We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$255
$209
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$116
$112
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
193
405
88
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
405
88
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguangzhou east railway stationhong kongeastern foodexcellent locationconvenient locationunderground shopping malltwo blocksstar hotelstayed for nightschinese restaurantbusiness hotelhotel is locatedfamily martclean roomsthe room was nicepleasant staycanton fair
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 710 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by train from Hong Kong, exit from gate 2 and you have a walk of less than 100m.
greeted by friendly staff on arrival who spoke good English. Our bags were brought up to our room which was a nice touch.
Internet in the room very fast.
Breakfast included was fine, sufficient range to suit everyone.
We had dinner in the Chinese restaurant which although slightly oily was tasty and reasonably priced.
Staff gave good directions to all the different shopping locations.
Also take the train down to the Canton tower at night .
The gym although small had machines and free weights.
Being so close to the train station is a real winner.
Would recommend especially for the location and price

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wadefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

GZ is usually my exit point from China and after a long trip my backpack is usually bulging. So I like to stay near GZ East - and this place is right across the road. I can then hop a train to HK or Metro to the airport without using a chinese taxi ( yes !! there is a God). The Hotel has that kind of overly- plush decoration - thick carpet, wood panelling, wall paper that dates it a little bit; but the rooms are clean and on the large size, great views over the city and good sized bathrooms too. The pool is not heated, but quite large and sheltered from the wind. The breakfast buffet has a large selection of both Western and Asian. Watch out for the senior chinese business men and their "special" friends at breakfast. Apparently the correct separation is a table and half apart. The employees offering profuse greetings to the Boss, and a nodding acquaintance to the lady, kinda gives the game away!

Room Tip: When in GZ get a travel card for thr trains and buses. They have a fantastic public transport system, including from airport, and rarely do you need to use a taxi. In the hotel, ask for a room on a higher floor, the views are nice at night, but there's not much of a noise issue on lower floors.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpack-getn-heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the third time in two years. The rooms are the same but the executive club isn't worth the extra money for what you get. The breakfast was the most disappointing, it is nowhere near as good as it was two years ago. Service is also now lacking. Luckily it has location on its side

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markj066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

First of all, thank you for your recent visit in March this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience with our Executive Floor services. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is a part of a Chinese mid-high range hotel chain, located conveniently next to the East train station (which links with Hong Kong). Its 3-4 minutes from the metro too. The rooms were modern and comfortable with all required amenities. However all Standard Rooms face an under construction skyscraper so no views. The Breakfast was very elaborate though limited options for vegetarians. Bathroom was clean and functional though a tad small. Overall, i'll give a thumbs up to this property. An at $90/night (with Breakfast), it was a bargain too.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the plaza, but you will have to pay more for those since all standard rooms face the other side.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U_Bhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay occassionally at the Jianguo Hotel. It is a very comfortable, well-located 4 star hotel. I have no complaints about the room or the breakfast. However yet again I was let down by the lack of local knowledge by the desk clerks. I wish they would admit to lack of knowledge!
Due to a delayed flight I had to stay the night in GZ unexpectedly and needed to get to Zhuhai veyr early the next morning. The desk clerks were not busy when I checked in a midnight so I asked if they could look up bus departure times. Without looking they said the first bus is 8:30 am. Since this was too late for me I arrived at the bus station at 7:45 - to find the 7:50 bus to Zhuhai was just boarding, but I was too late for a seat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

First of all, thank you for your recent visit in February this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience upon checking the local bus schedule with our Front Desk staff. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews