We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the trade show, high quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #12 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights to attend a trade show. Very, very convenient. Just a few minutes walk across the road. The hotel had a shuttle bus but this took 10-15 minutes. Booked a Horizon Club room, and was well worth the extra. (total 1600rmb/night). The club floors are well appointed, and the lounge is excellent. Happy hour from 5-7pm every night. The gymnasium was a little crowded first thing in the morning, but ok in the late afternoon. They also have. Large indoor swimming pool. While convenient for the Trade Fair it is out of the centre of town, so your dining choices are limited to offerings in the hotel. The italian restaurant was pretty good. The internet was a little sluggish, and i had a few dropouts while working. I cannot fault the staff or service, but a non smoking floor should be just that, non smoking. The staff seemed to turn a blind eye to smokers on the non smoking floors. Also the beds were too hard, woke up with a sore back and neck every morning.

Room Tip: Book a horizon club room. Be prepared to travel to eat cost effectively!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear BigRuss1213,

Thanks for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou during your recent visit. Being a reputed “city oasis”, we are proud to enable our guests having their business stays well blended with pleasure. The Horizon Club floor you chose to stay is one of our highlights and we are glad that you truly enjoyed the facilities and services there.
We are sorry for the instable internet you experienced and some improvements are being worked on. We would also like to apologize the smoking smell in your room, and will definitely ensure such disappointing event won’t happen again.
Besides, bed softness preferences vary significantly from different guests. If you would like to further share with us your recent stay’s information, we shall update your profile and be able to make some arrangement beforehand for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Verry nice as always in China, and also ceep (300€/night riverside duoble room) when you book the hotel. But the hotel are taking it back by having costs for everything "extra"... Buffe dinner €55 + drinks (even water + €9), use the pool €30, use the gym €30, use the suns €30 and it continues... Breakfast €15, expresso to the breakfast (cause the Chinese coffe is undrinkable) €6 and so one. Otherwise the staff is everywhere and helps you all the time. 30sec of waiting will always be met with an excuse.
Location is perfect with 5min walk to the exebition and 15min €5 to the city with Taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoffer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Christoffer B,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou as place of choice for your recent visit.
I am glad you were pleased with the overall stay experience and found the room offer in line with your expectations.
When it comes to other services while we do extend five stars facilities such as complementary pool and gym access to our in house guests during their stay by simply registering at the health club reception, a fee may apply to visitors who are not staying with us.
Take advantage on your next stay of one of our many packages available at official website which includes buffet breakfast. Our buffet offering features wide arrays of dishes and a large selection of hot and cold beverages at no extra charge.
For guest convenience we have recently added a complementary shuttle bus to and from major city landmarks, train station and shopping centers, I hope you will try out on your next visit….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we spent 4 nights in GZ Shangri-La during the furniture show. The hardware (except Internet speed, it's was horribly slow! No matter connect to Google or Baidu, slow like snail), the service are truely 5 stars hotel standard!

The staff, they are very helpful and well train. They know when to show up, when to offer you a hand and when to stay away from you. The F&B was crazily busy but the staff still able to keep up their steam and give you a pleasant service. During breakfast buffet, the pancake/waffle section are usually fully occupied. Most of the cook were stressed out, they will show you an anger look if you order anything from them. In GZ Shang, they didn't give me the anger look, instead, they gave me a smile. I was surprised! Another time, I heard other customer asking for Ice Water. when one of the restaurant manager walked by, she asked the waitress what did the customer asked for and bring the ice-water to the customer herself. The F&B team were in great partnership. I was impressed!

Food serving speed was slow, really slow. Took them 45mins for a club sandwich during lunch and it doesn't taste good.... Food always run out, such as Fish and Chips.....

One thing I really hope they will improve was the Japanese restaurant, Nadaman. It supposed to be a great Japanese restaurant in else where. In GZ Shang, food was... AWFUL! I can't believe Nadaman serve this kind of junk to their customer.... We ordered Tempura with Soba and Eel Rice. Eel Rice was so fishy.... (Nothing like I ate in HK or Japan.) and Tempura Soba, Soba so soggy... deep fried was oily and like a rock (I have uploaded a photo). I rather they charge more then serve junk. They don't live up the name of Nadaman. Totally shocked and disappointed.

On the other hand, Chinese restaurant Summer Plaza were good, food were delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear sbugbug, thank you for the honest take on the recent stay experience. We are a company that believes in quality and comment like yours cannot but help us improving in our service commitment.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the dining experience at both Wok Too Café and Summer Palace, when it comes to our Japanese restaurant I am sorry to read that we did not meet your legitimate expectations: we will go back and review with the team the case to ensure consistent quality on delivery is met.
I personally look forward to an early opportunity to restore your confidence in Nadaman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

CONGRATULATIONS To everyone at the Shangri-La Guangzhou!!!
Maybe is not in downtown city...but they have shuttle running to key points and Taxis are very affordable...
Shangri-La Guangzhou has been the most amazing experience in all my business trips ever. It was my first trip to Guangzhou, but every employee were extra miles to give the best service ever received in a hotel. They go the extra mile without requesting it and without being too much...it’s seems to be natural in every employee to serve, smile and try their best to offer you the best service ever. The food do not taste like hotel food... it’s fresh, great taste... variety amazing...their Italian Restaurant taste like eating in a tratoria in Italy... great flavor pizza. The buffet breakfast was complete with worldwide flavor and alternatives for everyone... and served in a great “ambience” or in the patio(if weather helps). Regular rooms are real rooms with great size with shower and bathtub separated... very comfortable bed. You don’t need to be a VIP to be treated like one...just stay at Shangri-La Guangzhou and everyone will treat you as a VIP... because you are one according to their standards.
I always heard about the Shangri-La hotels and the outstanding level of service, but one thing is to hear something and the other thing is to leave it. I had the privilege to leave it last week and now the bar is way too high.

Room Tip: I do love high floors... better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel, mancho. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, dining facilities and the newly enhanced shuttle service. We look forward to an early opportunity to providing you another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Save up and stay there. Although totaly out of the centre of town, this Hotel in my view best suitable for all those visiting and attending the Guangzhou Exhibitions at Pazhou complex in Guangzhou city. Hotel is well equiped, fabulous parking area underground, one of the best Breakfasts in town. When i cannot stay at the Shangri-La during an exhibition i like to go there for breakfast. It is a bit expensive, but last time they upgraded me to a suite, shame i was in such a hurry. Shagri-La does its best to give you a feel at home when travelling, and that is a good thing.

Relax, enjoy the food, forget the bill, as you have a wonderful time at the Shangri-La

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite for a long stay and feel 100% at home. NON Smoking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments, bob. We pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional experience to our guests. Try next time our newly implemented shuttle service that conveniently gets you to the new city attractions. We certainly look forward to delighting you again over your next stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a brilliant location for the Exhibition centre, a 5 minute walk away (or courtesy bus if you're lazy). Normally stay in central GZ but staying close to the Exhibition centre has its benefits - like a decent lunch facility and clean toilet facilities if you've been in that situation!
Service is excellent, possibly the best I've experienced in China, and the Club level is great value with good canapes and happy hour with a reasonable breakfast too.
If you're feeling energetic there is a brewery restaurant precinct on the river bank about a 30 minute walk away or else catch the subway into town - about half a dozen stops.
The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is good and although expensive by Chinese standards is not over the top.

Room Tip: Lash out on Club level you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLPG S, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Burg3186, thank you for the valuable comments. We are a company that believes in quality and feedback like yours truly helps us in improving in our service commitment to our guests. Try next time our enhanced shuttle bus service, it will conveniently connect you to the best place in town.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Literally five minutes walk from the hotel is the Exhibition centre, this is so convenient!
The hotel lives up to the legend that is Shangri-La. Courteous and friendly staff in a beautiful, garden surrounded hotel.
River view room provided a great view of the electrical storms during my stay.
Nothing was too much trouble. Food at buffet breakfast was very impressive.
This is a great quality hotel, and it is not the architecture or the food that you will remember. It is the feeling that you are a special guest and made to feel very welcome.
I will be back

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank downhomePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,595 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
829 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#53 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $114 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing