We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest Checkout Payment”
Review of Furtune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Furtune Hotel
Ranked #168 of 3,447 Hotels in Guangzhou
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dishonest Checkout Payment”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The title is referring to "Dynamic Currency conversion" for credit card processing. The hotel can process your card by converting the currency rate to your home country currency first, usually at a much unfavorable rate to the card holder. This is legal, but it's pretty much a scam. I paid about more than 10% higher than if I paid the transaction in local currency. When I asked the hotel clerk not to use this option, she just played ignorance, saying that US card holders must pay in US Currency. She said I could pay cash if I wanted. Since I was on my way to Hong Kong, I didn't have time to deal with this, nor had time withdraw 5,000RMB nearby. I just paid it. I pretty much paid an extra night of stay.

The hotel itself has adequate service with excellent location -- considering it's closed to a subway station and plenty of restaurants and shopping destinations within walking distance. The room is quite spacious. Breakfast comes with the room; choices are very limited and most items are mediocre Chinese food. While Internet is free, it has the great "firewall" of China where I can't access things like facebook. Other 4/5 stars hotels that I stayed at had open Internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaadopted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    101
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
2
3
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Blocked 2 rooms for the canton fair in the main hotel out of sheer familiarity since this was my 4th time. The front desk allotted a nightmare of a room in a building right at the back called the fortune apartment, it was everything a 'room' should not be. Since it was 1am I did not protest.
The next day I took up the issue with the front desk and they refused to move me to the main tower unless I pay RMB 350 more than what is mentioned in my hotel voucher, absolute cheats, they finally settled for RMB 200 per day per room. The overall atmosphere is 'take t or leave it'. The breakfast is very basic and manageable but not for too many days, everything drips with oil/fat. I will never come back nor will I recommend to anyone. There seems to be no improvement or efforts towards it. Though this was my 4th time here, it would surely be my last. The Royal Mediterranean is a far better option just across the road.

Room Tip: What tip can one give when a official hotel voucher is not accepted and more money is demanded for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indrajitkalidasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This stay was for a classmate reunion. I flew all way from USA for this reunion and had to stay at this hotel (Guangwu Hotel). Check in was relatively quick at 11:00 pm. The internet was free. Each of the elevators have separate buttons to push. You can test your intelligence every time when you come down to the lobby floor. The room is just smoking although it was a nonsmoking room, I guess. The breakfast was so so for Chinese foods, let alone the western foods. The worst part of my experience is the check out experience. It was not in any order (multiple lines). No pre-checkout bill was provided and all checkout procedure was done manually (i.e., we are not in computer yet!!!). The room was not quiet at all. You can hear the constant noise from Tianhe Road because of its busy traffic. The only thing that the hotel is attractive is that it is very close to a subway station, which is less than one hour from the airport. But it will not be for me next time. I would rather choose a western-chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMXlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is my third time in this hotel.. Last time the construction had made the whole place a mess, but once inside the place was perfect.. This time though the new lobby has been completed.. The rooms & toilets are spacious/clean/luxurious as usual (which is hat made me come back). The location is a great advantage.
The rest of the place stinks.. The breakfast is like street food.. Absolutely unfit for consumption.. This place needs to be shut down and reopened after all the renovation is completed with some professional management.. The reception is manned by young girls who have no clue on the check in procedures & waste a lot of time consulting with their superiors.. Rooms service has no knowledge of English at all..
I am sure there are much better options in & around the central district of Guangzhou

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indrajitkalidasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on a recent visit to China. I wouldn't class the facilities as good enough for a B&B, breakfast was excluded by the way. The room was very old and the bed mattress was rock hard, probably ok if you have severe back problems, if not you will end up with some.

The toilet was in the shower!! Our room (a suite) seems to have been divided from another guest room post construction and we could hear every word our neighbours uttered.The restaurants were overpriced in my opinion.

On the positive side, the staff like most of the Chinese we encountered were eager to help and made a good stab at English.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PesoMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Regular prices for a room is about RMB 260, I was charged RMB 880 for a double standard room, and no breakfast, during Canton Fair Season.
The staff was friendy during checking. The Hotel has 2 blocks, the main block is old. My room was in the old building. My room was small, I think all rooms must be redecorated. The beds are, just enought for 1 person and not comfortable. There is a pocket size bathroom, like the bathroom of the stateroom in a ship. There is no separated area for the shower.
I just returned from a 5 stars Hotel in Dongguan that charged me just RMB 80 more, and included a breakfast buffet. Definetely there are better choice during Canton Fair season. This hotel just worth RMB 260.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
President Hotel
#69 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
426 reviews
La Perle International Hotel
#61 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
100 reviews
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#54 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#91 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
39 reviews
Kai Man Hotel
#115 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furtune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furtune Hotel

Property: Furtune Hotel
Address: No.603 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510630, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 3,447 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furtune Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good location, perfect facilities and Low Price! Fortune Hotel will give you warm service without borders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furtune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing