We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #13 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Splendid view on the Pearl River, nice and clean rooms, most enjoyable personnel, incredible quality of the breakfast buffet. Nice swimming pool. Very good evening entertainment with life music and acceptable prices

Room Tip: get a room with river view! breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night at Mandarin Hotel transferred to Shangri-La and what a difference .....Service food and room were excellent..went to Shangri-La in Hong Kong two days later and am now on a mission to visit all of these hotels.Would definately stay here again.The club lounge with free drinks and food in afternoon was very good.

Room Tip: Book a Riverview room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Dianne L:

Thanks for your review on Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou. We are glad to learn your satisfaction with our service, food and facilities, especially with the Horizon Club Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future and wish you all the best on your “Shangri-La Mission”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Came for attend a trade show in the next door convention center. This hotel is new, full amenities, great staff. Morning breakfast is amazing, in fact after a huge breakfast I was skipping lunch with no problem...and overall was not a bad idea :). The Spa has it all, massage, pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. The restaurant in the hotel are not the greatest: I ate at the Japanese..and it wasn't anything, pretty bland (..what do you expect...eat sushi in China, I should have know better).
This is an hotel to stay 100% if you are travelling for business, if you want to visit...maybe the location is not the best, too far away

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-NYC-ITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear E-NYC-ITALY:

Thanks for the recent review. Great to read you had a good time and managed to experience our extensive facilities.When it comes to Nadaman, our award winning Japanese restaurant offering, I am very confident that next visit we will be able to blow you away with our food quality and presentation. Meanwhile feel free to contact me at francesco.pantalone@shangri-la.com, if you want to share more in detail feedback and dinning preferences so we can better accommodate your needs in the future.

Next stay take advantage of our complimentary shuttle bus service, which enable you to reach city's major landmarks and shopping centers, it is the most convenient way to stay connected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a business trip which included participating in a full on Exhibition. The Shangri-La, Guangzhou is relatively easy to access from the airport, often a great advantage when schedules are tight. It is also right next to the Exhibition Centre so there is every chance you will be staying with fellow Exhibition participants. The Hotel offers the typically excellent Shangri-La hospitality with staff going out of their way to be friendly and attentive. The Hotel staff appeared to have no problem dealing with the great range of guests from different cultural backgrounds. I look forward to my next visit. The garden and pool area is great.

Room Tip: It depends how long you want to spend in the lift or how far you want to walk when you get to your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear 602Tony,

Thanks for sharing your recent stay experience at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou. We are pleased to learn our staff and services went beyond your expectations. As we are moving into the Summer, we are very much keen to have you taking an opportunity to come and enjoy our lush gardens as well as exquisite outdoor swimming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm currently a local resident of Guangzhou so I've never had the experience to stay at the hotel, especially when it's quite some distance away (at least for a local) from the hustle & bustle of the city central. (It's next to the Pazhou Exhibition Centre, that's like a region of it's own to the locals...)

However, since discovering the Wok Too Café in 2010, I've made sure I would come back at least a couple of times a year.

Now most reviews on here will be on how great the breakfast is at the Wok Too, but since I've never stayed the night, I have no experience.

The lunch & dinner at the Wok Too... It's great...

The decor is great, the service is great, the salad bar's great, the entreés are great, the "other desserts" are great. Great, is all I can really say about it...

But the CHEESECAKE here at the Wok Too Café... "Ooooh Laa Laa!!!" (Notice the extra "O"s and "A"s)

Just a single bite, and it's like I've been transported from Guangzhou back to Toronto.

Now, if you're a cheesecake lover and have been working/living in China as long as I have (14 years+) you'll know exactly what I'm talking about.

I mean, what's with this "Japanese Style" cheesecake that the locals love??? It's not a cheesecake, its a cake with a little cheesy flavour (at times, not even that...)

Here, at the Wok Too Café, the cheesecake is magnificent, splendid, the best in town and most importantly brings me the taste of home.

But, it doesn't just stop there...

Back home, we're all into coffee, so apart from the blueberry flavour etc, cappuccino flavour is a favourite.

Wok Too Café caters to a large clientele of Asian guests, so experiments with Asian flavours, such as Green Tea, Durian, Mango can also be found... Absolutely awesome, since I still have Chinese blood running in me. (For our caucasian friends, you'll want to ease off the durian flavour, may not be your "slice of cake")

By this point you're probably thinking I'm crazy, writing so much about cheesecake...

Well, you're probably right, cause my friends also say the same things, "Why would you wanna go all the way out to Pazhou for cheesecake..."

I am a CHEESECAKE LOVER, and when that trip to Pazhou will save me the time of flying home, it's well worth it!!!


Have you tried the cheesecake at the Wok Too Café yet???

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Jerry L,

We are thrilled to read Wok Too Cafe's and particularly its cheesecakes blew you away during your recent stay. Our culinary team passion and commitment to excellence brings creativity and flavors to life in the many food & beverage options available at our property. Try out next time our award winning Cantonese restaurant Summer Palace or the newly launched menu at cool thai or Il Forno I am confident you will find new favorites.

Look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We checked into this hotel at 2am after a very delayed flight .We had to wait 20 mins whilst 2 members of staff were serving one group - not the best start . We went to breakfast at 10am in the horizon club lounge ( it is supposed to serve until 10.30 ) and there was nothing left - they had already started packing away - we were not shown the ala carte menu and none of the buffet items had been replenished .We had breakfast the next day in the normal restaurant because of this and even there they came around at 10.10am to say the breakfast closes at 10.30 and were packing up - if you want a relaxing breakfast go early .
The hotel is a bit isolated although the metro is only a short walk away but there are no bars or shops within walking distance . We changed some travellers cheques here and got a very poor rate so I would advise against doing that .The rooms are large and clean , although I would expect a Shangri La to be anyway . The pool is very good as is the Chinese restaurant . We are diamond members of Shangri La so stay in a lot of there hotels , I would have to say that we found this one rather bland and not as welcoming as many other properties .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Daniel H,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience. I am sorry to learn we missed to deliver on your legitimate service expectations: we are a company that believes in quality and feedback like yours to help us in improving in our service commitment to our guests. On a separate note we will be keen to learn more on the travellers cheques please reach us at slpg@shangri-la.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Business trip in 2012 - fantastic experience in this old city in an exceptional hotel. Went to the Solar Expo in the exhibition centre nearby and what an experience in this magnificent City. The service, accommodation and friendly staff at the hotel was something to behold, above all expectations. Rooms were exceptional and the staff were just downright amazing, very accommodating and professional. The breakfast buffet was something out of this world, highly recommended to anyone looking for a top class stay over in this extraordinary city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Stephen D:
We are thrilled to read you had a great time at our property. As we move into the Summer season we are going to feature great promotions and special package so you can even enjoy more of our offerings: so stay tuned! Do not miss on your next trip our enhanced complementary shuttle bus service that keeps you connected to key city landmarks and shopping centers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
399 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#8 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
772 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#75 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $126 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing