We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy place to be for several hours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guangzhou Zoo

Guangzhou Zoo
Ranked #34 of 703 things to do in Guangzhou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This the largest zoo in South China with over 2,000 animals including the giant panda.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Easy place to be for several hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Attended with my wife and 5-year-old. I have been to a lot of zoos, and this one is above average. It is clean and well priced, although like all zoos in China you will find extra fees inside the zoo to see certain animals or enter specific areas.

The goldfish area is a bit odd, but my kid loved it. So that's that. We also caught a Chinese acrobat-family show that was very entertaining.

Overall, this zoo is much easier to get to than the others in the area. And, because of it's price, cleanliness, and wide variety of animals, it gets a "very good" rating from me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kcemail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    116
    69
    18
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pandas were lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Children will enjoy this zoo , it has a special part for baby animal .
It's clean area and you can shop your favorit animal doll.
You can find the water park next to it.

Helpful?
Thank L54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to visit with or without children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Visited Guangzhou Zoo in December 2011 with my partner / fiancé. We both had a fantastic time and took plenty of pictures. Whether your visiting the zoo with or without children you'll be sure to have a tremendous time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GrantMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hard to be positive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I am no animal rights activist, but this was hard to witness. I am a fairly even keeled and positive reviewer, so to sum it up - we made the best of the park, but we did not stay very long. I tried to make the best of the situation with the kids so that we could make the most of the visit, but it was a challenge. And most of the problem I had was with the other people visiting the park. Some of the zoo itself was ok and nice, but some of the conditions for the animals were deplorable and then people were throwing things at the animals to get their attention or to get a reaction, and even though all of the signs said do not feed or pester the animals that is just what they did. I think that is what aggrivated me the most. Yes, some of the animals were in areas with algea filled water and there wasn't much "habitat" except dirt and some hay they threw down, but not all was negative. We were able to feed the giraffs with some branches of leaves sold by the zookeepers, and see the panda being fed which was cool. There was a wide variety of birds there which was pretty neat and they did have some small carnival type rides and some nice ponds with fountains, but we cut the visit short. It was a holiday, so there was a large number of people there, and it might not be so bad with fewer people. The disrespect and behavior of the people really bothered me. All I could think about was that video in the news several years ago when those guys got mauled by that tiger after the crowd was harrassing them. Hence, we did not stay more than about 1.5 hours and walked swiftly........

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sui5te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old zoon in a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

With the admission fee RMB 20 only and easily accessed by metro, me and my husband spent about 2hrs for a quick visit to the zoo. Since this zoo has been built for quite some time, you can see the facilities and stuff are quite old. But not a bad option if you are tired of the busy city life. One tip from me is DON'T purchase the so-called 'package admission', because they just don't worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank iptam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guangzhou Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Guangzhou Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing