and you can always get some type of American food in the Patton Cafe if you are not a fan of Chinese cuisine. The breakfasts are very good and they will make you any type of eggs or omelets. My only issue, and it has been the same since my first visit, is the beds. These beds are VERY firm. If you do not like a firm mattress it may not be for you, of course I have never asked if they have other rooms with a softer mattress, maybe next time. Overall it is a very nice place, lots of helpful staff, and close to everything.

Room Tip: Mattresses are VERY firm!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    102
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
3
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is next to Guangzhou Metro Station Line 3 Panyu Square Exit A. It is very convenient.

The lobby style is very nice. The buffet breakfast has many good choices.

This Hotel is recommended when you visit Panyu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scmgpl
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just stayed for one night on Dec 20th as had a meeting very near the Hotel.HOtel is Huge with lots of amenities and restaurants but very far away from the centre like nearly 75 Minutes by taxi during traffic hours.So if you are either for the Canton fair or have some Meetings nearby then this Hotel is recommended.Couldnt have the breakfast as had to leave for an early meeting else the Rooms were quite spacious and a very fast Wi-Fi services in the rooms.2-3 English Channels on TV like Sports and HBO.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashokscm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I would like to give this 3.5 stars, not 3, but also not 4 stars. This is a nice place to stay for business travelers. The breakfast has alot of american choices, to include omelets and waffles, along with many chinese breakfast choices. The hotel itself is very nice with any amenity you need. The staff have always been more than accomodating at any requests I have made and the housekeeping has always been very good.

I have stayed here at least 5 times in the past and the sevice and food has always been good, never disappointing.

The only complaint I have, and the reason for taking away one star, is the bed has always been very hard. I tell people when I get home that the beds really feel almost like a board. I know that sounds bad but the mattresses are VERY FIRM. All of the times I have stayed here the beds are all the same, no matter if it was a king, queen, or double. One nice thing is that you do have a choice of pillows, about 5 different varieties.

Overall this is a nice hotel and great for a busines traveler. The internet access is pretty good and I have had very few instances of being disconnected. It is a little slow at times but overall the connection is not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I began staying at this hotel at the recommendation of a vendor 5 to 7 years ago. Large clean rooms, across the street from the subway station, 15 minute ride to the exhibition hall and a very short cab ride to downtown Panyu, Not a hot spot for the night life but only a short cab ride to the bar districts. Most of the staff speaks passable english and they do offer cook to order breakfast. There are a couple of cafes in the same building.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybobbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good hotel with standard service for Guangzhou. My room was spacious and clean, with standard furniture, no wi-fi in the room only cable connection to the net for free. Staff is polite and helpful and always smiling and asking if you need help.
Breakfast buffet is also ok. Choice is not so big and various like other hotels in Guangzhou area. Company rate a little bit higher than other hotels in the city with same level. Spa service are also ok.
All in all a good hotel value for money, but nothing special to be remember or reported.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night at 30June for going to Chimelong park.

The hotel itself is nice. Check in is speedy. Room is spacious and clean.
One funny thing is that they have a sauna room inside the bathroom, however it is charging.
Only problem with the room is there are no windows!
Offers free internet but no wifi(Lobby have wifi tho). This is when your wifi router comes in handy.

The subway station is right in front of the hotel. Only two stations to Chimelong park. Excellent.

Not expensive at all if you compare it to Chimelong park hotel.

The Japanese buffet(lunch) is nice. One of the best I had in China.
Cant comment on breakfast cause I didn't ate it.

Would recommend if anyone is trying to find a hotel for going to Chimelong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinW797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.1 mi away
Panyu Hotel
Panyu Hotel
#43 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau Star River Hotel
Chateau Star River Hotel
#73 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
16.8 mi away
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
#53 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
China Mayors Hotel
China Mayors Hotel
#68 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
18.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
18.4 mi away
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
#50 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marina Plaza

Property: Royal Marina Plaza
Address: No.288 Qinghe Road, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511400, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#51 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#55 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marina Plaza Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing