We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Breathtaking.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #50 of 3,300 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wow. It's like being in a grand palace in Italy... Only your in China....
From the second you pull up outside this hotel, you know it is something very special. Inside its INCREDIBLE! It's full of gold, marble, ceiling murals, etc...
There is a few interesting shops in the hotel too.
I'll get my small issues out of the way first. 1)The food isnt great, I'm Irish so noodles for breakfast and chicken feet for dinner isnt anything I would ever go for. 2) The staff speak VERY little english. 3)It's very out of the way in terms of location. About half an hour drive from the city.
The swimming pool was UNBELIEVABLE! I've never seen such a luxury pool in my life. Surrounded by beautiful lakes and gardens. There is also another pool inside. And a great wellness spa.
The rooms are nice and clean and modern with good space and a nice bathroom.
Good hotel if you are in town for the Canton fair as it's nice and quiet, comfortable, easy for work and also a free coach takes you to and from the fair. Would be amazing place to host clients/collegues.
Lots of little secret areas to explore too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a 'lake' view as its beautiful but remember to close your windows at night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_Halpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    189
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
6
7
8
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good location,calm,quite and comfortable place.just a little peoblem with food inside:-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubasik8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very nice hotel in a quite location, surrounded by beautiful gardens and spectacular pool. The hotel is somewhat remotely from Guangzhou center; however there is a shuttle bus to downtown for someone who likes to feel the pulse of the town. Rooms are very spacious, clean and with comfortable bed. The bathroom is spacious with separate tube and shower. On the down light inside the bathroom needs improvement. Decent breakfast, with a lot varieties selection for both western and oriental tastes. Try breakfast on the business floor where it is less crowdie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athstros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights Oct 2011 while attending Canton Fair.
Had been there about 8 years ago when it recently opened.
Accommodations are spacious and clean. Good breakfast buffet included in rate.
Free shuttle transportation to/from hotel/Pazhou convention center (45-50 min).
Hotel is pretty isolated, cab ride to Guangzhou areas of interest 45-60 min depending on traffic. Food at the restaurant is very regular, according to my western standards.
Again, it was an ok stay, OK for the price considering it's Canton fair, where prices go up. Next time I'll reserve ahead of time to get a hotel better located. Even though one is tired from walking the fair all day, GZ has many great things to see!
If possible, try not to miss the 2010 built GZ Opera House, designed by reknowned Iranian architect Zaha Hadid...... spectacular!!!

Room Tip: One not too far from the elevators!!! It's a big property and after walking al day, you just wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshallDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a very impressive looking hotel, with extensive marble and painted ceilings. Staff are polite and friendly and if you work hard you get a lovely smile. Tends to get a lot of Conference business as well as Trade Fair delegates and the room prices are certainly value for money for this level of hotel.
With one main dining restaurant and a single Chines Restaurant, it is certainly lacking in variety for a hotel with this number of rooms! For a Westerner, not versed in Chinese, the descriptions of the dishes in the Chinese restaurant are 'interesting'! I must try the braised tit!!
Internet connection is free and good coverage throughout the Hotel for WiFi, so Smartphones get well used for free.
My only gripe is this hotel is well away from Guangzhou, so when you tell people you have been to Guangzhou and they ask what it is like, I have to say I have not been to the city!

Room Tip: Hotel is huge and spread out in Wings, so asking for a room near the lifts will save a lot of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although a little way out from the City, this hotel is beautiful. We bought a Groupon package and took a coach directly from HK to the shuttle bus stop at Phoenix Village. The free shuttle bus takes you to the hotel in around 5-10 mins, so it was quite easy to get to. It is quite impressive inside. Rooms are big and very clean, with an ordinary room having two 4ft beds, and there is a very large bathroom. We requested connecting rooms and this wasn't a problem. We overlooked the mountains and lake and had a large balcony. Facilities are good, with a large outdoor pool and a decent sized indoor one. We stayed here with 2 other families for a weekend. All of us had kids and the children were happy to play in the pools. The food in the restaurants was ok and we tried both the buffet breakfast and the buffet dinner and also ate in the Chinese restaurant. There are 2 different Spa facilities and we went to the cheaper one. It was very clean and the massage was very good. We tried both full body massage and foot massage. Service was good and it's a good place to relax and you can always take the free shuttle bus and eat in the village if you want to eat out. Good for a relaxing weekend away from the City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BANOFFEE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Phoenix City is a pseudo-Venetian megahotel in the ‘burbs of the Guangzhou megalopolis - about half an hour by taxi from the city’s East railway station (make sure you get a metered taxi, definitely don’t prepay more than 100RMB). We stayed here for a couple of nights on a group-buying deal from Hong Kong, so no complaints about the price.

The room was stupidly spacious. The vast emptiness between bed and balcony could easily have held another king-size bed, though a sofa would have been nice to fill the gap. The bathroom was equally generous, offering both bath and shower. Unique touch: a glass-bottomed sink. I’ve never been able to look at my toes while washing my hands before, and I found it curiously disconcerting.

A large balcony overlooked the outdoor pool offering views across to the verdant hillside. Is this really Guangzhou? Could be Samui! (Except the full moon is orange because of the pollution.)

The outdoor pool is huge, though not deep, and wasn’t busy during the day. The indoor pool is a decent size too, and there’s a gym, karaoke and mahjong rooms, spa, and sauna to amuse. And a billiard room, which I couldn’t find.

Overall, the hotel has a cheesy charm: from the rows of customer-free shops displaying 1980’s fashions, to the medieval frescos on the reception ceiling, to the soft-rock pumped out during the breakfast buffet. It’s Macau without the ching! ching! ching! of the slot machines.

Not much to really dislike, though I toyed with two stars because it’s sometimes a bit shabby. The showers in the men’s changing rooms face the toilet stalls so there’s an ever-present smell of pee; the food was average, at best, and made unpleasant by the aforementioned soft rock at breakfast as well as live singing at dinner; I had wine stains on a tablecloth; and there was a smoker’s smelly residue in our room. Oh, and the Internet connection varied between fine and unusably slow.

But go in expecting adequacy and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#39 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
18.8 mi away
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
#66 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#29 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brightest International Hotel Guangzhou
20.0 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#56 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Address: Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#32 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#45 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix City Guangzhou
Hotel Phoenix City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing