We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nansha Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nansha Grand Hotel
Ranked #84 of 3,314 Hotels in Guangzhou
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

A really wonderful experience staying at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is great. The rooms are amazing, but the bed was a little too hard for me. The facilities are amazing just wish I was there for a holiday instead of work. Would have loved to use the gym and pools, especially the rock climbing wall, maybe next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    94
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I like the previous reviewer Peter F have been staying at this hotel since it opened. The original builder of the hotel was a shipping mogul from Hong Kong and also the developer / promoter of the entire area of Nansha. Since his death a number of years ago the hotel has been owned by the son. When the son took over I noticed a definite change in the hotel.

When this place opened it felt a bit the like movie THE SHINNING. It was stunning and the staff top notch. I assume because there was hardly anyone here on my every visit that is was losing money hand over foot and the old man didn't care. He had his prize hotel and was rich and happy anyways.

Food was great - service was great - but not all facilities were open yet - like SPA. The pool is stunning and one of the largest I have ever seen and I have reviewed over 500 hotels for a living. The landscaping is marvelous.

Over the years - the hotel has become more affordable for Chinese guests who have acquired more wealth. And it is much busier, but rarely feels full even if it is because most people leave the hotel and go about their business.

The more trafficked areas of the hotel are becoming noticeably run down. Bathrooms have mold and the once "expensive-looking" features are now becoming worn. TVs are woefully small for the room size and with few English choices - that may or may not be working - it's a small detail in the overall scheme of things.

WI-FI is free and the rooms have wired Internet. The carpets look dirty - the furniture also. And they should probably be replaced. The counters in my room were in need of refinishing and at any other 5 star hotel would have been.

The bathrooms - once stunning - still have lighted makeup mirrors mounted in a place that make sense and women will be happy. The beds once hard as rocks - are now more comfortable and the sheets and bedding is very nice and always clean. The rooms are spacious whether you have a pool view or mountain view.

One reviewer mentioned that this hotel will get better in time - that sad to say is not true. The staff in the restaurants are woefully inattentive. The food - which was top notch and has gone down hill. I have stayed here when the free breakfasts have been marvelous and choices and when the food has been horrible and choices small. I believe it depends on the vacancies in the hotel - the more vacancies the less food. Today for example I ate just past 7 am and everything on the buffet that should have been hot, was ice cold.

Dinner used to be marvelous - prices have crept up and portions and quality has gone down. The spa treatments are very good and the spa staff is pleasant and attentive. Hotel prices apply for example a facial can run about US$85. Other treatments include full body, foot etc.

The hotel is located in the middle of no place - only convenient to the ferry terminal (also built by developer). But is has lovely sea views - if you can see it through the ever-increasing pollution.

I think this hotel is pretty typical of many China hotels - it starts up and goes down. Shoddy construction standards add to the quick downfall of finishes.

Is this the best place to stay in Nansha - yes - for sure. Other choices like the Clifford - which was the only choice initially as horrid - filled with local ladies of the evening at night and rat-infested kitchens - yes I have witnessed first-hand. So stay here before staying anyplace else.

I have not however found the staff unable to understand me nor I them. Perhaps it is because I have spent so much time here. Speak slowly and smile and usually the response is good - even if there is a problem.

So 5 stars?- some things - overall design and common areas. Rooms - need updating and a good cleaning. Common hallways smell smokey - even on non-smoking floors.

So with food and rooms being premier in many people's experience - 3 stars. But stay here before any other hotel in Nansha - at least for now.

Room Tip: Be sure and get non-smoking floor - if you don't mind a mountain view - those rooms have a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Regular traveller to China and just stayed 59 days in Sheraton Jiangyin, excellent hotel. This hotel could not compare although public areas were nice. After check in there was no concierge or bell boy to help with baggage. Room was a bit tired looking, had asked for non smoking but there were several cigarette ends in the plant pots with ash on the floor. Carpets stained and not vacuumed. Supposed to have English language TV, not so, these channels were not working. Water coming out from back of toilet onto floor. On a Saturday night I was the only person in the Steak Restuarant but the food and service was good. Breakfast restuarant was poor, tables not cleared, not enough staff. Will not be staying here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We started staying at this hotel when it opened 6 or so years ago, and came back twice a year every year since then. As with most Chinese owned hotels they do not believe in upkeep. The rooms have gone from gracious to gastly. Black mold in the bathrooms, dirty carpets that are not vacuumed daily, and big water stained lampshades. All 4 of my business associates had similar issues in their rooms. The hotel also seems to have gotten rid of most of the english speaking staff making communications nearly impossible. What a shame. We'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel almost every year since it opened. The facilities and property are beautiful and well landscaped. The spa has well trained staff. The pools are stunning.
The breakfast is good, the restaurants are good for chinese food. Language can be a problem. Some staff are much more fluent than others and it can be a challenge to get what you want. However, they are very polite and helpful and usually try their best to serve.
They have big plasma tv's with some english channels. Most of the rooms have beautiful sea views, some including views of the landscaped gardens and pools. The grounds are massive with a grassy full sized football field and other sporting areas. I know that there are bikes for hire to go around the area altough I have never ventured out.
The rooms are starting to feel damp since my last stay. Nothing too noticable but since I have been there several times, I feel the difference. The shower stalls are begining to look slightly worn. The language training for the staff can definitely be improved.
Overall, a good place for families with children to stay- as there is LOTS of space to run around.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stay for four nights from Sunday to April for a convention organized by the company and my 1st impression about this hotel was 'man! this hotel is in the middle of nowhere". I took a taxi from Baiyun airport and the taxi driver had to ask almost 10 people for directions.
The hotel interior is impressive with nice lobby and good layout. The room is bug with all the basic amenities. The TV channel however is disssppointing with only 4 English channels (CNN, HBO, ESPN,CCTV World) with the price I paid for the room ~RMB680++
The gym and spa is located in a separate building and facilities is top notch except the fact that the lighting at the gym is bad...the light was barely enough at the gym
In all, it was nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukri_karim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2006

For what is essentially a factory town the hotel facility is brand new and quite amazing. The pool rivals anything you have ever seen in Las Vegas (minus the horrible China smog) and the rooms are all suites with huge sitting rooms, plasma tvs, and amazing bathroom amenities.

The service though does not quite measure up to the facility. There are lots of people to assist you and they try hard but they just don't understand 5 star service standards and most do not speak more than a few words of English. Also the hotel while only a 5 min walk from the ferry is basically in the middle of nowhere so we had to eat every meal at the hotel. While there are five restaurants none of them are great. The Chinese one is probably the best.

Overall great building, great rooms, lots of potential but still not ready for prime time. But for the location its very nice.

  • Liked — Rooms - very modern and spacious
  • Disliked — Awkward sevice and average food
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take a cab from the ferry just walk up the hill. Its the big building to you left when you exit. 3-5min walk.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalLuxuryCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Peal River Delta World Trade Center Tower
Peal River Delta World Trade Cen...
#838 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
34.6 mi away
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#238 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
33.4 mi away
Yuexiu Hotel International
Yuexiu Hotel International
#299 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Royal Marina Plaza
Royal Marina Plaza
#75 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
28.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#40 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
32.1 mi away
Guangzhou Yuncheng Hotel
Guangzhou Yuncheng Hotel
#1,256 of 3,314 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nansha Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nansha Grand Hotel

Property: Nansha Grand Hotel
Address: No.1 Trade Second South Road, New Coastal City, Nansha District, Guangzhou 511458, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#64 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nansha Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Nansha Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nansha Grand Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing