We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest of the LidoHotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guangyong Lido Hotel
Ranked #1,534 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 27, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 366 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 27, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 26, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 11, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

PROS
*Lido Hotel is situated at the centre of shopping Places.
*With Great food restaurants at another alley.
*15 minutes walk to the City River view at night where you can eat food in the boat.
*clubbing is only 15 minutes walk away

CONS
But do not try the service of tour in the Hotel. tour guide service is lousy. and the bus driver is stingy. worst of all, they do not send you back to hotel after the tour. dropping you at another area and expecting you to travel back to hotel by yourself. LOUSY SERVICE.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teetach2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 1, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

I would assume that this hotel got its three stars rating from where it is located in Guangzhou (right in the heart of Beijing Road) and not of the environment of the rooms.

Just to start off and give an overview, the hotel reception area is decent for a three star (however has only the bare necessities to make it a three star hotel, i have personally seen some hotels which is also three stars and the place has been decorated extravagantly.). The waiting time to check in was average (note: i came to check in almost at 6pm Guangzhou time so this may be different *the place was empty*)

Ok the rooms:
I booked two rooms so i will be giving a mixture of my thoughts to both of the rooms i had. I was given the two rooms on the 13th floor (scary isnt it). One room had a very distinct moudly smell to it (such that the floors wasnt cleaned properly and was rotting). The other room i had was not moudly but their air-conditioner system was not working (so basically the room was extremely hot even though it is meant to be somewhat cold in this country.). For the room which did not have a functional air-conditioning system, i called up reception to have someone fix this problem and i am still waiting for him to arrive ;).

A general review of the hotel rooms:
I would say that the rooms are very old fashioned. The furniture is mainly wooden. The wallpaper on the walls are cracked, the air conditioner is somewhat dusty.

The bathroom has all the necessities you would need (such as towels, combs, tumbler and toothbrush etc etc) but lack some extras which other hotels offer. (Like a facetowel, "hair towel") all the hotel gives you is just two towels. There are two dispensers on the side of the wall which dispenses out liquid soap and shampoo. The bathtub itself is very old as you can actually see the mould residue sticking to the side of the bathtub where the silicon mould should be. The tiles are also somewhat old with cracks in some places.

Other general things to note:
The water from the taps are not drinkable (it smells like bore water). Boil it

The main door in your room is not sound-proof so you can actually hear some people chatting nearby.

They lend you two umbrellas (you can find them in the room)

Not all floors is a smoke free zone (actually i am not sure of that) so there are some cases you will smell the odor of cigarettes nearby.

Be very very careful with the windows in the rooms. They are very unstable...

The ceiling of the bathroom is made of Styrofoam.

Beds and pillows are hard.

And sometimes their doorbell does not work.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Qualmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#46 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#45 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#71 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#25 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
0.4 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#185 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangyong Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangyong Lido Hotel

Address: No.182 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,534 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $47 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangyong Lido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangyong Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing