We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Cannes, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed four nights in a King room on a high floor. All the staff speak English are very helpful with suggesting city sights/locations. Breakfast is wonderful with many choices. The dumplings at breakfast are really good. Checked in late - not a problem. The train station and metro are across the street. Free bottled water every day. Many bathroom amenities provided. Leave the toothbrush and razor at home. We ate at local restaurants only. (not listed on TripAdvisor) Still waiting for TripAdvisor's approval to post them. We were two and ate for 98RMB the first night and 89RMB the second night (entrees, plates, tea included). The hotel restaurants were empty and more expensive. I don't usually eat in hotels. I didn't use room service. Bed was firm and best for the back. Comforter and pillows were plush. The pool was a bit small but nice for dip. The sauna was good. Mini fridge in the room. Hot water kettle with coffee and tea provided.
Foreign TV stations include HBO,CNN,Bloomberg,TV5 Monde (French). This company is opening many more hotels and I can understand why people like them. Service is exceptional. I would not hesitate to book with Jinguo again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoideVivre06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    366
    83
    15
    4
See reviews for
47
41
42
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was on this occasion travelling alone, a single woman
used their wifi of course
Hotel centrally located, staff got me taxis to get everywhere and pre-printed hotel cards which got me where I wanted, and helped my safe return to the hotel
I had a "superior "double room which was appointed to the level I expected, breakfast (included) offered a choice of Western Chinese and Japanese and was of excellent quality
I had a meal "à la carte" at the Grand Café which was excellent
The staff treated me correctly at all time, English is not their first language nor is it mine, and their patience was great.
They recommended the evening cruise on the Pearl River and I chose the Chinese diner: well worth it
I also went to the Beijing street pedestrian mall, the Memorial to Sun Yat-sen, and of course the stunning Canton Tower
In short the staff helped make a short stopover of three days in their city, a memorable one notwithstanding my jet lag - I was coming from Paris onto Sydney - and my non-existent Chinese

Room Tip: mine on the 26th floor had a nice city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Overall experience is quite good, except that since we did not travel by train or subway, traveling to the downtown area where most of the areas of interests are located took around 15 to 20 minutes by taxi.
Since we forgotten to bring the key for 1 of our luggage, the customer service was able to arrange for somebody to help us immediately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed one night between flying in from Shanghai and catching the train to Hong Kong so the location at the Guangzhou East Railway Station was perfect. While hotels in Guangzhou seem to be fairly expensive, we though the Jianguo was good value, especially with the very wide range of breakfast items included in our room rate. The room was large and well fitted out. We caught the metro from the airport to the station and were a bit confused as there seemed to be two Jianguo hotels with signs to different station exits. It turned out that the hotel has moved slightly along the station approach road so either exit is OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Only stayed in this hotel for one night. Overall experience is very good.

I went to Guangzhou from Hong Kong by train. It is situated about 150m from the train station. It is very accessible.

The first impression upon reaching the hotel is great as I see many Chinese at the Hotel. It means it is great thats why their own people visits it.

Reception staff also speaks great English n re very friendly.

Was given a high floor room. View was great too. Clean ++. Bed was very firm. Very good for my back.

I would recommend this hotel to all!

Only improvement is that the hotel should give better direction on where to exit from the train station or put up signs at the lobby.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Jianguo twice when attending the canton fair.

This review is based on a Westerner taking a business trip, visiting the canton fair

- Good price for the location, quality and being showtime, be advised Guangzhou wide prices are higher when canton fairs are on. Keep this is mind if you are a tourist.
- Great location, 3 minute walk from the HK-Guangzhou and metro train station,
- On top of a Western Style shopping mall which will have any food, drink, clothing you could possibly need.
- Nothing seems to be to much of an ask for the staff.
- Buffet breakfast is excellent, buffet lunch was disapointing. Fill up in the morning, western food at the canton fair is junk.
- Quality free in room internet connection allowed me to call home and work in the evenings using skype / voip phone.

My top tips for first time canton fair attenders staying here:
- Use the FREE shuttle bus to the fair. Takes about 20 minutes and ideal to get you to the show until you learn you way around the excellent metro system.
- Get your show pass at the hotel, idealy the evening you arrive, if not get it there in the morning. You will have to que! BUT it will be ALLOT shorter and cooler than queing at the show.
- Go bed and breakfast when booking, the international buffet breakfast is excellent, perfect to get filled up ready for a long day at the show. But expensive if you go "pay as you go", works out out half the price if booked with the room.
- In the evenings eat at the mall, everything from fast food to fine diner, all the crap we have at home to.

Room Tip: If a non smaker, request a non smoking room. Rooms on higher floor avoid city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

3 minutes walk to Guangzhou East Rail Station and metro, with underground shopping mall, many eating places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
6.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
1.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leeden Hotel
Leeden Hotel
#32 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#25 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
300 reviews
5.8 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#31 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#28 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing