We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will not stay anywhere else in Guangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I will not stay anywhere else in Guangzhou”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Shangri-La for one night after having been dissapointed at The Westin close by. What a major difference! Its like comparing a one star hotel to a five star hotel. The service is impeccable and faultless. The rooms are nice, plush and very well maintained. The beds are very comfortable with very nice duvet. Air conditioning is stable and housekeeping stocks a very good humidifier if you find the weather too dry! Housekeeping does a very good job to keep you pleased. In general, the staff has very good english skills and a very strong service mind. Together this makes Shangri-La a true luxury hotel.


We also had lunch at the Chinese restaurant and the quality of the food served is spectacular. Staffs are very attentive and informative about the menu unlike other restaurants in the other hotel.

Overall, if you are doing business in the Pazhou area or attending an exhibition, staying at The Shangri-la will surely keeps you refreshed and perfectly relaxed for the next day not like some other bad western chain hotel nearby!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lxhipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear lxhipster,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou for your recent business stay. We are glad that our services and facilities were to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our unique "urban resort" for business, conference or leisure in the near future.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    670
    108
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
52
38
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for the GBE Trade Fair as it was situated next to the conference centre. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were treated as part of a big family. Service was given with courtesy and smiles, our room was spotless and the food truly wonderful. The gym and swimming pool were outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel and want to say a big thank you to Toby who looked after my wife & I in Wok Too at breakfast and Lana Liu in the Lobby Lounge. A very special place

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent so no need to specify anything when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Stephen F,

Thanks for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! It is our pleasure that you and your family enjoyed our Asian hospitality from the heart. I have personally passed your appreciation and gratitude to Toby and Lana and we look forward to providing you with another special stay soon!

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma De Mallorca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have stayed many times in Shangri-la hotel and with no doubt is the best hotel in Guangzhou. And probably the best thing is the treatment you receive from its staff, professional and over expectatives always.


Room Tip: Clean, very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank PepeLlabres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear PepeLlabres,

Thank you for sharing your compliments of Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are thrilled our services and facilities have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to creating another memorable stay for you in the near future!

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay at the very top floor in executive room. Extremely helpful and friendly staff helped to plan and arrange our 24 hour visit of Guangzhou. Our room was huge and luxury. Very well prepared with complimentary fruits and a bottle of red wine and a welcome note from both the hotel General Manager and written in Russian language welcome from Director or Sales Russia and CIS. Nice variety of complimentary snacks were available through the day at the lounge as well as breakfast. We were taken care by the staff at all time, all enquiries were settled efficiently. Service Manager Maggie Huang were really helpful with city travel tips and made our day perfect. Thank you very much!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mishataratysha,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are glad to learn your satisfaction with our facilities and services, especially our Horizon Club team who made your visit in Guangzhou perfect. We look forward to providing you with another amazing stay in the near future!

Francesco Pantalone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked through the Shangri-La hotel website, and took the package which included the free cooking lesson, RMB600 food voucher & breakfast. Fantastic value for money.

The cooking lesson was the highlight. Was very surprised it was a private lesson! they had the chef wear/dress for my wife & son and we got a 1 hour private lesson from a very good chef. Given we couldn't speak Chinese, the restaurant manager stayed and interpreted for us. It was fantastic. The cooked for us a 3 course meal! sweet & sour king prawns, fried rice & toufu with fish. All delicious!

Apparently not many people chose this package or show up to the free cooking lesson ( you have a choice of Japanese, Chinese, Thai or Italian). So would recommend to all and will happily do again.

Other points about the hotel. The kids room was too small and not many toys. It was in a glass room which I thought was a little dangerous for kids to be jumping around.

We wanted to use the putting green - but didn't in the end - you had to book the putting green, & then hire the golf club & golf ball. All adds up to be quite pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank jwmchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear jwmchow,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou for your recent stay with your family! The Gourmet Indulgence package is designed to create an exclusive and prestigious experience for our family guests and we are glad to learn that you absolutely enjoyed it. In the meanwhile, your valuable suggestions are very much appreciated and we will take some actions to ensure our facilities and services are truly family friendly. We are looking forward to creating you and your family another memorable stay in the near future!

Francesco Pantalone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Beautiful executive rooms on the upper floors. Good breakfast. Concierge was very helpful once he understood what I was asking. Lovely lobby. Close to the convention center but not main city. Enjoyed the holiday decorations.

Room Tip: Probably all are good -rooms with view of Pearl River are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briar-Fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Briar-Fossil,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are glad our service and facilities have exceeded your expectations. Aside from all the comforts that we are able to offer at our urban resort, you should take advantage of our complimentary shuttle bus service and explore Guangzhou hot destinations. We look forward to your next visit in the near future!

Francesco Pantalone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

One of my favourite hotels but rather a mixed experience on this occasion. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The points of disatisfaction are>

The hotel now adopts the awful green bottles of rather cheap Shangri-La shampoo that is horrible to use and cheapens the whole experience - please bring back L'Occitane brand.

I had failure of power supply to desk sockets (this has happened before) and a maintenance staff attended and managed to untrip it. However the next day it was back to square one. Clearly a systemic problem?

The mini bar was not serviced. I would expect this in a high quality hotel.

Room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear TechnoProf,

Thank you for staying with us again at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! It is unfortunate that we have failed to meet your expectations in the occasion of your recent visit. Actions have been taken to address those short comings and provide you with a better stay experience on your next visit. I look forward to an early opportunity to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact my office at francesco.pantalone@shangri-la.com on your future visits, I will personally ensure you will enjoy a flawless experience.

Francesco Pantalone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#9 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#10 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#5 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#69 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing