We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Qiaobao Hotel(Guangzhou)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      Sha Mian Hotel(Guangzhou)
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      Al Travos Hotel(Guangzhou)
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
        White Swan Hotel(Guangzhou)
        View Hotel
        Great 4.5/5
        Certificate of Excellence
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        View Hotel
        Reviews (605)
        Filter reviews
        605 results
        Traveler rating
        159
        344
        78
        17
        7
        Traveler type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        159
        344
        78
        17
        7
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewswest wingshamian islandlovely balconybalcony roompedestrian bridgerooftop poolmain buildingshort walktennis courtsquiet areacomfortable hotelmetro stationbusiness roomhotel is locatedthe pearlstandard roombreakfast was included
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        130 - 135 of 605 reviews
        Reviewed April 25, 2014

        We can only agree with the positive recommendations for this hotel.
        Hopefully our comments are of use to independent travellers. If you haven't much luggage take the Metro to the hotel and avoid the traffic congestion. From the East Railway Station take Line 1 (yellow) to Huangsha. Use exit D into an open plaza and go towards the river - look left - you'll see an overpass that takes you to Shamian Island. There is a useful map when you leave the overpass. If you are booked into the West Wing look for Shamian Street number 4 because this is where the West Wing is - in spite of the address!!
        The chinese restaurant in the hotel (East Wing) is good value likewise the excellent vegetarian restaurant near the West Wing hotel on Shamian North Street.

        Our stay in Guangzhou was exceptional value for money - 2 nights stay with breakfast and a dinner for two was less than one buffet meal in Hong Kong (admittedly it was the Grand Hyatt in Wan Chai and we did have a bottle of wine!). That's another recommended hotel - the decor is stunning and the rooms are great too.

        Room Tip: Book the West Wing through the hotel website for the best price if the website is available..
        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Member58
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed April 25, 2014

        We stayed at this hotel in 2005 and were treated so wonderfully that we made a point of staying there again this time. Your staff are exceptional and the breakfast was delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and I would recommend this hotel, and its location on Shamian Island, to anyone visiting Guangzhou.

        • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Vanda R
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed March 29, 2014

        We stayed here for three nights during Chinese New Year. the hotel is lovely. We paid a little more to stayed on the wing with a big balcony, although only used it once but still like it. Room is clean and modern, with free wifi, breakfast is a little boring. There is a coffee shop just downstairs, and a bakery in the other wing.
        Location of the hotel is fantastic, it's in an attraction and also easily access to everywhere. But it got very crowded during Chinese holidays though.

        • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank curiouskitty
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed March 11, 2014

        We enjoyed out stay at the Guangdong Victory Hotel, even if things didn't run totally smoothly. We had a standard room in the West (old) wing.

        The good - easy check in with friendly, helpful staff, the (double) bed was very comfortable, the sheets and towels were very good quality, great walk in shower. On check out, the staff were very helpful, and Rebecca helped us book our bus out of town, then gave us directions on how to find the bus stop.

        The 'not so good' - the room had a strong smell of air freshener, which I suspect was to cover cigarette smoke (non-smoking room, but this IS China!), the traffic outside was very noisy if the window was left open, and the (included in the room price) breakfast was a shambles. We went down at 9.15, and there was almost nothing left. The staff seemed very young and unsure about how to manage a full dining room, and people trying to find somewhere to sit, then something to eat.

        We loved Shamian, and would stay at the Victory Guangdong again, as overall it was good value for money.

        Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road that runs along the 'city-facing' side of the hotel.
        • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Cazali
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed March 4, 2014

        There are times when I am doing something which is so good that I am happy that I am not doing anything else in the world at that moment. I had that feeling when I recently stayed at the Guangdong Victory Hotel in Guangzhou.

        Based on reviews on Trip Advisor and Booking.com, I chose to pay a little more for a room in the East Wing. This is a misnomer, as the East and West Wings are not "wings" but separate buildings which are not adjoining. I was very pleased with this choice. The room was roomy and comfortable. The bathroom accessories were adequate. The hot water was hot. The staff spoke adequate to excellent English (depending on who you spoke with), and they were efficient and friendly.

        I enjoyed breakfast very much. It was appropriate for a four star hotel. Appetizing and varied and adequate. I also had dinner in the Chinese restaurant on the second floor of the West Wing which was so good that I returned the next night.

        The location of Guangdong Victory Hotel on Shamian Island is superb, with the serenity and beauty of the island, its parks and architecture. It should also be noted that the island can be reached easily by metro, and it is also close to a pier from which Pearl River Tours can be taken.

        While not currently in my plans, if I return to Guangzhou I will definitely return to the Guangdong Victory Hotel.

        Room Tip: Take a room in the East Wing
        • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Hanan B
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        View more reviews