We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with some drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Ranked #21 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel - at the end of August 2012 as well towards the end of September 2012. We chose this hotel because of its location at the airport and this was a great advantage. Our first room was smaller than expected. It faced the inner courtyard and had a little balcony where we could "request the staff to unlock the balcony door". Our second room faced outwards, had no balcony and was more spacious - but not much more. Both rooms were booked as Deluxe category.
Pros:
The "meet and greet" service - it was wonderful to have a smiling face waiting for us at the arrivals gate to escort us to the hotel after tiring flights on China Southern.
We certainly appreciated the early check in of 7.30am. Thank you.
Service in the ground floor restaurant was excellent, especially from Flora who was a real asset to the hotel.
Room was comfortably furnished and amenities supplied were up to 5 star standard. The bed was king size with 3 types of pillows each and very, very comfortable.
The included buffet breakfast was excellent - no other word for it!!!
The Russian staff member who was an "intern" was so kind and helpful and her English was perfect, unlike many of the other front desk staff.
Cons:
Our second room (number 1328) had an unpleasant musty or mouldy smell.
Breakfast items are not available before 6am. Even though our buffet breakfast was included, due to a very early flight, we wanted to purchase some breakfast items from room service at around 5am. We were told this was quite impossible. Indeed there appeared to be no breakfast items on the room service menu!. Please......for a 5 star hotel!!
The absolutely worst thing at this hotel was the continual spitting of guests who were using the pool. The swimmers would finish a lap or two and then hawk and spit over the edge of the pool. This spit would then wash back down into the pool itself. I know spitting is accepted in China, but to many other nationalities it is simply disgusting. I have seen signs stating "No Spitting" in other Asian countries - perhaps a 5 star hotel like the Pullman could install some of these near the pool at the very least.

Room Tip: A room without a balcony could be a little more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman201247
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Picked this hotel because it is the only hotel within the Airport grounds, very hand and I'm also a member the the Accor Club hotel chain. Stayed twice during my return trip from Sydney to Amsterdam with China Southern Airlines. First time was overnight arriving at 6pm and departing at 8am next morning. Booked and Executive room with included breakfast. Hotel is very easy to find, directy outside the Main Airport entrance, check in is quick and simple being prepaid, room is good and clean with King bed and soundproofed. Had to leave at 6.30am next morning and was told included Executive Club breakfast doesn't start until 7am, said I could go to main restaurant for buffet breakfast and extra cost, so waste of time paying for Executive Room. Not sure why a 5 Star Hotel doesn't have a 6am or earlier breakfast for Business travellers on early flights!!!!!!.
Second stay was on my return trip which I booked a Deluxe room for day use only, arriving at 7am and departing at 7pm. Similar room to Exectutive, didn't mind as I was only having a shower and sleeping for 8 - 10 hours to break up my long haul flight. Room good and clean and quick check in, only problem was overhead shower didn't work, only hand shower, a bit tricky for me as I'm 185cms tall. No big drama's though as my main mission was to sleep.
Overall nice hotel and will probably stay again, still can't figure out why no earlier Executive breakfast at 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we reached Guangzhou at 1am and the Pullman staff waited us at arrival hall. The hotel only walking distance fr airport baiyun. Its very convenient to have hotel near airport when we reached midnite. The room is clean and nice, and guess what the hotel got 6 pillows inside the room. So comfortable.
Everything is good, except the hotel doesnt have kids pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juhanis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were flying in and out of Guangzhou for a side trip while in Asia and it made sense to stay near the airport. This hotel is literally 100 feet away from the departures terminal. The hotel pick up is kind of ridiculous. They meet you at the gate with a sign with your name on it, then they basically walk you through the airport to the hotel. A golf cart picks you up from the sidewalk and takes you 50 feet to the hotel entrance. Ok, so that was my only gripe. Other than that, this was a great stay.

This is a high end hotel by anyone's standard. The lobby is impressive with it's three story atrium and tasteful asian motif. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, spacious, and updated plus we couldn't hear a single plane fly over even though our rooms faced the airport. They offer free wifi throughout the hotel although it was spotty in our guest room. The breakfast buffet has both western and chinese options and was better quality than the normal buffet you expect to get in China.

The staff was phenomenally helpful, friendly, and professional and many of them speak english. We asked a staff member where the luggage storage rentals were located in the airport and she arranged for us to store our luggage at the hotel for free instead, and this was after we had checked out.

The only potential downside is that it takes a few minutes to get a cab to go into the city, but if you have an early flight, it's worth the 30 minute cab ride to have to not deal with traffic in the morning. I look forward to staying here again and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butchdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Huge spacious rooms fully equiped
Real non smoking rooms
Great breakfast buffet
Iphone charger
Request for a router than you have free highspeed wifi access in your room. Direct from your bed into the flight and visa versa.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our flight had been delayed by 8 hours and we missed our connection to Europe. Consequently, China Southern accommodated us at the Pullman Hotel, Guangzhou Baiyun Airport as we were flying business class.

We arrived after 01:00 and had frustrating delays both at the airport and hotel reception. The check-in process was done by a China Southern representative and there seemed to be a lack of agreement of what we were entitled to. Every minor decision including check out time, meal entitlements, had to be approved by someone higher up and this involved numerous telephone calls. It was after 02:00 before we got to our room.

The hotel is conveniently located just across the street from the airport terminal. There are electric buggies, apparently for the transfer employees from the terminal to the hotel as we did not see guests ever being offered such a transfer. Guests had to walk and carry their own bags.

Our room was large, with all the expected inclusions of flat screen TV; bath (bathroom amenities included additional items like toothbrush and toothpaste which is useful for those staying over without access to their luggage); in room safe; mini bar and hair dryer. Our room was very quiet and we heard no airport or aircraft noise. There is no complimentary in-room wifi, however, the restaurants and lobby have complimentary wifi.

Staff were friendly enough, it was just that there were so many of them in and around the lobby. Running the gauntlet, all insisting that we have a nice day becomes tiresome because it seemed that nearly every question such as the way to the restaurant, had to be referred to a more senior person. Unfortunately, the additional people did not result in better or more efficient service. At times they seemed to duplicate or worse, confuse what another was already doing. There was an issue when communicating with reception and concierge staff in English, as many seemingly simple questions about what to see in Guangzhou, etc were not well answered. We sat in the lobby and had to do our own research using our iPad – our stopover was unplanned so we had not done any research in advance.

We found the food in U8 very average, both as to quality and taste.

A big frustration came from the (apparently Accor) policy of pre-authorising every possible charge. The receptionist had already taken an imprint of our credit card on check-in. We booked a taxi for a four-hour trip to Guangzhou city with the concierge. When we arrived at the lobby at appointed time, there was a commotion between five staff members. The issue was that when we made the booking, the concierge had not sent us onto reception to get the car charge pre-authorised to our credit card. It took then nearly half an hour to sort this out, have the cost charged to our credit card and get a car/driver. We had been planning to settle our bill in cash, however, we did not trust the hotel to properly reverse the credit card charge.

Our first experience of this pre-charging policy was at the Sofitel Hotel St James in London where the staff could explain this practice. This practice becomes more offensive when it is sprung on you in a foreign country where you do not understand their explanation or their charging system. It would be nice if the hotel trusted its guests to honour their charges otherwise I feel that guest may also be apt to take the same attitude of distrust towards the hotel.

The hotel was acceptable for one night, but if we had longer in Guangzhou we would stay in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#30 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
266 reviews
Baiyun District
Holiday Inn Express Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Airline Pearl Hotel
#1,560 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
101 reviews
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#41 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
940 reviews
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun
#27 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport

Address: North of Airport Terminal of Baiyun International Airport, Huadu District, Guangzhou 510470, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#20 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#45 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $108 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport is a 15-second walk from Gate 12 of Airport Departure Hall, ideally located in the heart of the Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport and 30-minute metro ride journey to city centre. With a modern style emphasizing comfort and contemporary technologies, the hotel provides 578 exquisitely furnished rooms, 3 unique restaurants and bars. 1,500㎡ pillar-free multi-functional Kapok Ballroom could be subdivided into 3 smaller venues; Concord Ballroom covers 460㎡ and we also have 20 different size meeting rooms. Hotel provides fully-equipped fitness & entertainment facilities as well, a 200㎡ gymnasium, 380 parking spots & a brand-new executive lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Guangzhou Baiyun Airport Hotel Guangzhou
Accor Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
Novotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing