We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guangdong Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #31 of 3,392 Hotels in Guangzhou
Enschede
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“quiet and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Traveling to Guangzhou (and for the first time to China) we had checked the tourist guides well and seen that Guangdong Victory hotel is located on the quiet charming Shamian Island in a bustling noisy city full of traffic. We therefore chose to stay here and were not disappointed. Note that totel consists of two parts, the old West wing and the modern Eastern part, located about 200 m apart. We stayed in the West Wing. The spoken English of the reception staff was excellent, as was the cleanliness of the room. We took the Western breakfast of the two offered, which was reasonable, which in China is rare in my opinion. Our night rest was excellent: it was very quiet. Staying in May we had no problems with mosquitos and the beds were excellent as well. The island is really charming, full of old architecture and with little traffic. It furthermore has a number of good restaurants. For transport, take a taxi. They are cheap and all use taxi meters. All in all we thought our experience to be very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFromE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    313
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
123
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose this hotel from other reviews because of the location which was serene and pretty. Just across the road via pedestrian bridges there were many traditional eateries and shops selling dried goods to take home such as mushroom, tea and scallops.
The service was generally good as we got some good shopping and eating tips from the business centre desk. The one negative for this stay was being allocated rooms on different levels which was very inconvenient for us as we were a family and requested rooms close together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the best hotels in China to know the culture, real people and the best restaurants to test the best food in the South of China.
Architecture, the real filling and what ever you want to buy with good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUANVV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

i stayed at west side hotel in executive room , perfect room with lovely bathroom , clean and comfortable , no facilities in this side of hotel , i cant accept the breakfast , no international food just local food ,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel and room were great for our purposes. The breakfast wasn’t amazing but did the job and the twin room we had was massive and comfortable. Excellent having an in room computer to browse the internet on also.

The location on the island was good and was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the City. However, felt as the city has developed the central location has shifted and as such the island isn’t really a convient location anymore. The main attractions are now based to the west and while easy to get the Metro from here it did take a good while and was always busy. Therefore while hotel was fine, I would recommend location more towards the centre of the city now and leave the island for a nice day trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
311 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Victory Hotel Shamian Island, Guangzhou.

I stayed one night at the Victory Hotel (Guangdong Victory Hotel). Saturday April 13 to Sunday14th, 2013.

There are actually two hotels within one hotel, an older West wing and a newly renovated East wing about a 5-minute walk east of the main hotel building. I stayed in the older West wing.

Check-In
Guests are expected to put down 300RMB room guarantee – a bit odd but not so bad as it was refunded to my credit card upon checkout. I was a bit early and had to wait until 2pm until the room was ready. At 2pm sharp, I got the nod from the front desk staff. My room was on the 8th floor, right across from the loud-dinging elevator where we all know late crowds congregate, not good.

I returned to the desk and asked for a quieter room location. I waited 10 minutes for a new room. It was a great, 7th floor (room 3705) away from the elevator etc. very quiet, courtyard side room.

Room
Fine. It’s little tired and worn out but not because of anything grungy but from guest use and age. The room is spotless but small. Bathroom is clean with the usual toiletries available fee of charge. Hair dryer included. Room rug needs replacing. A decent view of the island is offered and toward the north section of the city, but no balcony. The window opens about 8 inches for fresh air – which I like. A kettle, mugs/glasses and free instant coffee/creamer/tea are included.

Safe Tap Water Option
In the bathroom, adjacent to the sink is a small tap with a black nozzle. According to the in-room notices this is safe drinking water and meant to be a part of their “green hotel” mission. I guess to save plastic bottles. Yet, they placed 2 free bottles of water in the room for my use. I did not use the safe drinking water tap because I am wary of tap water – that’s just me – safe or not, I do not drink it.

The King sized bed was super cozy and soft/firm and frankly the best bed I’ve slept in, in Asia! There’s a pillow menu too.

A fruit basket and 2 bottles of water were waiting for me after I came back from my morning walk – nice touch but the bottled water remains contrary to their “green hotel” mission.

TV/Wife etc.
Wi-Fi is free but the signal was weak and intermittent. There’s an Internet cable available. TV unit is dated and had English movies/news. Room safe is included as well a typical over priced min-bar and not well stocked.

Location
Shamian is a very quiet zone (colonial buildings from back in the day) within Guangzhou (GZ) proper so if you want to get away from the busy crazy insane urban wonderful angst that GZ offers, Shamian is one option. It’s far away from the “action” but well located by taxi and walk to Subway/Metro and the fabulous Pearl River walkway.

The hotel is within walking distance to island ATMs, banks, legit foot massage/Chinese medicine center, convenience stores (7-11’s) Subway sub, Starbucks and many other great local cafes, art galleries etc. However, if you’re up for nightlife action, Shamian gets real quite at night – there’s nothing in the Zen of a happening.

Breakfast - Cost 75RMB.
Although I got a super low price deal using Expedia, my rate did not include breakfast. Breakfast buffet is a mix of western and Chinese. The food is ok. My omelet, breads etc. were fine but the coffee was auto machine and just ok. At 75 RMB, I would not bother with breakfast next time. The French café/bakery in the hotel is lovely.

Overall
Victory Hotel (Guangdong Victory Hotel) is fine hotel and lives up to its reputation and other reviews on trip advisor are honest.

I did not use other facilities in the hotel i.e. pool, fitness, business center, barber, Spa, 3rd floor bar etc.

The West wing rooms need some work, updates & resurfacing. I visited a few off the grid boutique hotels nearby on the island and noted that there’s some competition growing for the Victory – so, owners should make note that other smaller hotels have slightly nicer ambiance and room aesthetics at a competitive rack rate price point.

All of the Victory staff were super friendly, from the front desk, to the maintenance workers changing light bulbs in the hallway to the service staff in the cafe and in general, a darn nice hotel. I’d go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and an inside room away from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Guangdong Victory hotel West wing in an executive room/suite.
We arrived around midnight, but check inn was without any problems and we got the room we asked for on a higher floor and with a balcony. The West wing has renovated rooms, but has also kept many original aspects intact.

Our room was overall ok, but we had some trouble with noise from the street entering our room early in the morning. This is because the old windows to the balcony are not as effective as modern (double glass) windows. There were also some mosquitos in our room, but this is something you can expect in a tropic climate.

The internet connection was very good in our room (wireless and wired) No problems with my laptop and/or tablet.

Breakfast was ok, but can become repetitive. We missed cheese and other charcuterie items. A positive was the chef who made your eggs to order and the coffee machine.

The personnel at the reception was helpful and we had no problems communicating with them.

Shamian Island was lovely and offers many restaurants. We tried both the Cantonese restaurants and Lucy's bar (More American style food). Around the corner is also a Starbucks and a Subway (not recommended).

When you cross the bridge leaving the hotel you are immediately at the metro station from where you can explore the rest of Guangzhou.

Last year we stayed at the Jovenstars hotel which is ranked lower on Tripadvisor (mainly because of its location) but which I can also highly recommend (good prices and modern rooms).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanzoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#21 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#18 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#37 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#35 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing