We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I choose this place for the reviews and a friend had recommended it too me. Yes there is a shopping strip but it's all the same stuff. We stayed here with our 2 boys (3&5) and it wasn't good! The food was so dodgy, there was just nothing. It would of been manageable if it was just myself and husband as we could of gone in a taxi but it just isn't good for young kids. My husband ended up getting an interpreter as he was there for business and she said we were staying in the wrong area and stay in the 'new city' part. It had a food/shaping strip from Mexican to Italian.
We were there when the trade fair was on and the prices were over doubled. Our room ended up being just under $300 a nigh. Our breakfast was $75 and it was terrible. The language barrier was so hard, I asked for bath towers and nothing came. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay experience in our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems happened and inconvenience caused in the whole process of service delivery.
I discussed your review words with department heads concerned and surely all necessary actions will be taken to avoid a repetition of similar case in future..
Once again, we are so sorry about that and hope to be able to welcome you back to in future days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 805 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Its an excellent place to stay with beautiful rooms and excellent service. I did not face any difficulty during my 3 days stay in Guangzhou. very co-operative staff. I booked the same online without having idea how the hotel is. The hotel was above my expectations.

Room Tip: just believe the hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradeepManish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been here for like twice and i feel that its like one of the best hotel i have had ever stayed in china,its spacious and comfortable at affordable rate,the people there are kind and helpful and the location of this hotel is also very good ,its in the middle of a shopping street offering lots of shopping choices and bargains.And also 10 to 15 minutes walk away from the nearest metro.The only thing i do not like about this hotel is that there are no free wireless wifi,the price is quite expensive, but they do offer a internet cable for wired internet connection for free.Also the breakfast is also not really nice though there is a variety to choose from its oftenly not that delicious,but you dont have to worry as its near lots of restaurant that offer very nice and delicious breakfast like 'TaoTaoJu',so if u skip your breakfast you might want to head there and enjoy,its just below the street of the hotel about 3minutes walk away.Enjoy your stay here!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kaichee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Located from the fourth floor until the thirteenth floor, seems great job with the housekeeping team. Nice door staff and concierges. Front-end staff with their own prejudices and notions but quick and efficient. Exemplary service from one of their managerial staff Randy. Food and beverages at the 4th floor cafe, a good choice atleast during dinner, but could be moderately priced. Hotel tariff exceeds all expectations from a holiday inn, perhaps due to the Canton fair. A very quiet executive lounge and so was the lonely staff there.....room was big, neat, but mediocre toiletries. A property great for location, business but need better focus on pricing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu is an outstanding hotel. I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel because I could tell from the photos that the hotel was located in an older area of Guangzhou. Having stayed at another older hotel earlier this year (that was a Holiday Inn but has since lost its Holiday Inn license), I was not sure what to expect of the Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu. To my surprise, the hotel is VERY clean and the service is outstanding. Despite the hotel being a bit older, it is well kept and the rooms have been updated. The rooms are spotless and have a nice layout. The breakfast is very good, both for the Chinese and Western palates. I stayed at the hotel during the Canton Fair, which is typically the busiest time for hotels in Guangzhou. The hotel offered convenient shuttle busses to/from the convention center.

As many other reviews on this hotel have mentioned, the hotel is located on a walking street. The drive to the hotel is a bit strange as it seems you are going through an old neighborhood (small streets lined with trees and small shops). This neighborhood adds to the charm of the hotel and the restaurants on the walking street are outstanding if you are into traditional Guangdong food. Try the "Guangzhou JiuJia" or "Tao Tao Ju" restaurants if you have time. If you are into more modern shopping/food areas, there is a huge mall a short distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDubChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel more then 30 nights Wien I visit the Canton Fair. Good location, close to a lot of good restaurants and the pedestrian street, with all kinds of shops. Shutle bus to the fair and back. First class employes and a good kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great access to shopping districts and some traditional restaurants within walking distance. Hotel services are superb with nice lounge, spacious room and direct cross-border bus to Hong Kong. The only problem is it's far away from Guangzhou East Station.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 852NeverSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
591 reviews
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
669 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#33 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $101 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing