We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good for Guangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #12 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was my first stay in a Shangri-La hotel and I left with a positive experience. Service at the concierge desk was excellent - I needed to get a train ticket expedited right before the early October holiday week in China, and the staff member did a superb job in booking my train ticket! The rooms were nice, excellent views from the room, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Location is so-so in this part of town because there is nothing in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Sanjay S,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! At Shangri-La, we put guests as first priority. We are glad to learn your satisfaction of our services and facilities. Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us. We look forward to providing you with another delightful stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The experience was really bad. I stayed with my colleagues. 12 of us on a business trip but it was a bitter experience for me because 1000usd and my sans unsung galaxy cellphone were stolen in my room.


Room Tip: I can't see any good in the hotel because the experience I had had made me scary and unable to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Zainab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Guangzhou Shangri-La is excellent, located out of the city near the Convention Centre, but with great food, great rooms overlooking the river, and a fabulous outdoor swimming pool complex. Good meeting rooms for training up to 70 colleagues. Easy taxis to Canton Tower, Guangzhou Opera House, and all the shopping you could want. Rush hour madness, but a great river cruise on the Golden Dragon.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear RonaldCanada,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! It is a great pleasure for us to learn your satisfaction with what this unique urban resort can provide. We are committed to our guests with caring and thoughtful hospitality and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is as good as the other Shangri-la I have stayed before, the lobby is huge and beautiful, from the receptionist to the housekeeper are all nice and friendly, the room is big and clean, the horizon club floor was amazing, the only defect is quite far away from the city, they built this hotel only because the land is close to the exhibition center, I still recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas61416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear thomaswong416,

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad to read that our property was able to deliver our brand experience through its urban resort features that make our hotel a truly unique property in Guangzhou providing a perfect combination of hideaway retreat and exciting city life. You may try our complimentary city shuttle bus service to visit major city hotspots during your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is great hotel to stay at if you are in china for a day or two. Its close to the exhibition centre, but nothing else. You have to catch a taxi to go anywhere. I would not stay here again.

And $800USD a night during canton fair. Just makes me angry!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL1980Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear DL1980Brisbane,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! In addition to the various dining and leisure options we have in the hotel, there are several major city life locations within short driving distance. We’d love to recommend you our complimentary shuttle bus services to such hotspots as Zhujiang New Town, Taikoo Hui Shopping Mall, etc. Should you need any further information, please feel free to reach us out at (86-20) 8917 8888. We wish to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very good experience of staying in Shangri-la, and it's surprised me that hotel provided the shuttle service from GZ east train station, and even WIFI on the shuttle. I believed not all hotel can have such service, and it's very thoughtful.

Room Tip: Everything is very nice in Shangri-la, though the location is a little bit far from downdown, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Cherry C,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are delighted to learn that our facilities and services have exceeded your expectations. We will keep on striving to create thoughtful experiences on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very good property close to the Exhibition Centre. We were not there to attend a Fair or Exhibition but needed the proximity to our supply base
It is a very good business hotel . Quality of food in all restaurants was very good . Service is acceptable but staff is undertrained . Room is very clean and quite large . Bathroom is very good and well equipped . My son used the gym which he liked a lot and he trains a lot do he is a good judge. Overall a very good stay if you have to be in this area. There is no shopping or street life of any kind in this area so beware if you wNt to explore the city on foot.

Room Tip: Get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Domrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Domrom,

Thank you for the valuable insight on your recent stay experience. As we get more focussed on enhancing our colleagues training, your feedback will certainly help us in improving our service commitments to our guests.On your next visit please try out the complimentary shuttle bus services to city's key locations such as Zhujiang New Town, Taikoo Hui Shopping Mall, etc. It is certainly a convenient way to be connected with new city shopping and entertainment districts as well as cultural sites . We look forward to welcoming you back to our urban resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,595 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
828 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#53 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $114 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing