We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but does not stand up to its name”
Review of Grand Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Royal Hotel
Ranked #253 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
london
1 review
“Good but does not stand up to its name”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

First thing first..most people dont speak english in this City. The taxi driver could not speak any english. Luckily had my iphone..I loaded up the hotel details on my phone and luckily it had translations in chinese. He took us near the hotel after 2 hours but then got lost. I had to ring the hotel and asked someone in the hotel reception to give him directions. Then after 2 and half hours we got to the hotel.
The hotel is nice..my deluxe room was not available so they upgraded me to one of the Suites. Lovely large spacious rooms. Staff was helpful but very poor english.
Location is boring but then again its an industrial hub area.
Avoid the spa..my father went for foot massage..and when he came back he was walking in pain for few days. Very bad job.

Room Tip: Take a phone with internet facilities..it will help to communicate as it seems english is forbidden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pesaro
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been there for three nights and the hotel was good.
Reading the name and as it looks from the hall, I was expecting something more.
The rooms were clean, but with very old furniture.
Good choice during breakfast, but in the same restaurant the dinner was very poor (at the end we ate a hamburger).
The position is good.
The price is reasonable.
Nice meeting rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiPiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place is very "China" 5-star. Its not real 5 star. This is where you see a difference between true 5 star, and a place that claims they are 5 star because they have all of the facilities. This place on paper is 5, but in reality is around 4. Sure they have a massage place, but its got older TV's and no English channels. The rooms are nice with big Phillips 50" TV's, but the lighting is bad, and the attention to detail is lacking such as the shower curtain, or the condition of the marble in the bathroom. Also the internet is very very slow. Beds aren't bad, but I could tell they were cheaper brand beds. They were comfy, but not supportive. Not as good as Sheraton beds.

The staff was ok, a little dopey. You try to get a taxi, and they have this unnecessary guard gate preventing taxis from coming in, so you need to wait a long time. Also, location is really bad. It is at the far end of Tianhe district, so to get to the big mall and city center area, its around $8 US which is really high for China. About 10-15 mins by taxi.

On the bright side, my room was about $68 a night. For that price, its decent, but the location is pretty far from where I wanted to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, France
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Good value for price
Good standard

A bit far from downtown like everything in Guangzhou s
Service acceptable

Rooms are cleans and spacious
Service also ok

Nothing exceptional
A good value rated as 4*

I advise to go there for those who want good compromise between quality and price

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Royal Hotel (1012-1/12) for five nights while attending the 2012 Canton Fair. Here are the good points:
- Easy show registration (in the hotel, all services provided).
- Free shuttle bus to show.
- Good size rooms.
- Free fruit bowl every day.
- Very good amenities (as in most Chinese hotels)
- Free breakfast (very good selection).
Here are the not-so-good points:
- Far from airport (about $35US).
- Somewhat isolated.
- Not good for tourists.
- Stick with the Chinese restaurant (avoid both the Western and the Japanese)

Room Tip: Avoid the Japanese restaurant: truly the worst Japanese food I have ever had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pauljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good hotel over all , they need to change the carpets in the rooms , location is close to the fair but far from everything else
During the fair the breakfast is good the other days barely you find something to eat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the hotel and enjoyed the stay. I was attending the Canton Fair and with their free shuttle it made it a painless journey. Room was great and a real benefit to have excellent speed free wifi. Breakfast was fine and in the evening we ate at Cafe Royale which was adequate but same menu boring after 3 nights, took a look in at their Chinese restaurant but found it to be expensive. Liked the little touches in the room such as fresh fruit daily and free cool drinks in the fridge and finding a free copy of the English version of the China News. Went on walkabout one night but not much doing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
4.7 mi away
Furtune Hotel
Furtune Hotel
#188 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
158 reviews
4.8 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#70 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Wa King Town Hotel
Guangzhou Wa King Town Hotel
#204 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
#77 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
128 reviews
5.5 mi away
Yuwa Hotel
Yuwa Hotel
#76 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
25 reviews
9.5 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#74 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Hotel

Property: Grand Royal Hotel
Address: No.483 Zhongshan Avenue Middle, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510660, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing