We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, Convenient & Friendly!”
Review of W Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Guangzhou
Ranked #3 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stylish, Convenient & Friendly!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a long-stay guest I can vouch for the consistant, friendly, professional and efficient service at this property. A very present, involved and last but not least international hotel management team makes this hotel stand out in a very positive way from most other properties in the same genre I visited on mainland China.

The main restaurant of the hotel delivers a superbe breakfast, but also sumptious lunch and dinner buffets, and the hotels' Japanese restaurant is an amazing place for lunch and dinner - try the spicy tuna rolls, among the best I've ever tasted, anywhere in the world!!

My past experiences with W Hotels includes Paris, Honk-Kong, Barcelona and St. Petersburg - I can truthfully say that this property is at least as good, if not better than any of the before mentioned properties. Looking forward to return to the W Guangzhou upon my next passage to the city.

Room Tip: My last room was 1632 in the W Serviced Appartements, stayed almost 4 weeks in this one and was cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaInIdIrIeIaIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello Andreas L,

Thank you for the great review and it’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your time in “your home away from home” as our long-stay guest.

I’m happy that our service delivery has met your expectations and that you have liked our B&F venues and menus.

We look forward to welcome you back at W Guangzhou on your next trip.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    106
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
74
82
73
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

What an Island of style & design in the hustle and bustle of busy Guangzhou. Great stylish welcome by the team of GM Peter. This is the modern, unexpected trendy China with the touch of hip architecture we waited for so long. Exceptional bar and cigar lounge area, not to mention the trendy club Fei, designed with an outstanding spectacle of light by Japan's Aoyama Nomura. When in Guangzhou you MUST stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Christian S,

Thank you for your amazing review regarding your recent experience at W Guangzhou. We are happy to hear that you have liked our design and our facilities.

We hope to see you again when on your return at W Guangzhou.

Best regards,

Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at W Taipei and W Samui... Certainly W Guangzhou needs more improvement. Room service (had the Peking pigeon and club sandwich) was lukewarm. Was also woke up at 7am because some guests were speaking loudly over the corridor. The pool is nice though and gym is well equipped. Room is more business like which fails to be hip, chic and trendy like the other W cousins in Asia. The hotel is newly renovated and smells like cement rather than hotel. Was nice enough to get a late check out to 2pm.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Joe C,

Thank you for the review. I’m sorry to hear that we did let you down with our Room Service. Please be assured that I have addressed this and our Chef has taken already the necessary steps to improve it. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the pool and gym.

We hope to welcome you back at W Guangzhou soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHP_Zuidervliet
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've had the unfortunate experience to visit this hotel many times for many events.

To keep it easy I'll put down a list of they could improve.
They have lunch-sets, unfortunately myself as well my wife both had the runnings after on different occasions. The food is ok, nothing to be excited about but obviously something is wrong with the hygienic aspect here.
I've had a couple big gala dinners here (mind you twice over 1000 rmb per head) and the food is abysmal to say the best. Last time an event with dinner with over 300 people the food consisted of a lousy 3 courses and cheese at the end. The starter, salmon with some salmon eggs, main course a tiny piece of "Australian" beef with some sturdy risotto and the desert (best of all) ice cream with a sort of cheesecake. It was just a sad appearance but even worse for my neighbor she was a vegetarian. She ate nothing. And again, the runnings (3 of the table).
Then the staff, just terrible. If you know what Chinese staff is like, now these are even worse. Unattentive, useless just a disaster.

What else, well there is a club, Fei Club which initially is quite nice but due poor management often quite empty. They have some terrible acts and a mediocre DJ which probably contributes why it doesn't attract many people. The staff again a bunch of imbeciles. Asking for a fapiao will result in at least 3 redo's because they can't do it proper at once. This is not an anomaly, it's how they run. Every time it's the same problem. Not to mention utterly rude by asking every time if we can pay directly. We are (how stupid we are) regular guests but that doesn't matter. Another idiot thing is that they keep pushing for table prices even while most of the time it's empty.

I disliked W in New York, the W in Guangzhou is also on my list. It's terrible and if you have a choice go anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHP_Zuidervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello JHP_Zuidervliet,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visits to W Guangzhou.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food variety on the visited events. We do provide several menu options for the event organizers to choose for their events and do deliver the requested menus. Food hygiene is on the top of our priorities and as an HACCP certified hotel, we do comply with all food safety and hygiene regulations.

Thank you so much also for your comments on our talent and the Fei bar operation. Your feedback is important to us and I have had certainly shared this with the relevant heads of department to arrange the necessary improvements. However, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss all the points mentioned by you in details. When possible, please contact me via email on peter.katusak-huzsvar@whotels.com so that we can discuss this.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
W Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stay here for Business, my starwood friend recommend this hotel; upon checking, i was stunned by the lobby, very techy feel; but the room is more techy than i think; spacious room, very big bathroom, SONY LED TV, cool; and the toilet set, TOTO WASHLET, hand free toilet, how often do you see this in a hotel?

the breakfast is also spacious and great variety, but the staff are slower than i think, this is not quit the services i expect. overall, great property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The W Hotel in Guangzhou is quite new - It is a cool design. I found the staff to be really friendly so was surprised as other reviews state otherwise. The Club Lounge when we were here was really quiet, it was nice but a self service kind of deal. The Breakfast was amazing. It is in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello Nick J,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am happy to hear that you have liked our design and our friendly staff has impressed you with our service delivery. I certainly have passed your positive comments to my team, it is an additional motivation for us to continue improving our services.

We look forward for your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Heralded as the newest hotel in Guangzhou, this massive glass and lights structure encapsulates some of the best design that the W is putting out into the world.

Upon entering, you face a three-story waterfall that cascades over a massive color LED panel that entrances you in a light show every time you walk in or out. The scale and beauty is immediately obvious.

The lobby is like a wonderfully cozy, clubby womb with couches on split levels and ambient lighting throughout. You work your way through the artwork and find yourself at the guest services counter where gold glass climbs up the wall in intricate patterns. Every section of the hotel is uniquely different and the immense level of design details is mind boggling.

The rooms are thoroughly appointed with cables, electronics, speakers and the usual W bed. The bathtub and shower are surrounded in marble that nicely balances with the the stark modernism of the rest of the room. Chill out to the mirror slash TV as you soak to some HBO.

The spa is just as new and clean, with a shower that features a Kohler DTV panel and something like eight or nine shower heads. And the restaurant has a decent breakfast with a huge variety of options.

The attached club is a decent hotspot for Guangzhou expats and their compatriots. The evening starts with low-key 90s songs and swings into electro and club mixes from 11pm. Decent crowds until around 2am as things start dying down. If you're bored, it's a no brainer to take the elevator down and stop by for a drink.

As much glass, gold and neon as there in this hotel, everything comes together in a beautifully orchestrated presentation from the lobby to the spa.

This scale and beauty of the whole hotel is definitely something to appreciate on any visit to Guangzhou.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello Ken N,

Thanks so much for your amazing comments!
I’m very pleased to know that your recent stay at W Guangzhou was so impressive and you liked our award winning design. Thank you for positive words on our Living room, the FEI bar, Away Spa and as well on the facilities in our guest room.

We look forward welcoming you again on your return.

Warm Regards,

Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#7 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#6 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Guangzhou

Property: W Guangzhou
Address: 26 Xian Cun Road, Pearl River New Town, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 501623, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing