We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to greatness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back to greatness”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions but this is the first time for around a year.

The reason for that is they went badly of the boil and it was not a good place to stay, whatever they did it is now back to former glory and a great place to stay. Staff are as good as any Shangri La (and that is saying something), breakfast was excellent and like all great hotels they know how to attract people into their bars.

The lobby bar has a great band, lift bar has fabulous atmosphere and interesting people to chat to if you want company. It is very frustrating for regular business travellers to go to large 5 star hotels and find no atmosphere in the F&B outlets.

The location is great if you are going to an exhibition but it is the hotels only drawback if you are wanting to go downtown, it is a bit of a trek when trafic is bad.

Well done to the management for whatever changes you made in the kast year, great job.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    672
    108
    17
    11
See reviews for
74
52
39
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The public spaces of the Shangri La are much nicer than the Westin. The Horizon Club lounge has beautiful views of the river and the city skyline in the distance. The service here is top notch and the Summer Garden Chinese restaurant was the best food I had in Guangzhou. I like the feel better than the Westin. However, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

OK, so check-in wasnt the greatest but my time at the Shangri-La was memorable and extremely pleasurable. My initial problems came from choosing a room BELOW their floor 34-and -above Executive Levels. Rooms below this are a bit of a lucky dip. Certainly the decor doesnt change much but the level of fit, finish, cleanliness and even smell did change, and quite a bit. My second choice room [after i paid the appropriate upgrade fee] was much better. Clean, fresh and 'less used' it catered to all my needs and was a perfect home-away-from-home. It's not ultra-modern. But it was plush and the bed very comfortable.

Now, to the extraordinary parts of my stay, firstly the staff. Hospitality is their big word at Shangri-La and, you know what? They absolutely delivered. Each and every staff member was courteous, engaging, enthusiastic, helpful, polite, considerate, interested and impossibly good natured. They assisted with literally every part of my business requirements including setting up meetings, negotiating with suppliers, conversing via mobile phone when necessary [countless times] and ensuring generally that i was safe, well cared for and on top of my game. They love business here in China and so the business traveller is cared for like few else. One more thing. The food was great - not just in the Executive lounge [where food and drinks are basically free] but in their Nadaman Japanese Restaurant too. Do yourself a favour and have sushi like it is meant to be served. Save your pennies and order the Bluefin Tuna Belly. It has a taste and succulence that you will never forget. Oh, and grab a massage in their Day-spa. After riding around all day for meetings you'll appreciate it - big time.

I was so chuffed with my stay that I sent the General Manager a bottle of wine and a card. It literally was beyond my expectations - after the upgrade of course...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offtopic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Picked this hotel based on feedbacks on this site. This is a very nice hotel, my room and public area very clean and well maintained. Exceptional staff. This hotel is located in a newly developed area right next to large exhibition halls. There are no private residence or shops in sight (except for a small stand selling cold drinks). Subway station is 5 minutes walk. I stayed while there are no trade shows happenning and the rates are very reasonable.
Overall, I really like this place. If you are attending trade show, then you're right in the middle it things. Otherwise, it is an extra 20minute from normal city life. But well worth it. Love the pool!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

When you enter this hotel you'll be blown away by the sheer elegance and vast nature of the foyer. The staff are ultra friendly which I believe is a cultural thing.
I can recommend the Horizon Room floor as the price of food and drink is outrageous considering the general cost of living in the area. I bought 5 beers in three downstairs bar for my friends, and the cost was the same as when we went for dinner and we had 4 courses of brilliant food and about 8 long neck beers.
For convenience to the Fair halls - great place to stay. For convenience for the city restaurants etc - 20-30 minutes by taxi.
All amenities in the hotel are awesome quality, and the in room massage is a must. This is a brilliant stand alone facility as everything is there, but if you want to hang with the locals and checkout the rip off tourist bars down the Pearl River - stay down town. If I'm honest with myself, I'd stay here each time and just grab a cab to the restaurants (but only if I was there for business or the convention centre).
The pools are also utterly spectacular,.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
807 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I thought getting a hotelier rate deal was the best part, wait till you step into the hotel lobby. The lovely fragrant, friendly and knowledgeable staffs the comfortable rooms, fantastic Chinese restaurant etc.etc just go beyond!

Hotel overall
Hopped on the 8:20 train from HungHum to Guangzhou east station, arrived there at 10:30ish and got on their complimentary shuttle bus directly to the hotel AND got an early check in at 11! WOW!

Had meal twice at the Chinese restaurant the Summer Palace, yummy and really cheap, there's this executive lunch set costs only RMB88+15% service charge per person!! Went to the lobby lounge for the tea set, not as good as i expected tho... Didn't have time to try out the spa, gym, swimming pool and the tennis court but i reckon it would be fantastic as well...

Location
8 minutes walk from the closest metro station (Pazhou station) and there are only exhibition centres surrounding the hotel, good if you're there for the expos but not quite for leisure trips, but then you've got all these really cheap taxis getting you to your destination in no time, around 20 minutes ride (30RMB) from the Tian He district and 30 minutes (50RMB) from the Liwan district, not bad really.

Overall, just loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A very good hotel. Personnel is very good as well. Nice and big rooms. Clean and modern. Unbeliavable breakfast. Price/quality value is very good too. I reccomend to everyone.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KYBALION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#9 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
457 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
664 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
2,497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#68 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing