We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is supposed to be a China 5 star rated hotel, can't compared with international standard but is good enough. As per other reviews, this is a convenient location, a few minutes walk to metro and bus terminal, and is not that far from airport, cost about RMB 100 to RMB 130 single trip. If you want to save some money, you can use the metro to airport.

I asked for non-smoking room which is at the 2nd highest floor, room is considered big, aircon, TV, etc are functioning well. Hotel food is above average. As my flight is at evening, the hotel is willing to extend late check out to 3.00 pm. not bad customer service.

The down side is wifi is not stable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 668 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's clean, modern furnished, flat-tv, free wifi, full-set of personal care items, convenient location (5mins to 2 metro lines, train and taxi station, many restaurant surrounding). Although the room was not spacious, but still is an ideal place for business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCG_Macau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very average hotel that is more of a three or 4 star. Many better options in this city such as the Hyatt, Shangra La or Westin The best feature of this hotel is its location...immediately across the street from the Train Station. it is worn and untidy.

The staff is friendly but very few speak english. The buffet is okay for breakfast but disappointing for lunch. The Chinese restaurant on the 4th floor is stellar.

The rooms are average at best, moldy smelling and have poorly lit bathrooms.

Low, hard beds.

The spa is nice but the workout center is inadequate.

Room Tip: Front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Resident Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent pagronage to Jianguo Hotel, Guangzhou.

We are so sorry to hear about the disappointment towards our buffet lunch and the room smelling. Rest be assured that your valuable comments has been brought up to the management's attention, and rectification will be carried out by conerned department.

We sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and stay at Jianguo Hotel, Guangzhou in a not very distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for a night at this hotel. Quite a nice hotel with decent location. Clean interior and good rooms. Since I had to take an early morning flight did not have b/fast, but the hotel gave me small packed box which i had on the way:-) not bad. Downside. No English speaking staff. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a decent place with good service. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. GZ metro station and the bust station are just at walking distance. Please ask for front facing rooms as back facing rooms don't have any view at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that is is located across the street from the Guangzhou East railway station. Which is the center of the city. You can use this station to go with the fast train to Hong Kong thru Shenzhen. And you can use this station to commute around with the metro. The hotel is clean, breakfast was OK and the rooms are a bit smaller than the normal in guangzhuo.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Wide room, clean and wide bathroom.
Weak point: moquette and breakfast quite crowded. lobby not so big (max 8 tables for a meeting).
Anyway when in Guangzhou I prefer it! Good price, good comfort, 5 minutes walking to train station for hongkong.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcgcgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#32 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
314 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#25 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
824 reviews
2.6 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#41 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#28 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $66 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing