We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My regular stay while in Guangzhou.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #18 of 3,257 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My regular stay while in Guangzhou.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been staying here for the past few years while here, its central located in the middle of a shopping district, the service is great, food is ok, breakfast is a mix of Chinese and western. selection is good, bedrooms are large or should i say very large, the largest in the industry if you ask me.bathrooms are large and clean.
Internet connection at times is slower than usual but all in all nice place to stay, I know FEDEX uses this hotel for its pilots. service is great and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: get a high floor or else you will be looking into peoples bedrooms>
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shieksvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    390
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
84
43
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

As expected, we had a very good stay at Holiday Inn Shifu when we decided to tour Guangzhou. Definitely 5 stars! The guest rooms were big, beds were comfy and what the kids enjoyed most was they had a choice of pillows -- soft, firm, rice, and feather (not sure with the last one). You get a feeling right away that you'll be staying in a classy hotel right from the start.

Though it is quite far from the airport, the hotel's location is very near the shopping area and numerous restaurants. It is a welcome respite after a long day of going around the busy, dirty and crowded streets of China.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Shifu on my last visit to China,this is a really high quality hotel. The room was luxurious and spacious, I had a bath tub and walk in rain shower in a beautiful marble bathroom.
The king size bed was as good as anything you get in a 5 star hotel,very clean and the air-conditioning worked well.
Staff were very friendly and polite, the restaurant on site was amazing, vast international range of food to choose from as well as the Chinese favourites.
You know your in a provincial city when you step out into the streets but the hotel makes for a nice escape after a busy day .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvHoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Guangzhou for adoption purposes. Last time we stayed at the White Swan on Shaiman island. I have to say that this is a much nicer hotel on the inside. The rooms are bigger and better layer out. The staff is a little nicer and more accommodating. You definitely want to join the rewards program before you come. While the Swan did accord you a feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle. The Holiday Inn puts you right in the midst of it. Don't let the outside put you off. We are thoroughly enjoying our stay here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was there for meeting at GZ. Normal i will use other hotel, but due some reason i choose Holiday Inn, Shifu GZ.
All things are perfect, room are so big and best view from 12th floor + everything is completed. U even no need bring ur iphone charger, it's avaliable. Bed room (the most important thing) quality is perfect, awesome.
Breakfast food is so good, it's halal for mooslem. Sometimes some of my friend are afraid travelling to china due food consist of pork. But this hotel is a pro.
my room is excutive room, it's cost RMB 758/night. It's so f**in cheap ^^
below the hotel it's llike Kowloon ot Tsing Sha Shui area at HK, you can find so many good quality stuff at so lowest price.
This hotel is closed to Shifu MTR, walking around 10 minutes. Around there also a Central Plaza, selling many things.
Perfect hotel, I will come back to this hotel on May 2013 ^^ awesome

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorDragono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have to say that my second visit to the Guangzhou Shifu in October 2012 for Canton Fair was just as good as my last. The staff are fantastic especially as they greet you on street level and guide you onto the premises and this is very nice. (The hotel lobby is upstairs via a lift.)

Our room was large and well-serviced as usual. I would especially recommend this hotel to solo travellers. One never has the opportunity to feel isolated or bored. Outside the hotel there is so much activity and so much to explore. I never feel uncomfortable walking around alone in this area. We will always choose Guangzhou Shifu Holiday Inn for the Canton Fair.

Room Tip: During Fair times we would choose lower floor rooms as the lifts are quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very close to the main pedestrian street in GZ this hotel is in a very central location and goodfor shopping and exploring. When you stay here you really get the feeling of staying in downtown china, thousands of people everywhere all the time.

Stayed there in the June last year for 4 days.

The suite I had was reasonable. Nothing special and nothing bad. My one complaint is that the prices are a bit high for what is a holiday inn.

The area is very noisy and busy and one of the downsides with that is that when you leave the hotel you get the hawkers on your case. Don’t buy any of the fake rubbish from these guys. You will truly get ripped off. Learn to say ‘No Thank You, I am not interested’

There is a Tea shop, where you can drink tea as opposed to a shop selling tea leaves, quite close by that you can get some amazing tasting Chinese tea. Can’t remember the name but it was the hotel staff that directed me to it.

If you are on a shopping trip then you must keep in mind that any product that you would normally buy overseas are more expensive in china. Things like Nike trainers, Levi Jeans and Rolex watches are significantly marked up with Chinese luxury tax. There are many better places to buy things that down town GZ.

The area is very noisy and busy and one of the downsides with that is that when you leave the hotel you get the hawkers on your case. Dont buy any of the fake rubbish from these guys. You will truely get ripped off.

There is a Tea shop, where you can drink tea as opposed to a shop selling tea leaves, quite close by that you can get some amazing tasting chinese tea. Cant remember the name but it was the hotel staff that dirrected me to it.

If you are on a shopping trip then you must keep in mind that any product that you would normally buy overseas are more expensive in china. Things like Nike trainers, Levi Jeans and Rolex watches are significantly marked up with chinese luxury tax. There are many better places to buy things that down town GZ.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,257 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#5 of 3,257 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,257 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,257 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: NO. 188 DI Shu Fu Road, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing