We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a trade show but otherwise in the wrong place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a trade show but otherwise in the wrong place”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This hotel is a fair way from the centre of Guangzhou, not all that close to a subway station and is generally out of the way. It was clearly built for the trade show market and is really well located for that. Those qualifications aside, it is a fantastic hotel with just about the best of everything. I would not stay again because of the location as I would prefer something in the middle of the city but....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    670
    108
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
52
38
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have never had great experiences in Guanzghou with hotels in 20 years. This was the exception not only is the hotel right next door to the trade show but the rooms are comfortable and the food outlets outstanding. Best breakfast selection I have seen anywhere - ever. They offer a wide range of English speaking TV channels and the gym and pool facilities are exceptional. The Staff all speak perfect English which makes the whole stay wonderful and so easy. Jackson the concierge was able to get me to any number of destinations in time to watch the mighty AB's beat France in RWC final. Vincent the F & B Director had no problems in organising our dining bookings and was totally charming. The beds are still a little too firm but still comfortable. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Guangzhou is not the have to go to city for tourism but if you are going to the Trade Shows this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

You can no longer smoke in this hotel. Or pretty much anywhere outside. If you must choose another hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Business_ClassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for the second time recently and plan to go back again. A great location for the exhibition centre and a short taxi ride into town.

Staff are always helpful, rooms are very big and the beds are fantastic.

Bar staff are very helpful and the evening cabaret entertainment is usually good.

The buffet breakfast is good but the evening buffet is just average. There are Tai and Japanese restaurants too and they're a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaweedsprites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I must say I always enjoy my visits here, but probably bias because I stay here on corporate deal and the rate is excellent for a hotel of this standard.

That said, Shangri-la chain always delivers on service and room design.

Even the basic room is spacious and nicely appointed with the right balance of marble and wood in a traditional feel yet modern design. The bed is soft, and as I stayed in a corner room, it is always very quiet.

The only downside is the location, that it is far from centre of the town, but it is next to the exhibition centre.

I always enjoy coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is an amazing hotel. The staff are professional, vey helpful and welcome you. Everyone from the cleaners, pool staff, reception and concierge made my stay an absolutely amazing experience. The facilities were extroadinary. Gorgeous, well maintained pools. Great gymnasium. Exceptional buffet in one of the 4 restaurants. Rooms were large, new, good bathroom. Bed very comfortable. House keeping quick and efficient. Only hiccup was WiFi kept cutting out before I could finish what I was doing which meant I had to start again. It really is worth the experience. I have paid more for hotels in Australia that are not even comparitive. They also have free shuttle to and from Guangzhou East Railway Stn. Wonderful views from room of Pearl river. About 25 min taxi ride to city but I found it good to get out of the bustle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppetAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is hotel is very new. And very high :) I loved it. I recommend having the club rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHMED81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#9 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#10 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#5 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#69 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing