We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value for money, closed to train station”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #26 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, value for money, closed to train station”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel has great rooms for the price. I have no complaints about the room or the breakfast. The rooms were modern and comfortable with all required amenities. Located conveniently next to the East Railway train station and connections to the subway for all parts of the city including Baiyun International Airport. Plenty of local and western (mostly fast food) options at the mall across the street or the train station. McDonalds, Burger King and KFC in the train station just 3 minutes walk. Across the street and to the left is a Starbucks and Pizza Hut (walk past the 7-11 you can see from the front door and turn left). Most of the staff speak English.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    364
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
47
38
41
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Wasn't sure how this would be, as a place for Western business people. But I've been very pleased. The rooms are very tidy and the decor seems fresh. Haven't had much of a chance to investigate whats around the hotel, but overall, the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Jianguo hotel early May just after the trade fair so was not hot by the excessive prices. However, the hotel was still on the pricey side.

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a business trip. The hotel location is great and very easy to get to from Baiyun Airport. I chose to take the metro line service from the airport and after 10 stations (on the same line - Orange Line 3) and I was glad I did as it only took around 30 minutes or so and it was a quick cheap and efficient journey. Once at Guangzhou East Railway Station follow the signs for hotel exit and it is then a 5 minute walk to the entrance.

Check in was swift and easy and the staff were very pleasant.

Our room was acceptable in terms of facilities and was always cleaned. The view was less than desirable as it backed on to a building site, although, it was never noisy and we always had a good nights sleep (minus the jet lag!)

Wifi was disappointing as it was only available in the reception area and you had to strategically position yourself at the managers desk to get decent enough coverage. Hence, trying to face time hope at 3am in the morning resulted in me sitting in the lobby area in my PJs!

Breakfast was great and we never struggled to find things to eat despite being vegetarian. Tea and coffee was served at the table and the staff were pleasant.

Overall I have to say I was really pleased with the hotel, the staff were always polite and willing to help arrange a taxi, take deliveries or advise on where to go. Location right next Guangzhou East Railway station is great if you need to come/go to Hong Kong (1 hour by train I believe) and also if you need to get to and from the airport. There is a mall opposite which has a supermarket in the basement and some chains such as Starbucks, Pizza Hut all available. In the station you will find a McDonalds and further along the station you will find a Subway. If you walk along the Mall to the other side, past the waterfalls at the side of the mall you will find a selection of cafes etc including some Halal options.

Would stay again and would recommend for location and service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking away from the building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maheeb A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now for work and find the hotel a reasonably priced, clean, comfortable stay conveniently close to Guangzhou East Station. The food is a little expensive and breakfast is overpriced if you just want a little fruit and cereal but there is a mall very close by with a few eating places. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the bell boy on one visit helped us take our luggage over to the station which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Traveled here three times for work. Excellent location- close to the main GZ East Station, and connections to the subway for all parts of the city including Baiyun Airport.

This is a fine, Five star hotel that is hard to fault. Check-in was fast with little of the fuss normally associated with this process in China. In General, staff are well trained and do their jobs without needing to be asked twice.

Rooms are well appointed and maintained. Very clean, first class linen, carpets and all amenities you would expect in a hotel of this class. Maids are fast, efficient and through and room service is top quality. A high quality international standard buffet breakfast was included in my tariff with all you would expect present and accounted for. Beds are super comfortable. If there is anything to complain about it is the building site nearby but this won't last forever. No views to speak of but it is GZ, not HK! Pool and gym both good too.

Taxis are plentiful but traffic can be heavy in GZ at the best of times so be prepared for a wait in traffic. If you need to cross town, consider the subway first then a taxi. Plenty of shopping nearby as well as a selection of food and even an Ikea! As stated earlier, this is a good location for business travellers, but not the best for tourists. Chief attractions is the proximity of the GZ East Station with regular trains to Hong Kong (two hours), and very frequent High Speed trains to for the hour and a half trip to Shenzhen (as often as 10 minutes apart at peak times). The Airport is an hour by subway and perhaps just as long by taxi depending on traffic.

All in all, this is a reasonably priced, high quality property for business travellers wanting a bit extra and tourists looking to splurge before an early morning departure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There is so much to recommend about this hotel; great location next to GZ East station (exit F), great reception staff, spacious twin room, great choice for breakfast, courteous staff, 15 metre pool. The only downsides for me were the hardness of the bed...there's no give at all and the air conditioning freezes the room. To the hotel's credit it was 37 celcius outside and we switched the aircon off and the room was a comfortable temperature. On the 15th floor, could hardly hear construction next door so not a problem. The shower is in the bath so may be a problem for some.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roachie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we thank you for your patronage and your value comment towards the hotel bedding and the other compliments.
In order to provide our guests a more comfortable stay, we are glad to inform you that purchasing of new hotel beddings has been included in our 2014 planning, and this project will be carried out in the beginning of 2014.

Once again, thank you for your continued support, and we hope you would come and stay with us when you are travelling to Guangzhou again. Until then, we remain.

Warm regards
Ken Chung
Resident Manager
Jianguo Hotel, Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a great hotel in Guangzhou's Tianhe District. It is only 100 meters from the metro station with front door taxi service immediately available. I found my room clean and comfortable. An added feature was that it was a non-smoking room, something not always available in China. The breakfast buffet was superb hosting a wide variety of Western and Chinese items. The staff were friendly and conversant in English; very helpful for those who are challenged speaking Chinese. I needed an iron and ironing board to press my clothes and received one promptly. Requested a late check out and received it with no problem! Shopping abounds in this clean and efficient district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feltisjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
5.8 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leeden Hotel
Leeden Hotel
#32 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
242 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#27 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing