We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$116
$111
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
193
405
88
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
405
88
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguangzhou east railway stationhong kongeastern foodexcellent locationconvenient locationunderground shopping malltwo blocksstar hotelstayed for nightschinese restaurantbusiness hotelhotel is locatedfamily martclean roomsthe room was nicepleasant staycanton fair
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 710 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Sometimes you don't really care for opulence, nor luxury, just a simple value for money hotel. The location is very close to the GZ east train station. About 3 minutes walk, make it 5 minutes if you are of a more relaxed walking pace.
The hotel is clean, which is always a bonus. The check in and checking out procedure efficient.
The beds hard, as with most Chinese hotels.
This is strictly a travelers/business hotel - not for a romantic getaways for two.
the price of around 70USD a night is very reasonable.
One negative- the menu is overpriced, and my 5 year old can cook better- so eat out, and sleep in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family, location wise this hotel is 5 mins walk to Guangzhou East station from where you can get connected to Shenzhen and then Hongkong, check-in was ok..post check-in one over smart bell boy almost took my luggage forcefully and demanded tip against it when we entered room.. That time I was not carrying much local currency, so just offered him just 5 Yuan, upon that he gave me a long lecture on minimum tipping standards in China...hotel management should make such bell boys understand first that any guest voluntarily gives tips if Guest is happy with the services..and tips are not suppose to be demanded..room was spacious and clean..room had a mini bar too but prices are exorbitantly high..I would suggest visiting Jusco super market just opposite to the hotel for anyone's need of soda or beer or chips..next day we went for break fast in hotel's restaurant on 2nd floor I guess, there after I was informed that I am eligible to get only one complimentary break-fast though I have booked a room for two people...while booking I didn't see any option to select break-fast for two people else I would have selected that option.. I was given an option to pay on the spot for that day's break fast but I dint select it as their staff had already started winding up brk-fast food stalls by 10.15 am..in mean time i took a sip of an orange juice from my partner's glass..this was noticed by one of their restaurant manager..he straight away came to my table.. took away all spoons, forks dishes in front of me so that I should not eat from my partner's break fast...I found this behavior very insulting..I wonder restaurant staff is trained for such type of Hospitality?? I wanted to convey this to front desk but again they had very limited English understanding..and finally I gave up...These back to back incidences spoiled my stay at this hotel..Dont feel like recommending this hotel to foreigners..if you speak Chines things might be better with you..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joshi_aniket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in September 2012. I was encouraged to book by the favourable reviews on this site. The location was important to enable a day return trip by train from Guangzhou East station to Shenzhen. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station.

Taking the advice of other posters, we booked an executive level room with a plaza view and were not disappointed with the choice (bearing in mind the city landscape is not very visually appealing). Also, we booked directly with the hotel via their website and encountered no difficulties doing this.

Check-in and check-out were easy and the executive lounge attendant was friendly. Breakfast was in their large restaurant on the ground floor and the choice of food was excellent.

As the hotel is very close to the metro station for lines 1 and 3, much of Guangzhou is easily accessible and the train service is excellent and inexpensive. For shoppers there is large underground mall, anchored by Japanese giant retailer Jusco, beneath the nearby plaza and bus terminal.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room with "plaza view"
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel while on a business trip to Guangzhou. It's a nice hotel to come back to after a crazy day out in mind boggling Guangzhou.

Pros:
- Good reception & door staff, all English speaking. Check-in was fast & professional.
- Room & bathroom is modern, comfortable & clean (a big relief from the buzz & dust of the outside).
- Free wifi.
- Good range of TV channels (50+).
- Fantastic buffet breakfast spread which gives us a great start to our day, full range from hot to cold, western to eastern.
- Good location: opposite Guangzhou Eastern Railway Station (which is convenient for those needing trains to move around), Starbucks is here too as well as some other international fast food chains (some staff speak good English here)
- 100m to Guangzhou's IKEA store which is great for IKEA fans (can request for English speaking staff here too).

Cons:
- poorly patronised F&B outlets (except for breakfast), so take that as a sign to go elsewhere. Dinner in the Chinese restaurant was measly and very expensive. Service was slow although we were the only diners there.
- Bed is a bit too hard, pillows are too soft.
- Shower has weak water pressure.
- Only 1 universal power outlet at desk which is hardly sufficient so bring an adaptor.
- Bedroom's light switches are inconvenient to use.
- Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so request front facing rooms.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so request front facing rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mummytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Jianguo Hotel is the ideal hotel for everybody. If you are here for the Canton Fair (as me) or as a tourist, you will find the central location of Jianguo Hotel ideal for your activities.
The hotel is just 50m away from the Guangzhou East Railway Station, which is a metro station on line 1. From here, you can easily reach the Canton Fair (Panzhou ) , visit Canton Tower and enjoy the city´s skyline on Pearl River (Chigang Pagoda) or go shopping on Bejing Rd Pedestrian Street (Gongyuanqian) - some of them even without having to change line.
It is also easy to get there from the airport. Just take line 1 from the airport and you reach Guangzhou East Railway Station after 10 stops – take exit F and turn to your left, it is 50m to the hotel. It is less than 1,-€ and takes approx. 30 minutes, same as the hotel bus leaving in front of the airport which is 21 Yuan (3,-€) which is a good alternative if you arrive after 11:00pm and metro is not running anymore. Don´t take the taxis they offer to you inside the airport, they ask 70,-€/100 USD to get you downtown which is just a rip-off! The airport buses run between 5:45am and 1:00am so you should not be forced to take a taxi even if you arrive too late for the metro. Also, just change little money at the airport exchange counter. They offer a very bad exchange rate and take a huge commission so only change what you need to get to your hotel. If you visit Canton Fair you find a bank there (don´t forget to bring your passport) as well as many other services (flights, ferry/train/coach tickets to Hongkong,etc.).

The hotel itself is a 4****hotel with nicely furnished rooms and all the amendities you expect such as pool, international breakfast buffet and choice of various restaurants for the evening. Dinner though is very expensive both for the Japanese or international buffet restaurant (43,-€/ 55 USD) but if you are looking for a cheap alternative just get opposite the hotel into the Coach Terminal and walk through it, you will find Mc Donalds, KFC and some little Chinese stalls. If you walk left of the hotel you find IKEA and opposite a small plaza with Pizza Hut. If you get into the Metro station and take exit G you find Popark, a small mall with shops and a few small restaurants from pizza to sushi and baked potatos.

I did find it easy to get around with the metro but it was vital that the hotel was located that close to a station as it is still difficult to find Chinese people which you can ask for directions. Very few speak English and are able to help you if you need some information. Also at the hotel reception they were not able to answer questions apart from their daily routine topics. So better be well prepared when leaving the hotel. I used the internet in the room (sadly no WLAN but cable) to get all relevant information and fortunately you can access the tripadvisor page in China. Stayed 5 nights and the only bad thing I can say is that my room on the non-smoking floor was the worst smoke-smelling room I encountered in whole my life but at 2:00am I did not want to change rooms and it got better day by day. Breakfast is served until 10:30 am and during Canton fair there is a bus service in the morning (9:00-10:30) and again in the afternoon (4:30 - 7:00pm) to/from fairground.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews