We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top of the top” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #7 of 3,300 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top of the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived at 6pm around and had a very fast check-in. Lookin around the lobby give you an idea
of the internationality of the guests. My room was up-floor called Horizon Club. It was well appointed and standard for Shangri-La. View was to the river. I booked a spa-session at the Chi for 8am as they were fully booked later and I needed a relax. So I tried the Italian restaurant as I thought a pizza or so might do it within 1 hour. This restaurant is excellent!
The choice of wines and menu , high-end indeed. And yes, the pizza as well so the dessert !
I would highly recommed you to try it if you think you need a change from asia food...
The chi-session was fine and in a very luxury room. The spa-therapist was not as smooth as I am used from other hotels but it was good anyway.
The night was quiet and fine and the breakfast in Horizon Lounge again, perfect.
Needless to stay I continue to use Shangria-La hotel's on my next trips in Asia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topofthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    654
    101
    16
    10
See reviews for
57
48
36
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an outstanding example of the Shangri-La brand at its best. The rooms are sumptuous, the service borders on the doting, and the facilities are first-rate. I especially appreciated the fine gym, particularly in light of the abysmal Guangzhou air quality. Frankly, it's usually a requirement to exercise indoors.

I stayed at the hotel for the purposes of a conference, and I found the conference hosting facilities to be outstanding. In particular, the catering of lunches and the conference banquet was appropriate and borderline decadent.

However, prospective guests of the hotel should be aware that it is located near the trade fair facilities - and the trade fair facilities are located far from the center of town, away from most businesses and tour attractions. So, if you're going for a conference or trade fair, the location should be fine. But for other purposes, you may want to try a different location.

Likewise, the price is quite high by Guangzhou standards. However, it's a Shangri-La, and the location is outstanding for anyone seeking a luxury room in close proximity to the trade fair. So plan accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very consistent experience, if a tad on the pricey side but the proximity to the exhibition centre explains that. My room was immaculate, spacious and the perfect retreat from a busy day. The breakfast choice and quality of food is as good as I've seen. The staff are truly first class and really enhanced my experience.

Be aware, that the air quality outside the hotel is pretty bad; so after an optimistic run by the river on my first morning, I made sure to only use the well equipped gym thereafter. The indoor pool is also great for laps, considering its a hotel - I'd say it's around 22m.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is for business men with suits and ties. It is verri far from the middel of the town and verri dear to pay for lots.

Evrifing cost lots speshialy the foods in the restrant. I laik the swim in pool and the garden in the beck. But u musht pay lots of myni to stay ther.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank BumsOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

great hotel brand worldwide. the quality matches up with the price I would say. rooms are great and stylish. The gym has lots of equipment (this is important for me). i enjoyed the stay here. the food in the lobby bar was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vienna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Guangzhou can be an overwhelming city so it was a most welcome relief to arrive at the Shangri-la where you are greeted with a warm welcome from highly trained multi-lingual staff. The rooms are very well appointed with comfortable beds, which are not always found in China. The hotel offers some good but somewhat pricey restaurants and a very nice indoor and outdoor swimming pool. I stayed in a Horizon Club room which was well worth the premium as this gives you access to the Horizon lounge offering panoramic views across the city and an ideal place to unwind or catch up on work after a day in the city. The breakfast, included in the rate, was superb as was the happy hour buffet served from 5pm which offers an array of delicious appetisers and drinks. My only criticism of the hotel is the spa menu which was disproportionately expensive and somewhat uncompetitive. However overall this hotel is definitely a perfect choice when staying in Guangzhou and will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Stay on a Horizon Club floor which is well worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChairmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Shangrila Guangzhou is one of the BEST Hotels I have ever stayed in. Sure, the food is great, the room clean, the location a walking distance from the trade fair, but what makes this Shangrila Guangzhou  EXCELLENT is their SERVICE. Their service is sincere,  they go out of their way to  make us feel at home and for a weary business traveller, it makes home a little less far. Their team from the HOrizon Club is examplary, Maggie Huang, James Jiang, Nicholas and Raphael Mai, Thank you!!! Alan Jiang  and Fanny from the lobby bears mentioning too!  Although I have been trying out quite a few boutique hotels when I can, for their personalized service,  we still stay in chain hotels for their security and convenience in certain cities.   My stay in Shangrila Gungzhou has made me realized that staying in staying in Shangrila, I can have the service of boutique hotels and the convenient ammenities of a large chain hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Horizon Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#4 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#3 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#9 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#5 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#66 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing