We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value If You Can Handle The Neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #20 of 3,376 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Value If You Can Handle The Neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a surprisingly pleasant stay at the Shifu. The price paid was truly a great value; we also opted for Club Lounge access, and it was well worth the extra cost. While the rooms could use a bit of maintenance, they were clean, large and comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant and cocktails at the Lounge were OK, nothing special, as was the buffet restaurant. The Chinese restaurant was the best choice. The location in the old part of town was interesting, but, unless your focus is on local product bargain hunting, you'd likely prefer the newer areas to the east and north. There really wasn't much choice insofar as nearby restaurants. But for a near five-star experience at an amazingly reasonable cost, you can't beat this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    406
    74
    13
    10
See reviews for
111
87
45
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iligan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

As in most Holiday Inn hotels, the room here was big with double sized twin beds & complete with all amenities. The staff were quite helpful & can speak English well. The big plus for this hotel is its location. It was right in the middle of a busy shopping area so you can easily deposit the things you bought to your hotel then go back for more shopping. There were also a number of restaurants nearby & a big park where you can stroll & pass the time.Despite being in a shopping area, you could still have a peaceful night's sleep, maybe the rooms are soundproofed or we were just too tired to mind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is so nice amazing big rooms . Good and a helpful staff. The only problem in this hotel is there is no wifi in rooms you have to pay more for the free wifi or just u can sit in the main lobby to make a free wifi Internet.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lamzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved the Shifu and found it to suit our needs completely. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The roof top pool was very nice. Great location too near market areas. The hotel was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Shifu on my first trip to Guangzhou. I was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. The staff were polite and very helpful. We had a very large room with a beautiful marble bathroom. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. There was a roof top pool and gym, which also had a nice view of the city. It was close to the subway, restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGetUpAndGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been staying here for the past few years while here, its central located in the middle of a shopping district, the service is great, food is ok, breakfast is a mix of Chinese and western. selection is good, bedrooms are large or should i say very large, the largest in the industry if you ask me.bathrooms are large and clean.
Internet connection at times is slower than usual but all in all nice place to stay, I know FEDEX uses this hotel for its pilots. service is great and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: get a high floor or else you will be looking into peoples bedrooms>
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shieksvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

As expected, we had a very good stay at Holiday Inn Shifu when we decided to tour Guangzhou. Definitely 5 stars! The guest rooms were big, beds were comfy and what the kids enjoyed most was they had a choice of pillows -- soft, firm, rice, and feather (not sure with the last one). You get a feeling right away that you'll be staying in a classy hotel right from the start.

Though it is quite far from the airport, the hotel's location is very near the shopping area and numerous restaurants. It is a welcome respite after a long day of going around the busy, dirty and crowded streets of China.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#15 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#20 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#32 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing