We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
194
405
89
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
405
89
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguangzhou east railway stationhong kongeastern foodexcellent locationconvenient locationunderground shopping malltwo blocksstar hotelstayed for nightsbusiness hotelchinese restauranthotel is locatedfamily martclean roomsthe room was nicepleasant staycanton fair
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 712 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the third time in two years. The rooms are the same but the executive club isn't worth the extra money for what you get. The breakfast was the most disappointing, it is nowhere near as good as it was two years ago. Service is also now lacking. Luckily it has location on its side

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markj066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

First of all, thank you for your recent visit in March this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience with our Executive Floor services. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is a part of a Chinese mid-high range hotel chain, located conveniently next to the East train station (which links with Hong Kong). Its 3-4 minutes from the metro too. The rooms were modern and comfortable with all required amenities. However all Standard Rooms face an under construction skyscraper so no views. The Breakfast was very elaborate though limited options for vegetarians. Bathroom was clean and functional though a tad small. Overall, i'll give a thumbs up to this property. An at $90/night (with Breakfast), it was a bargain too.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the plaza, but you will have to pay more for those since all standard rooms face the other side.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U_Bhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay occassionally at the Jianguo Hotel. It is a very comfortable, well-located 4 star hotel. I have no complaints about the room or the breakfast. However yet again I was let down by the lack of local knowledge by the desk clerks. I wish they would admit to lack of knowledge!
Due to a delayed flight I had to stay the night in GZ unexpectedly and needed to get to Zhuhai veyr early the next morning. The desk clerks were not busy when I checked in a midnight so I asked if they could look up bus departure times. Without looking they said the first bus is 8:30 am. Since this was too late for me I arrived at the bus station at 7:45 - to find the 7:50 bus to Zhuhai was just boarding, but I was too late for a seat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

First of all, thank you for your recent visit in February this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience upon checking the local bus schedule with our Front Desk staff. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip w/ family. Location - right next to the East Railway Stn with Lines 1 & 3 connection so very easy to move around and convenient too since we took a train fr/to HK! Hotel provided free shuttle service to places of interest such as Beijing Street and Grandview mall. Staff - very nice & accommodating. Fast check-in/check-out! Rooms - booked 3 rooms, clean and big with all the amenities. However, kinda poor wi-fi connection in the rooms. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor with city view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinggay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was a good experience. It is right outside the East railway station( we were travelling from HK), the check-in was fast, the staff speaks English and are very supportive,they even accepted HK dollars for deposit since we didn't have Chinese Yuan.
The rooms are adequately sized with all modern amenities, the beds could be a little more comfortable though. Overall cleanliness of the hotel was good including the lobby toilets.The breakfast was ample and had many vegetarian options which took us by surprise because we had expected to eat toast and butter. The mall on the other side of the road (Poh Mall, I think) has this restaurant called FG fine foods which had quite good vegetarian selections and reasonably priced too.

Guangzhou is a new city with a lot of sparkling additions, the streets are lined with trees and make for a good walk. We found some delightful treats on these streets like sugar cane juice, steamed corn and hot Nan bread topped with sesame fresh from a mobile tandoor cart!(outside grand view mall). This was beyond our expectation :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews