We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel - Great room, location and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #21 of 3,386 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - Great room, location and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

I loved this hotel for the following reasons:

1. Their rooms are fantastic - modern, spacious, beautiful decor and comfortable. It was an absolute haven to come back to after a day of trekking around exploring the city. My Dad thought his room was the best hotel room he had ever had in China.

2. Very central location - The hotel is located near some busy pedestrian shopping streets and there are heaps of restaurants nearby. It is also walking distance to Shamian Island which is a lovely place to visit with its architecture and park (where you can see people practising their dance moves).

3. Service is excellent - The staff were incredibly polite, friendly and helpful. I was surprised by how good their English was. They were also very quick in getting us taxis. I am usually quite picky but I couldn't fault them in the slightest.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    411
    75
    13
    10
See reviews for
113
88
46
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

A bit slow in writing our review. This was our second trip to Guangzhou with our 3 small children. We had 2 interconnecting business rooms which were very spacious and superb. Hotel generally is very nice. Good lobby and lobby bar and great rooms. F&B not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel but with so many other eating options around the pedestrian mall....who cares! Pedestrian mall was great and kinda local. No comparison to Beijing lu which was full of touts and scammers which makes it pretty hard going with kids. You could shop and eat on Shaanxi Lu (SP?) for a week without repeating yourself too much. Taxi's were a bit hard to find but not too much of a problem with help from the doorman. We had trouble getting into the Guangzhou restaurant (wedding or something?) but concierge recommended an excellent dim sum place just up from the mall. We also recommend a casual stroll along the pearl river with the locals the kids had a ball running around. Our first trip to Guangzhou we stayed at the China Marriot which was great (really good F&B) but I think the location of the Shifu made this trip a much better family experience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tragics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Holiday Inn all over the world are symbol of quality. I have stayed in this hotel in my first visit to China. I have stayed in the club floor with beautiful views from my window.. I enjoyed the complementary snack and drinks every afternoon / evening...

  • Liked — Room decoration
  • Disliked — Food was not very good..
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arpanKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Positioned in the old part of Guangzhou, this hotel is ideally suited for strolling through the adjacent pet and spices markets down to visit Shamian Island, going shopping for those annoying presents one is obliged to buy on holidays, and just relaxing at the great pool and fitness areas on the sixth floor above the shopping walkway after a day of business meetings. The antiques area is also 10 minutes stroll away, past some of the most interesting old architecture left in the city.
The hotel staff speak better English than most hotels I have stayed in and the breakfast and lunch buffets are spectacular, well priced and suit all travellers..
However, avoid in Trade fair season as the rates at this popular hotel skyrocket.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Great Hotel. Nice rooms and bathrooms. Everything seems pretty new. Good breakfast spread. They run a nice club lounge serving good snacks in the evening if eligible. KFC, Mac, Pizza H all walking distance. Lots of cheap shopping, Metro is 10 mins walking and 7RMB taxi (if they are willing to go). Very ethnic n/hood may not appeal to business travellers looking for a more international or downtown location.

  • Liked — room size and cleaniness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

It is hard to write a fair review seeing as I have only stayed in one hotel in China. The Holiday Inn, Shifu might be really great - according to standards in China.. But for me, it was not great. If you do not speak Chinese you might struggle communicating with the staff as most do not really speak or understand English. BIG difference from Hong Kong.

Let me begin with the area of Guangzhou - the Holiday Inn does not seem to be situated in a very nice part of town. The street is packed with people and very dirty. There is an alley full of stinky cats, kittens, dogs, puppies and goldfish in one direction that leads to Sharma Island (possibly a nicer place to stay.. the island does not seem as packed full of people and the streets are a little bit cleaner) - The other streets outside the hotel lead to shopping centers and residential areas. I think the word filthy pretty much sums the area of town. The smell that hits you when you step outside the door can at times take your breath away.

This was my first trip to China. I was not prepared for the smell of the water. The hotel gave two free bottles of water in the bathroom for brushing teeth. As I lie in bed at night, I could smell when my neighbors came in in the evening. The water had such a pungent smell that I could actually smell it as they took showers in the evening.

The breakfast was a mix of English and Chinese. You can have an omelette made to order, they have french toast, fried eggs, fruit, cereal, yogurt... The Chinese side was dumplings and fried rice, veggies .. interesting combination. I stayed for two weeks and the breakfast got a little old by the end, but they do offer a lot of variety.

The room was cleaned every day and the housekeeper was very friendly and helpful. The bed is SO VERY hard. The hotel does offer an array of pillows for your comfort. The bedding was always clean and though there was a sign warning of bugs, I did not see any.

The gym on the top is small and old but useful I suppose. There was never really anyone in there so I had the run of the place to myself. The rooftop pool STINKS. I would not swim in it as the smell is quite offensive.

China still allows smoking in doors so make sure you take that in consideration when you chose the floor your room is on.

After being at the hotel for two weeks I learned the area and felt comfortable. Upon checking in I felt unsafe and a little freaked out by the area. There is a lot to explore and investigate, if you are traveling alone and just want to wander around and take in the culture this might be a good hotel.. I think there are nicer hotels in the area though so if I were returning I would look around.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mle_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

At first arrival it seems like a bad part of town, but then the fun began there is a bunch of shopping outside, lots of things to see and do. We went to the garden hotel and lots of places, but this place had all the flavor, they have like a small Beijing street out in front of the place, so there is plenty of shopping to be had, same stuff as in all the other shopping placed.

After a few days of thinking to change, coming home to shifu was AWESOME, every night, a chilling cession at the lobby bar and then a bit of shopping. We found some cool stuff. The more we stayed the cooler the hotel was. The service was pretty good, and I live in a hotel pretty much, I like decent places. This place offered all of that and a bit more. We had a super enjoyable time at this hotel. super place for a first timer.

English is always an issue at every place, we even tested the shangri la.

This place offers a super value. I stayed at a place not near the size in Singapore and it was much more expensive. This was 70 bucks a night and was nicer than my holiday in in Sing (190 a night), both places were great. This was no exception. Really a decent hotel.

Give it a shot, you wont be dissapointed. After 4 days we were hooked on it, when I go back, I will stay there again. Really enjoyed having all the parts about China like right outside the front door, easy to shop and go, go back to the hotel relax a bit. NOt much bar scene out front of it, but it was worth the money and we had some fun with it.

Check it out!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#27 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing