We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #23 of 3,476 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked a triple sharing superior room and was fortunately upgraded to a suite. Hotel staff are friendly and hotel is clean. This hotel is situated in the middle of Shang Xia Liu pedestrian shopping street. On the other side of the hotel is a pet street selling pet dogs, cats, birds, pet food and accessories. At the end of pet street, there is another street selling Chinese herbs. There are plenty of food choices (KFC, McDonald, Guangzhou restaurant (famous for their dim sum). Will stay in this hotel again if I visit Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggiMee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 786 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was just ther two weeks ago, and since I was on a bussiness trip for a trading fair, we allways had breakfast at the hotel. The price was somewhere in the 35 USD per person. Since time was more important we did not care that much.
Staff was incredible. Ask for Simon, the bellboy.
For some reason We booked another room afetr the fair was over and the price of the room was considerably lower, very undertsandable (demand), but food was also half price. That I cant believe, since is food, if any, it should be lower.

Room Tip: Taxi cab for this hotel are very hard to find, they dont like to go to this part of the city
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Shifu is loctaed just at the pedestrian area in Guangzhou and are near the old town and the local markets. There is huge shopping possibilities nearby but not many restaurants and bars. The hotel is nice with spacious rooms. The room I stayed in was a little worn. Very expensive minibar and bar at the hotel. The WiFi is not free and if you choose to use it you must be very patient - it is extremely slow. Nice big pool at the roof where the fair gym also is located. Breakfast buffet has a good variety of Chinese and western meals. Serviceminded and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean room - Holiday Inn standards. Friendly & helpful reception staff. Hotel at convenient location - close to restaurants & Pedestrisn Street/shops. Good selection of Chinese & western food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here when we arrived at china and it was the best decision ever. It's bang in the middle of the bustling pedestrian street. Great shopping all around. Rooms nice and huge. View average. No free wifi in rooms. Staff very helpful. Definitely recommend if u wanna stay in the older parts of gaungzhou .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salonisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are a mid fifties couple who stayed here for 3 days after a 2 week tour of China. This hotel is fantastic, from the minute we arrived we were made to feel special. The first thing we noticed was the beautiful smell that was thru the hotel foyer. Check in was quick, as were our bags to our room. The room was beautiful, usual supplies, toiletries, water and a fruit platter was a nice touch. Staff are very polite, speak excellent English, always smiling. They cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is superb, lots of choices, nice bar area very intimate. Location wise, you walk out of the hotel and you are in the main pedestrian shopping street. Highly recommend this hotel, one of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Executive rooms include an executive lounge if you want to have breakfast away from the main restaur...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

For my trip to the Canton fair this October I chose this hotel due to its location. Although located in the downtown area far from the fair and a good distance from the mtr station, it is for me a perfect place. Shopping is right at the back of the hotel. Street food as well as restaurants and coffee shops are nearby. Nightlife in this area is never boring. The hotel itself is quite good with a comfortable bed and a choice of soft and hard pillows. Bathroom is amusing which has a clear glass wall facing the bed; conducive for romance but weird if you are with friends or family, although it has blinds for privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,476 in Guangzhou
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,476 in Guangzhou
579 reviews
11.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,476 in Guangzhou
616 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,476 in Guangzhou
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing