We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Guangzhou” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EDGE - CLOSED

EDGE
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Guangzhou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Once I found this restaurant I felt that finally in Guangzhou there's a cool and quality western restaurant to keep on going once and again.
Ribs are superb, meet very good (even I was told that for custom problems they have not imported meat, I don't know if this problem will be solved soon or not), tuna is elegant and magnificent. I have gone already 6 times and quality always keep high.
Desserts are not the strong point of this restaurant.
If I have to complain about something it's that sometimes the life music is so loud, so it makes your "romantic" dinner a little bit less romantic since you have to talk very loud to understand your couple. Anyway, I highly recommend this restaurant and after dinner, take your time to get a drink there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dendermonde
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A friend of mine had her birthday dinner at Edge and we had a superb time! The staff was lovely and the food was incredible! Living in Guangzhou, it's very hard finding a decent piece of meat. I had the sirloin, it was delicious!! The live band however is what made this night so special!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_S23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“STUNNING FOOD- GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Meeting up with a person that didn't speak a word of English and myself who didn't speak a word of Mandarin hardly mattered as I had a Mandarin Dictionary and the staff at EDGE were fantastic - speaking both Languages. The food - the service- the atmosphere - what a find in Guanghzhou - although I had checked out details on google before I arrived in this busy city. Superb food, great cocktails, terrific wine , 3 courses each - and be it savoury or dessert all were excellently cooked and served. This has to be a 10 out of 10 and I'm fussy, and eat out regularly at home in top restaurants. Even more amazing was the bill - 3 courses each , 3 cocktails, an excellent bottle of white wine and it was only A$124.00. Confirmed when I checked out my Bank account. A must if you travel to Guangzhou !!! An exciting evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Owned by an Ozzy, this minimal restaurant is famous with steaks, make sure you ask for butterfly cooked steak, although the owner doesn't recommend it but if you like your steak to be well-done that's the way to enjoy it there! I did! Excellent potato chips, ask for `some salt` its lemon-y and excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foshan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Some dishes are amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've had dinner at Edge more than 10 times and some dishes are really amazing (taste, originality, texture) and worth 3 stars Michelin food.

I don't put a 5 star rating because the menu has some of the best dishes i ever had but also some much more common dishes. So you need to visit the place a few times before you know the dishes worth it.
Also for those who come for late evening dinner, then it's a bit noisy with the jazz band playing.

Overall a very good place that I recommend. Good place for date, business, friends but not for family with kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franchine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EDGE also viewed

 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing