We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in China”
Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Century Hotel
Ranked #205 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After being delayed in Sydney by fog for an hour, we missed our connecting flight to Shanghai. We were on a Wendy Wu tour (fantastic by the way) and they arranged a hotel for the night. We had to wait 30 minutes for a bus and then it took another45 minutes to the hotel. The New Century Hotel looks rather grand with a huge open lobby, the staff has very limited english skills which do not help with check in.The hotel kept the restaurant open for us as it was around 10pm that we arrived. We had room 1322 which was large enough with two 3/4 beds. No top sheet on the beds just a doona cover, bed was as hard as a rock!!! this is not uncommon in China. Bottled water is a must in China as you cannot drink the tap water safely. Hotels usually supply two free bottles daily but, in this hotels' case the fridge did not work so we had the water at room temp. We had a shuttle bus pick us up the following morning at 5.30am the ensure we were on time for our flight, as we were very early breakfast was unavailable but the hotel did a package for us to take. It consisted of fried bread and spread, a boiled egg, two small tomatoes and a tub of youghurt but no spoon.But it was something at least.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabbitf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for New Century Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for first 3 days of Canton Fair phase 1 and again first 2 day of phase 2. Bed is firm which I don't mind. Showers were terrble, like standing under a hose. Rooms were a good size, plenty of space to spread things out on our return.

Food in the restaurant is OK, just. They seem to concentrate on quantity rather than quality. Breakfast, the biggest downfall was the toaster, a 4 slice model. One slice gets cooked perfect, two middle ones don't cook at all and end one cooks half your toast. I did pont it out the lead lay said, "I know".....came back second week, No change, manky old toaster still going.

Hotel looks grand, operative word 'looks', staff speak very little English, and they seem to have no idea where the bus leaves for the airport and leaving the lobby its just to the right of the entrance about 30 meters. Our helpful bellboy rook us and our bags past the sop area and around the back. Luckily one of the kitchen staff came out and put him right. So our second visit was a lot easier.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoker room if you don't otherwise you can smell the smoke. Don't go to breakfas...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TataNear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a 15hr stop over traveling with southern china, thinking i would be sleeping on the airport floor, it was a trip i was not looking forward to,so i was pleasantly suprised to say the least when they informed me i would be staying in a hotel, even happier when we walked into this hotel after mabe 30mins traveling in a small van, yes the bed was abit hard but everything else was ok, no complaints at all for a freebie!

kudos to southern china airlines and new century hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we stayed there for a night as our flight was cancelled and we were transfered to this hotel. i think 7 th floor is reserved for airlines. The room was odd in shape ,very dimmely lit. Only one ceiling light in the room.The room service was pathetic,didnt know english at all. The hotel had a very old chinese feeling. Didnt enjoy at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guru1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I don't recommend this hotel just because bad location. The Hotel is located in a big district in north of Guangzhou, called Haudu. This district is near to Airport but very far away from city. there is no transport to the city unless Taxi (more than 120 RMB, if you are lucky). other way is taking taxi to airport or one of Metro stations (Renhe) and continue with Metro. both of them will take minimum 1 hour.

Positive points: Big reception area, minimum one English speaking staff in reception, clean, big and safe rooms, free Internet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hassan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I may be a bit generous here with this hotel but most of the little nuances I can nit-pick are a function of being older. I stayed here for four days on business. It was dirt cheap (possibly a rate secured by my host)---but the four days including breakfast, internet, and a nice suite with a great shower was less than $250 total. HARD to beat. The place is fine. Just older. Main issue? That bed. It felt like and probably was a box spring. I mean AWFUL. Felt like the mattress was missing. I am a tough guy but was sore from sleeping on springs. Not the type to complain, so I put pillows under my ribs and roughed it out. View as great. Construction in the area but not a problem. Guangzhou is growing as rapid as the rest of China. Fantastic city. If you can handle the bed, do it. Breakfast was fantastic, as often the case in China. Service was fine. Staff pleasant. No complaints.

Room Tip: Check out the bed first....make sure it is body friendly.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were put up here overnight by China Southern Airlines Before flight to London. What a surprise for a transit hotel. This place had the feel of many a five star hotel ive been in. It was immaculate The reception staff were great and very helpful. The bar served drinks and food at very reasonable prices. The rooms were massive with a seating area flatscreen tv and internet port. Breakfast was a massive buffet with western dishes on offer. All in all a great overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#46 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
94 reviews
Huadu District
Henry Business Hotel
Henry Business Hotel
#200 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
89 reviews
HJ Grand Hotel
#176 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#30 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
260 reviews
He Xing Hotel
#1,676 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
40 reviews
Jianguo Hotel
#31 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Address: No.43 Huadu Xiuquan Dadao Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $44 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing