We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Nearby Hotels
$262
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
$97
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$117
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
258
456
87
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
456
87
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian streetchinese herbsshamian islandliwan districthotel is locatedolder partshopping districtihg memberwriting deskstreet foodexcellent locationcanton fairlocal foodlarge roomexecutive floorthe hotel staffdim sum
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 830 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu is an outstanding hotel. I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel because I could tell from the photos that the hotel was located in an older area of Guangzhou. Having stayed at another older hotel earlier this year (that was a Holiday Inn but has since lost its Holiday Inn license), I was not sure what to expect of the Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu. To my surprise, the hotel is VERY clean and the service is outstanding. Despite the hotel being a bit older, it is well kept and the rooms have been updated. The rooms are spotless and have a nice layout. The breakfast is very good, both for the Chinese and Western palates. I stayed at the hotel during the Canton Fair, which is typically the busiest time for hotels in Guangzhou. The hotel offered convenient shuttle busses to/from the convention center.

As many other reviews on this hotel have mentioned, the hotel is located on a walking street. The drive to the hotel is a bit strange as it seems you are going through an old neighborhood (small streets lined with trees and small shops). This neighborhood adds to the charm of the hotel and the restaurants on the walking street are outstanding if you are into traditional Guangdong food. Try the "Guangzhou JiuJia" or "Tao Tao Ju" restaurants if you have time. If you are into more modern shopping/food areas, there is a huge mall a short distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDubChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel more then 30 nights Wien I visit the Canton Fair. Good location, close to a lot of good restaurants and the pedestrian street, with all kinds of shops. Shutle bus to the fair and back. First class employes and a good kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great access to shopping districts and some traditional restaurants within walking distance. Hotel services are superb with nice lounge, spacious room and direct cross-border bus to Hong Kong. The only problem is it's far away from Guangzhou East Station.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 852NeverSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms are quite large when compared to other holiday inn properties, the bathrooms also are quite large, it is located next to the shifu pedestrian street, you don't have to go anywhere else for shopping, metro is about 15 min walk, breakfast spread was nice.
All the staff were quite helpful, they can manage little English to communicate, as it is not the same in other hotels in china.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed there for 5 nights, having had our travel agent recommend it. Although it was not close to the subway. The people, the service, the locale and the ambiance made up for it.
We had arrived a bit before checking time, but the lady was sympathetic having walked from the subway station with 4 pieces of luggage and sweating like crazy and gave us a room right away.
After walking in to our room, I thought, we died and gone to heaven. For a mid range $$ hotel. It was luxurious. Specially after having just completing a Gruelling tour through the Silk road and staying at 3 star hotels and some even lower. The room was so spacious and the bathroom huge. It had a large shower and a tub. The place was super clean.
After taking a cold shower, we got down to the street level, where there were tons of shopping and restaurants. Nights become livelier and more people around.
Needless to say they deserve all the awards in the lobby. Oh, almost to mention the breakfast buffet (Included in our room price) was excellent, with lots of variety. Would highly recommended. We paid $138/night

Room Tip: Pick the type of pillow right away. They have lots of choice. Wi-Fi only in the lobby, you'll need the password from the front desk. Also safe deposit boxes behind the front desk
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews