We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Style, old fashion with charm and good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guangdong Victory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #28 of 3,048 Hotels in Guangzhou
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Colonial Style, old fashion with charm and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Location cannot be better in Canton, both location and hotel oozes with grand old days in China. Not super, super de luxe but high quality and certainly value for money. And excellent staff service. Hope sincerely being able to come back next Coatings Fair 2014.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GeorgMessmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    297
    64
    14
    6
See reviews for
70
116
52
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was very clean and modern; lots of room in the hotel room. It and had a swimming pool on the hotel roof and exercise room. They offered a free coffee in the lounge each day. This hotel was right downtown on a tourist island, great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeckyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have stayed twice, in the West wing. Initially a surprise to have to walk what seemed a long way from taxi drop off (at reception) to room check in... further up the road, but room was good. Private balcony was lovely, and there was a large bathtub and separate shower. The laundry service impeccable, and breakfast selection was good-You can ask for eggs or noodles to be cooked fresh for you, too. No Wi Fi access, the stationary computers in room can be used to google local information. If staying for a while, there is limited Television in English, and room service is REALLY tricky if you dont speak local dialect. .. Actually, forget room service ! Also, if you drink white wine, bring it with you, Hotel doesnt seem to have any. But all in all, a lovely hotel, people are friendly, good value, commutable and walking distance to many things, AND, in the lovely Shamian precinct.

Room Tip: west wing, balcony, overlooking side street - lovely & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have happily stayed at this hotel, both in the East and West wing on 4 occasions ,and am about to experience a 5th.
The peace of Shamian Island and the consistently good service from the hotel, makes me to not hesitate to recomend it to everyone.
Well priced, great amenities, excellent service and wonderful choice for breakfast, along with convenience of many shops and restaurants, within walking distance.
After the bustle of shopping , it is a joy to come home to the Victory.
It also feels safe, and I have no hesitation to walk around alone.

Room Tip: West wing balcony room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelaide3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked through easytobook.com and stayed in an 'executive' room, West Building for $US82.00 incl a great breakfast. Good sized well appointed room with kingsize bed, clean and comfortable with balcony looking over the street. As other reviewers have commented, this hotel is made up of 2 separate buildings and of the two, the West Building has a smarter appearance whereas the East Building looks a little dated - the only negative is the swimming pool happens to be located in the East Building.
Overall, we found this hotel represented very good value and would happily stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank albert411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

l loved this hotel. It was very clean, staff were extremely helpful and spoke english. Service was excellent. Breakfast had a great selection. The location is lovely. Very quiet and peaceful.Friends staying in a much more expensive hotel were wishing they had booked at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are staying at Victory hotel (since 1895), executive room west wing for 2 nights, we are at the end of 10 days business trip in China thru 4 cities and 5 hotels, we moved here to take a break from the intense business trips before we go home. I am sitting on the big private balcony sipping tea and watching the huge thunderstorm and heavy rain pouring down on Guangzhou. Wonderful and relaxing experience. Strong free wifi. Only the rooms facing the street have balconies, I requested a balcony in advance. Great value low price.

Hotel has 2 buildings, East and West, about one block apart, not connected, West bldg is original 100+ years colonial buildings in the old foreign quarter. Main entrance-lobby is East bldg, but the oiginal hotel was West which has been renovated, room is elegant and wonderful, marble bath is modern and unique open style, but can be completely enclosed with 1/2 inch sliding glass wall. I was told East rooms are in much older condition. even though it is a younger bldg. If you booked West, tell taxi to go straight to West, it has its own front desk.

Hotel is on Shamain island, but the river between it and mainland is an 100' wide river, not a pretty river. So close yet a world apart, with tree lined streets, beautiful European colonial buildings and very few people, a favorite spot for wedding pictures. About 15-20 minutes walk to Shanxiaju shopping street, over the overpass bridge, thru the spice market, dry seafood market, by the time you reach pet market next to Holiday Inn, you are there. Love that exotic smell.

Staff is friendly but reserved, they open up if you talk to them. Breakfast is big standard Chinese hotel fair with omlete-noodle station. Both East and West bldgs have exact same breakfast buffet. The foods in the western restaurant in the West bldg actually are made in the East bldg a block away and transport over.

It is almost impossible to get a taxi here, it is only 100' away from a very busy expressway and the busy over-crowded city, but taxis don't come here, you just have to wait for someone to come back to hotel which is not that often. Hotel shuttle at 2 and 6PM daily to Haizhu square and Beijing Road shopping area

A major flaw about Victory is food. Hotel restaurant prices are about double or triple than normal restaurants, a simple soup in the Western restaurant costs 68 yuan (over $10), 4-5 restaurants nearby are typical tourist traps with triple or even higher prices. One Day Guangzhou tour at hotel business office is 780 yuan ($120), but I saw ads in previous hotel One Day GZ Tour is 78 yuan, 10 times higher price. Since almost all guests are Westerners, as long as there is sweet and sour pork, everybody is happy. There is a Starbuck, 7-11 around the corner, Subway next door, Starbuck is rare in Guangzhou.

I like Victory Hotel and enjoyed the experience, but will not stay here again, I am here on business, I need easy transportation, and I enjoy good foods, tourist traps and lousy foods at triple prices are just not acceptable.

Room Tip: West bldg room with private balcony is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#16 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#23 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#53 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#39 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#36 of 3,048 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing