We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overrated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #50 of 3,047 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

First the hotel is located far away from dowmntown guanghzou.the rooms are very large,but is not maintained.the furniture is scratched And the carpet is stained.the lobby is huge with a lot a marble and granit.after one night we moved to another hotel close to dowmntown

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kukymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    186
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
6
6
8
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had a chance to stay at this hotel for two nights recently. The hotel has a very opportune site, however, has not been utilised to delight the customer. There is a very large scope to do something great here, given the location....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

There is a reason why this website is a success, and that is because there is candid reviews by actual patrons of establishments, and not just clever marketing at work..

This property could be very nice, but it is mismanaged, not maintained, over-run with rats, and the 5 star rating had to have been a bribe.

carpets are stained, air conditioning hardly works, rock hard beds, food is terrible..

in the evening there is a lobby restaurant, and i saw a rat run across the carpet..

in my room there was crown mouldings that ran the two long walls of the room, and i heard mice or some kind of rodents run back and forth.. i even threw french fries up there and could hear them eat..

it's the second worst place i've stayed at in china..

if the property were maintained and managed like a world class hotel, it could be, the geography and infrastructure is there, its just run down and out of control...

it is convenient if you need to be in this area, but have avoided staying at the phoenix, and now commute to this area from the shangrila downtown..

the only pro for this hotel is that there is a McDonald that isn't far, and you can order delivery right to your room.. Order extra fries to feed the rats! if nothing else it is entertaining..

across the street in the park by the lake, there is two restaurants, a bbq place that is open really late, rats running all around, as it is hardly lit with small canopy covered tables, and a japanese restaurant at which i saw one evening when a rat actually ran through the open kitchen, all the workers were running after it..

unless you can't afford better, i would stay away.. commute as i do, the shangrila is a respectable chain in china with true star ratings..

Room Tip: ask for a room with no rats and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LjekovitMetak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice lobby, and the rooms are large. But the carpets in the room are stained, there was a dead roach in my bathroom and the breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannypickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbó SC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

It's one of the most perfect hotel that I have ever seen. That's perfect for who is attending the Canton Fair, there is shuttle buses and the reception is awesome. The staffs speak English very well, are very nice and Kindly. There is Gym and pool for free. I am sure I will stay here again next time. Indico para todos Brasileiros!! Muito bom hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EltonFedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just checked in for business. Can't beleive this is a 5 star hotel.

•mildew in the bathroom
•stains on the carpet
•peeling and stained wallpaper
•musty, damp smell in room
•non workig air conditioner

I'm afraid to take my shoes off in the room. This is what you get when someone else makes the reservation for you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyDerbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wow. It's like being in a grand palace in Italy... Only your in China....
From the second you pull up outside this hotel, you know it is something very special. Inside its INCREDIBLE! It's full of gold, marble, ceiling murals, etc...
There is a few interesting shops in the hotel too.
I'll get my small issues out of the way first. 1)The food isnt great, I'm Irish so noodles for breakfast and chicken feet for dinner isnt anything I would ever go for. 2) The staff speak VERY little english. 3)It's very out of the way in terms of location. About half an hour drive from the city.
The swimming pool was UNBELIEVABLE! I've never seen such a luxury pool in my life. Surrounded by beautiful lakes and gardens. There is also another pool inside. And a great wellness spa.
The rooms are nice and clean and modern with good space and a nice bathroom.
Good hotel if you are in town for the Canton fair as it's nice and quiet, comfortable, easy for work and also a free coach takes you to and from the fair. Would be amazing place to host clients/collegues.
Lots of little secret areas to explore too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a 'lake' view as its beautiful but remember to close your windows at night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_Halpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#35 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
18.8 mi away
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
#53 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brightest International Hotel Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
15.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#58 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
15.2 mi away
Guangzhou Grand International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Address: Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#30 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#44 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix City Guangzhou
Hotel Phoenix City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing