We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Ramada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ranked #26 of 3,475 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on January 13 with my girlfriend and booked it via Ctrip.

This hotel is located on the side of a highway and I came here via taxi. The bellboy came right away to take my luggage and the check in was fast. On the way up, I noticed the elevator did not require a key card like other 5 star hotels so that was a bit surprising. The view from the elevator is great because it is transparent and you can have a view of Guangzhou East Station.

The room does not convey opulence like other hotels but rather a more business like feel but still nonetheless the ambiance is great. The bathroom is pretty spacious with the usual amenities. Do note that if you plan to take some of the amenities with you like the shower gels, they are easy to open it is advisable to put it in a separate bag. Our room was at the back of the hotel. The view isn't much, a mountain and a condominium in front of it. However, I was surprised at how quiet the hotel was considering we were next to a highway, even when I opened the window.

I tried both the Chinese and Western restaurant. The restaurants are located on opposite ends of the hotel. The Chinese restaurant and the food was surprisingly decent and not expensive. For the Western restaurant, the fish was a bit bland, but the soups and fried rice was good.

The service was prompt and the concierge was very earnest in helping me find a place I wanted to go to, even letting me step behind the counter to look at the online map. The restrooms in the lobby was very nice but there was a overwhelming smell of mothballs.

The location of this hotel is not the most convenient. You have a walk a bit to get to the nearest subway station exit, exit J, and you have to cross a pedestrian bridge. Do note that certain exits like exit J do not connect you to the Guangzhou East Railway Train Station. You can also walk a bit further and go through a pedestrian tunnel and through the tunnel you are on the other side where there is a KFC and where you can walk to the other popular parts of Tianhe.

From the hotel, it is walkable to decent shops and restaurants, it is just takes a bit of time. Start walking to the left of the hotel and after 10 or so minutes you will see a street full of it.

Overall, while the location of this hotel is not the most convenient, it is still accessible and despite being on the highway, a quiet and relaxing night's rest is certain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was one of my fav. hotels in gaungzhou.
I was there several times in the past 6 vears.
Unfortunately now this is not longer a business traveler hotel...
Some samples:
- wifi is not working...
- cable internet in room is very very very slow and dosen't works often...
- they toke out the minibar from the rooms
- lot of things on menu in rest. is no available
- NO real "non smoking rooms" available. also the "non somking rooms" smells terrible from cold smoke. i chaged the room two times... after a give it up....
Management says: "somethimes we haven't engouth smoking-rooms than we give the "non smoking rooms" for in room smoking guests...

Reception-People & Room Cleaner are friendly and helpful.... but the can't help.... it is, like it is.

Room Tip: sorry, there is no tip - i changed the room three times, but didn't find good room....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I booked this hotel due to it's location next to fair complex.
1- Arrival from Guangzhou Airport is just through underground metro from the airport - direct to Guangzhou east railway station, then exit J & cross the street. You are there! - Please mind there are steps if you do carry lots of luggage
Cost is 7 RMB (Around 1.1USD)!
2- Check in: I booked my room through Ramada website since it has a super saver package with Breakfast & including 1 dinner / stay. Although when i arrived, i only found the reservation on room only basis , even without breakfast?!
So, after 14 hours of flight duration, i should expect a fast check in, but it took me over 45 mins to scan my ID. Pay the room, pay deposit, exchange money, it was very tiring and shouldn't take that long in such 5* hotels
3- Room was upgraded to Suite which has a big living room, 2 LCD TVs Fax machine, computer, Upgrades are nice!
4- Breakfast: It is good with some western stuff to eat, although most of it was Chinese food but overall it is ok
5- Swimming pool is extremely cold, although the weather is around 24-28 degrees, the water temp was 15 degrees.
6- The fitness center is over priced for entrance, you pay around 400RMB for using the sauna, shower, Jacuzzi..etc Although for extra 40 RMB you can take a massage which can be a good value
At the end, staff is polite, willing to help, do their best to understand English.

Room Tip: Backside has no view! Choose he front side
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for the Canton Fair, for a week and I was very happy with my stay. Great friendly staff, very clean, great rooms and great comfy bed ( for Asian Standards). Only thing I would say about this hotel is the location. There is nothing around the hotel, and you can not walk anywhere. There is the metro station about 10 min walk, and there are plenty of taxi's around, taxis here are very cheap. Make sure you use a meter taxi.
The hotel has 2 restaurants, but I only ate in the Western restaurant, I thought the breakfast buffet had plenty of western and asian selections. The lounge is a nice spot to relax at the end of the day.
I will stay at this hotel again if i am here for business. If you are here to visit you may consider another hotel within city limits and walking distance to attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adolmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Ugly:
Location is not good. Far from main shops, and right on the highway. Internet connection is close to non existent (extremely slow), which can be very troublesome in a business trip. Chinese food is ok, but if you are not into that the other options are awfull.
The Good:
The rooms are pretty spacious, well maintained and the bathroom is great. The gym is good (not great), and the Staff is very nice and pleasant.

It is not a bad hotel at all, but on business trip you really need a at least ok internet connection, and it is difficult to get around. The Marriot in Tianhe, for almost the same price is a better option

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is very clean,the staff very friendly so everything was perfect.the hotel is very close to tee mall(about 10 minutes with taxi and cost 20-25 yuan) the east railway station is located about 5 minutes,is 30 minutes away from downtown.they have a small swiming pool which is located at 3 rd floor.it worth it every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you are just travelling for the Canton fair for a short period of time, this 4 star hotel will be enough for your all needs.
The check in and out speed will satisfy your needs.
If you stay at a locally managed hotel, pls do net expect high standard of food. They just serve quick and enough food.
The internet was free which is not that much common at 4 and 5 star hotels.
The room was clean but due to being an old hotel, there are many old details. The amenities were enough. The view of the room was quite good. I did not try the outdoor swimming pool.
I recommend for short business stays.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
658 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
6.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
#58 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
327 reviews
2.9 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#37 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
930 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Guangzhou

Address: No.313 Shougouling Road, East Guangyuan Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#38 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $62 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Guangzhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Ramada Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing