We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Nearby Hotels
$262
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$92
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
$97
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,756)
Filter reviews
1,756 results
Traveler rating
919
689
114
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
689
114
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubsummer palacechi spacanton fairexhibition centrethe pearltrade showriver viewindoor pooltrade fairbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetbusiness triplate checklobby barrooms are spaciousshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,756 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

At arrival we were greeted before passport control and were able to skip the lines for immigration. That was a good start and worth the money for the car service. Good Internet in the car, also perfect. At the hotel we were brought to the horizon club and found out that are request for connecting rooms (we have three small kids) could not be done. That was a disappointment but we were promised that we could change the next day. The snacks from 5pm to 7pm and relaxed atmosphere make the extra money for horizon club rooms worth it. Breakfast there is the same as in the main restaurant but with superb views and quite environment. The next day we had to follow-up a little to change the rooms, which weren't ready till 6 pm but finally got it all transferred. In general the people are really nice and friendly but at time the language barrier stands in the way. We weren't impressed by the dinner in the Summer Palace, again mostly due to language issues. Unfortunately also the car service back to the airport ha delay as the concierge had kept the booking for 730am instead of the requested and confirmed 630am. The gym is indeed very nice and so is the pool. Breakfast starts a bit late at 630am. All with all a very nice place, with people trying hard but a lot of money and not yet at the levels of other shangri la hotels

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Travel12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a trade show in the convention centre almost next door! It's great for a flying visit for a trade show but you are well out of Guangzhou city if you'd like to explore.

For my visit it was perfect, I was in china for just 3 days so I needed to be close to the trade show.

The food is good, really nice Gym with friendly staff, I was running on the treadmill one day and as I finished a bottle of water one of the staff arrived with a new bottle and put it into my hand! really attentive!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business trips in this area. Maybe a little out of the city for a longer stay.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
Thank Masheener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have my wedding reception here, so got one night suite free as part of the package. The hotel itself is excellent, it is next to the exbition center, location not the best, but taxi very cheap in China so it is not a big issue. The service is fantastic, room is big and well setting. because it is suite, so i have got super early check in at 6am and super late check out next day at 6pm. Because it is Shangri-la, and it is new hotel, so it is really good value to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and myself has just returned from a four week trip to China , the last week of this trip was spent in the Shangri-la Hotel in one of the Horizons rooms, Guangzhou, the rooms are quite large, beautiful maintained, fresh flowers and fresh fruit daily turn down service and a beautiful view of the Pearl river. The Club lounge has got to be seen to be believed, certainly top class, the food did not disappoint, Breakfast every morning and drinks and coffees thruoghout the day and a very well presented Happy Hour which when we were there had a different theme each night , eg. Aisian , Japaneese, etc,etc but to top it all off the management and staff go the extra mile to make ones stay one to remember, The fracilities , Gym, Swimming pools , Spa, and many other facilities are of a very high standard and well maintained, we look forward to returning to Guangzhou and will certainly choose The Shangri-la to spend a week or so.

Room Tip: The horizons rooms are a little bit more expensive but worth every bit of it , a view of the Pearl river is very acceptable.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmacBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My second stay at this lovely hotel. Excellent service and facilities. Next to the conference centre which is not in the centre of town but a free shuttle bus to/from the metro.
Definitely lives up to the expected standards from shangri-la and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews