We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
193
406
89
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
406
89
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guangzhou east railway station hong kong eastern food excellent location convenient location underground shopping mall two blocks star hotel stayed for nights business hotel chinese restaurant hotel is located family mart clean rooms the room was nice pleasant stay canton fair
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 712 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in September 2012. I was encouraged to book by the favourable reviews on this site. The location was important to enable a day return trip by train from Guangzhou East station to Shenzhen. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station.

Taking the advice of other posters, we booked an executive level room with a plaza view and were not disappointed with the choice (bearing in mind the city landscape is not very visually appealing). Also, we booked directly with the hotel via their website and encountered no difficulties doing this.

Check-in and check-out were easy and the executive lounge attendant was friendly. Breakfast was in their large restaurant on the ground floor and the choice of food was excellent.

As the hotel is very close to the metro station for lines 1 and 3, much of Guangzhou is easily accessible and the train service is excellent and inexpensive. For shoppers there is large underground mall, anchored by Japanese giant retailer Jusco, beneath the nearby plaza and bus terminal.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room with "plaza view"
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel while on a business trip to Guangzhou. It's a nice hotel to come back to after a crazy day out in mind boggling Guangzhou.

Pros:
- Good reception & door staff, all English speaking. Check-in was fast & professional.
- Room & bathroom is modern, comfortable & clean (a big relief from the buzz & dust of the outside).
- Free wifi.
- Good range of TV channels (50+).
- Fantastic buffet breakfast spread which gives us a great start to our day, full range from hot to cold, western to eastern.
- Good location: opposite Guangzhou Eastern Railway Station (which is convenient for those needing trains to move around), Starbucks is here too as well as some other international fast food chains (some staff speak good English here)
- 100m to Guangzhou's IKEA store which is great for IKEA fans (can request for English speaking staff here too).

Cons:
- poorly patronised F&B outlets (except for breakfast), so take that as a sign to go elsewhere. Dinner in the Chinese restaurant was measly and very expensive. Service was slow although we were the only diners there.
- Bed is a bit too hard, pillows are too soft.
- Shower has weak water pressure.
- Only 1 universal power outlet at desk which is hardly sufficient so bring an adaptor.
- Bedroom's light switches are inconvenient to use.
- Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so request front facing rooms.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so request front facing rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mummytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Jianguo Hotel is the ideal hotel for everybody. If you are here for the Canton Fair (as me) or as a tourist, you will find the central location of Jianguo Hotel ideal for your activities.
The hotel is just 50m away from the Guangzhou East Railway Station, which is a metro station on line 1. From here, you can easily reach the Canton Fair (Panzhou ) , visit Canton Tower and enjoy the city´s skyline on Pearl River (Chigang Pagoda) or go shopping on Bejing Rd Pedestrian Street (Gongyuanqian) - some of them even without having to change line.
It is also easy to get there from the airport. Just take line 1 from the airport and you reach Guangzhou East Railway Station after 10 stops – take exit F and turn to your left, it is 50m to the hotel. It is less than 1,-€ and takes approx. 30 minutes, same as the hotel bus leaving in front of the airport which is 21 Yuan (3,-€) which is a good alternative if you arrive after 11:00pm and metro is not running anymore. Don´t take the taxis they offer to you inside the airport, they ask 70,-€/100 USD to get you downtown which is just a rip-off! The airport buses run between 5:45am and 1:00am so you should not be forced to take a taxi even if you arrive too late for the metro. Also, just change little money at the airport exchange counter. They offer a very bad exchange rate and take a huge commission so only change what you need to get to your hotel. If you visit Canton Fair you find a bank there (don´t forget to bring your passport) as well as many other services (flights, ferry/train/coach tickets to Hongkong,etc.).

The hotel itself is a 4****hotel with nicely furnished rooms and all the amendities you expect such as pool, international breakfast buffet and choice of various restaurants for the evening. Dinner though is very expensive both for the Japanese or international buffet restaurant (43,-€/ 55 USD) but if you are looking for a cheap alternative just get opposite the hotel into the Coach Terminal and walk through it, you will find Mc Donalds, KFC and some little Chinese stalls. If you walk left of the hotel you find IKEA and opposite a small plaza with Pizza Hut. If you get into the Metro station and take exit G you find Popark, a small mall with shops and a few small restaurants from pizza to sushi and baked potatos.

I did find it easy to get around with the metro but it was vital that the hotel was located that close to a station as it is still difficult to find Chinese people which you can ask for directions. Very few speak English and are able to help you if you need some information. Also at the hotel reception they were not able to answer questions apart from their daily routine topics. So better be well prepared when leaving the hotel. I used the internet in the room (sadly no WLAN but cable) to get all relevant information and fortunately you can access the tripadvisor page in China. Stayed 5 nights and the only bad thing I can say is that my room on the non-smoking floor was the worst smoke-smelling room I encountered in whole my life but at 2:00am I did not want to change rooms and it got better day by day. Breakfast is served until 10:30 am and during Canton fair there is a bus service in the morning (9:00-10:30) and again in the afternoon (4:30 - 7:00pm) to/from fairground.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really cant fault this hotel in all aspect, the check in and check-out was smooth and request of late check-out for 2 hours was granted with no question asked, Jianguo is kind of old fashion 4-5 star hotel, as hotel was built more than 10 years ago.
Everything works, clean, decent size room, the wifi is rather slow compare with 2 other hotels that i stayed in Guangzhou during the same trip.
The chamber maid offered bed turning service which is rare in most 4 to 5 star hotel, refilled the bathroom amenities and also asked whether any laundry service needed.
I did not had the breakfast so is not able to comment on the service and quality.
With the Subway Station just opposite the Hotel, you are actually close to everywhere and there are many eateries and shopping just opposite the Hotel.
Overall is a pleasant stay and i don't mind going back for my stay even though there are so many new hotel sprouting out there in Guangzhou.

Room Tip: From the subway and bus station just across the street, you can go almost anywhere so conveniently, airport, Shenzhen, Dongguan or even Hong Kong.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1926HeritageH0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really cant fault this hotel in all aspect, the check in and check-out was smooth and request of 2 hour late check-out was granted with no question asked, Jianguo is kind of old fashion 4-5 star hotel, as hotel was built more than 10 years ago.
Everything works, clean, decent size room, the wifi is rather slow compare with 2 other hotels that i stayed in Guangzhou during the same trip.
The chamber maid offered bed turning service which is rare in most 4 to 5 star hotel, refilled the bathroom amenities and also asked whether any laundry service needed.
I did not had the breakfast so is not able to comment on the service and quality.
With the Subway Station just opposite the Hotel, you are actually close to everywhere and there are many eateries and shopping just opposite the Hotel.
Overall is a pleasant stay and i don't mind going back for my stay even though there are so many new hotel sprouting out there in Guangzhou.

Room Tip: Room facing the Railway Station offer better view, room behind facing a construction site of super condo though the sound proofing is good to guarantee you a good sleep
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1926HeritageHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews