We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars??, maybe when opened.”
Review of Pearl Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl Garden Hotel
Ranked #1,554 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is downtown in an industrial area. I had stayed here before for extended stays but anymore then a night is painful now.
Check in is always a problem, it is like they have never checked a guest in before, even on the executive floor it takes 2 to 3 people to get you checked in. English is an issue everywhere in this hotel.
The hallways have an odor of mold, and the rooms aren't much better. The rooms are big and not bad but old and worn. The air conditioning is very poor on hot summer days.
Some rooms actually have an old computer in them for use, and every single room has a wifi router in it which really causes issues due to overload. Internet is slow if anything.

The lobby bar is small but the help tries hard, in the summer it is full of mosquito's (yes inside) and the girls walk around with electronic fly swatters trying to coral them.

The restaurant/buffet upstairs is probably the best around, but that's not saying much. I prefer the McDonalds a block away. For breakfast it is OK, but dinner is not a great experience.

I would recommend the drive to another hotel if you need to stay for more the one or two nights.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrislorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

We attended to the Canton Fair this Oct and we stayed at Pearl Garden Hotel Guangzhou. The hotel is nice and the staff is also very helpful and make your trip easier, english again is the problem to communicate with them. Anyway, I think the main problem of the hotel is the distance from the City Center, which make it harder to go from Downtown to the Hotel or other places make it 1-2 hrs trip from anywhere interesting to see in Guangzhou. If you are in business and not much interested in leisure is OK, you can handle it, but if you want to enjoy the city, choose something closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Two nights at this hotel... it is near my local office but not close to anything worth sightseeing. The room was lovely- very large! Biggest buffet breakfast I have ever seen was included in the price. Dinner buffet also huge, but pricey- about RMB 200. Free broadband in the room as well. Hard bed, but a big bed. Bath robes and slippers, mini bar with space for your own drinks. There is a small grocery store and a McDonalds within a 3 minute walk, but again not much else. The biggest disappointment was that the front desk staff appeared to have very limited English skills. For a hotel that was rated highly for "intelligent business" I expected a bit more from the desk staff, including the managers. Aside from that, no complaints!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Pearl garden is located in a very pleasant locality. The rooms are excellent , the amnities are adequate and good dning facilities,
For Exhibition visitors special arrangement of drop offs and pick ups. airport buses from the hotel itself. Convenient stores like seven eleven are located very close by.

One of the problems is understanding of English by the reception girls---needs a lot of improvement.
Over all a very satisfying experience

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

This was my 12th visit to China and 1st to Guangzhou; I’ve lost count of the number of hotels that I have stayed at.

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be comparable with many of the hotels experienced in China.

The room, on the business floor, was large with a seating area with separate TV, additional toilet and a business desk with broadband connection, even its own computer loaded with the full Microsoft suite of software. Two large floor to ceiling windows so I could watch the chaos that is China unfold outside.

All sounds good but, the bed was typically Chinese and too hard, the shower in the bathroom was such low pressure that I had to keep moving to get wet and the television only had the customary CNN channel for English speaking visitors.

Clean and spacious, but looked tired although I was told it had recently been refurbished.

The Western buffet restaurant had a huge array of food to choose from, the same every night although the choice meant that we were able to eat something different each night.

However, the Chinese typically provide all the facilities but miss some salient points, for example, the grill bbq allowed guests to choose their own steak / Chicken / fish which was grilled while they waited. Easy, no, not if your chicken breast is fried next to a large fish and the chicken tastes of fish by the time it’s cooked.

Good selection of red wine, our bottle was presented at the table, sampled and accepted as is the ritual the world over. It was then poured into a bucket of ice and topped up with Sprite……………the chaos when we sent the lot back was, again, typically Chinese, countless kitchen and bar staff / management shouting amongst themselves over the apparent mistake.

Eventually replaced and enjoyed, it was a good bottle of wine.

Staff were very courtious and their genuine efforts to be polite and speak English is charming.

For the money it was a good hotel, unfortunately the Chinese have a knack of offering the facilities to entice the Western business traveller, they just haven’t quite grasped how to deliver.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Welshman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: que no esté cerca de los ascensores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomingoS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YOCHIMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#30 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Garden Hotel

Address: No.368 Kaifa Avenue, Guangzhou Economic & Technological Development District, Guangzhou 510730, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,554 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $52 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pearl Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Pearl Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing