We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canton fair haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #13 of 3,466 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Canton fair haven”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Although a few years old now the Shangri-La still has a certain charm all within easy reach of the Canton fair complex. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Beware of steep price hikes during any major exhibitions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPGPR, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Flurry2011,

Thank you for sharing your review on Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! As the preferred accommodation choice for guests to access exhibitions in Guangzhou, we always strive in service excellence to ensure their stay productive and comfortable. We hope to have you stay with us again during the next exhibition period.

Francesco Pantalone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    680
    110
    18
    12
See reviews for
82
55
40
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We organise events for international delegates and have been to many other Chinese hotels across the country. The Shangri La in Guangzhou was so far the best and the hotel contributed a lot in making the event a success. Everything was perfect - food, staff, rooms, facilities etc.. We were also impressed that all staff spoke English, which made the stay also very easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Evandelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in November 2013. Comfortable hotel and great location within 5 minutes walk to Exhibition Center. Breakfast is abundant and varied with both Western and Chinese kitchen. Room was clean and had a lovely view of modern Guangzhou.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gisela857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Gisela857,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! It is our great pleasure to learn your satisfaction with the facilities and services we offered. We look forward to providing you with another delightful stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is really nice - great attitude to service even if the delivery is not always perfect (waited ages for food in the lounge but it was busy); smells beautiful; has lovely linen on the beds and the rooms are large. As a foreigner, it would have been nice to have some English movies available (although the Horizon Club does offer some DVDs) and we were charged an outrageous amount to change some currency because the ATMs were not working but otherwise it has everything you could want. It is a out of the way except for the fairs but it is also quite nice to get away from the downtown bustle sometimes.

Room Tip: Face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flurry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Flurry2011,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are glad to learn your satisfaction despite of minor defects. We are working on corrective actions to improve our delivery confident to restore your confidence in our service on your next visit. When it comes the currency exchange, rates are set by the central bank; the Bank of China located next door to the hotel can be a convenient option shall you require similar services in the future. For any further assistance you may require, please feel free to contact us at slpg@shangri-la.com. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you've stayed in a Shangri La, you won't be disappointed with this hotel. Large, comfortable rooms with firm beds and huge pillows. Triple shower heads in the shower, plus tub, large closet and laptop-sized safe. Room service is excellent as is the maid service. Breakfast buffet will satisfy any menu preference. A little out of the way but extremely close to the Canton Fair. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Steven J,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are glad our facilities and services have exceeded your expectations. Aside from all the comforts at this urban resort, you may also explore the beauty of Guangzhou by enjoying our complimentary shuttle bus service which provides easy access to major hot spots of the city. We look forward to your next visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is perfect if you have to visit the fair, a little far from downtown.The hotel is really nice, I staid in the Horizon club, the room was perfect and perfectly cleaned.
The problems I had was about breakfast, it should finish at 10.30 but at 10.15 they already start to move the food and so on, quite unfair. Moreover the service was not so good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Petertreviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sanjay S,
Thank you for sharing your review on Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Measures have been taken to address the points of your concern; we wish to provide you a more comfortable stay next time when you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

You pay for it, but if in China for any more than couple days, Shangri La is the only place to stay. Their attention to detail is legendary, the gym is awesome, very good food in hotel, and location is perfect for walking over to the Fair. Their people are really good, and if you meet one who is not, they want to know.

Room Tip: Go high, as the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tim S,

Thank you for considering Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou as the venue of choice for a short stop over in Guangzhou! I am thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed your stay, that our venue perfectly fit your needs and our people made your stay even more enjoyable. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
792 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#16 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
1,515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#65 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing