We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Propriety” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 3,047 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Propriety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed three nights here while attending an exhibition, Hotel is beautiful to start with, as you walk in you get this beautiful lobby, wood carved painting behind reception is worth a picture. Do remember to take a walk in the beautiful garden behind the hotel, it has huge waterfalls in green surroundings.

Rooms are well equipped and well maintained, cleanliness was top notch.

There was a bus service to the fair, otherwise a taxi would cost 40 RMB and were plenty available.

Breakfast was good, quite long list of items, with different live cooking stations.

All the staff that i came across spoke very well English.

There was quite a few Halal restaurants around the hotel, with famous Sultan Restaurant across the street, but if you take a left and walk towards McDonalds and KFC on the left side of the hotel, you will find few others, from Mexican, to grill chicken to arabic all displaying Halal signs.

Over All an excellent hotel and in a green surrounding.

Room Tip: do walk in the garden behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities,services as well as our location.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    1,131
    190
    38
    19
See reviews for
136
65
53
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stay & Location: Stayed eight nights with a friend as part of his business trip. Hotel is located very good: 50 meters from a subway station and close to many shops and restaurants.

Room: Stayed in room 1804 (Elite room) on the 18th floor. Room spaciousness is average. Bathroom a little tight. View over Banyou mountain but hard to see due to smog and fog. Room is average furnished but the decor is rather dull at best.

Amenities: Very nice, plenty of free drinking water, everything you need in the bathroom (even toothbrush), and nice bathrobes and slippers.

Cleanliness: A few corners had been missed by the vacuum cleaner. Bathroom was spotless.

Service: Housekeeping service was very good. We had a clocked toilet which was fixed in less than 20 minutes. If you call the service desk though communication can sometimes be a little challenging. At least if you only speak English. The front desk personnel and concierge is another story though. They seem indifferent and are just not very helpful. Perhaps it's because they know they have to speak English when they see me. During checkout the bill did not reflect, that the client my friend was working for, paid for the room, so the bill needed to be split. Apart from the bad attitude, we were met with when pointing out this fact it took way too long to split the bill.

Food: The hotel has several restaurants. I only tried the Cascade Cafe (same as room service) where breakfast is also served. Dinner there was poor. I had a terrible cinnamon apple tart which reminded more of a shoe sole than a tart. Why I didn't return it still bothers and puzzles me. As for breakfast there is plenty of choice but the quality is quite average. A hotel of this class should definitely serve better orange juice and not jam in small tinfoil packages. Food here is poor value.

Facility: As the name of the hotel suggests there is a fairly nice garden at the back of the hotel. The waterfall (probably 10 meters high) is quite impressive. The swimming pool area (outside) is located on the third floor and is pretty nice. Gym and spa are quite high standard for a hotel. The gym has a basic collection of relatively new Technogym equipment. Wifi is freely available without login. It actually used to be by browser login so kudos to upgrading that. The Internet connection is very unstable though and the upload speed is downright terrible. The lobby is big and due to the fact that the hotel also houses a shopping arcade and offices very busy. The atmosphere is less hectic and improves during the less busy evening hours but it's not an especially appealing lobby.

Improvements/Suggestions: Faster Internet speed. Improve quality of food. More smiley and hospitable front staff. Smoother check-in and check-out procedure.

Overall: The hotel has good location but really lacks in giving you a personal feel and feel of good quality. To me it's not good value. Located about 150 meters away is a Holiday Inn which might be worth trying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that we are failed to provide appropriate services and facilities to meet your expectations. Your comments on initial response have been shared with the associates concerned and corrective measures have been taken to correct those.

Once again, please accept my apology for the above and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel located in city center. It is the best for vacation and visit all attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was good. The Spa is awesome. There are free transportation from the hotel to train station and airport .
In general it's the best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alhodaithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had a enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our location, Spa and the friendliness of our team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pleasant hotel in a good location, opposite a mall and lots of shops and next door to the efficient, clean and cheap metro system.
The size of the rooms is good. Beds a liitle hard, as is common in China. The bathroom could do with a revamp but it is perfectly adecuate. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Excellent outdoor pool with comfortable sofas to lay down. Great service all round at the hotel.
I ate at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel and wasn't at all impressed with the food, the poor service or the expensive bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We do apologize that our bed and chinese restaurant failed to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Please contact us for feather mattress pad to made it softer in your future visit. In regard to the food and service of Chinese restaurant, we have immediately shared your comments among our operation team for improvement. You are rest assured that hotel is keen to raise the worthy of value to customer. 

Once again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

stayed here for 2 nites to attend Chinaplas and loved it.Booked a Deluxe room and was blown away...the room had a lounge and office area. Bedroom was huge as was the bathroom.
Ate one night at the Cantonese restaurant on the second floor which was very good. The lounge bar had nightly enterrtainment and a good atmosphere....the Tavern Bar was a bit too smokey. Good location with shops bars within walking distance...try The Paddy Field Irish bar. and also huge shopping malls across the road. Would stay here again as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: if you book the Executive rooms you gain access to the Club Lounge on the 30 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigwilie_4163l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and impressed with our room, facilities and services. For your reference, your comment on the Tavern Bar has been shared with our departments concerned for improvement on ventilation system.

Again, thank you for your compliments and comments; we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We live in Guangzhou and were looking for a nice 'stay-cation' for a weekend. The location is great! So many bars and restaurants to choose from, right outside. The rooms do look old, but the hotel is old as well. Not to say they were bad, they were just not 'shiny and new' The staff were very pleasant. The pool was lovely. The revolving restaurant puts on a very good spread. My only complaint was that we were smokers, and it was difficult to convince them that we were just going down and outside to enjoy a smoke. Being that you are allowed to smoke in the rooms, I would have thought there would be a section of the eating area for that too. But, overall, a very lovely weekend. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that the room was not able to meet your expectation. For your easy reference, we have the Deluxe Room and Executive Room are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities, which are more suitable for you.

For smoking, basically, it is prohibited in public indoor area in China. In considering needs from customer, we do provide outdoor tables at The Cascade Café plus a lobby Tavern Bar which have its own ventilation system.

Last but not the least, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very comfortable, home away from home hotel.
Rooms were large and comfortable bed, where one is guaranteed a sound sleep.
Bathrooms were a good size and very clean.
Service was excellent and staff make a good effort to see you are looked after.
Ideally located with a good choice of international restaurants just around the block, left side coming out of the hotel entrance.
Good choice of food and nice breakfast selection, good cross section of western and Asian breakfast so all covered.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking if you don't smoke as the smoking rooms are quite bad..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tratstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our room, facilities and services.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#33 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
#5 of 3,047 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Property: The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#16 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#52 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou is one of the first landmarks of 5 star luxury hotels , it showcases a perfect blend of Cantonese heritage and contemporary sophistication. Garden Hotel offers welcoming ambience, memorable experience and classic culinary tour. Garden Hotel boasts 828 guest rooms & suites, 150 apartments, 8 multi - function rooms and 10 dining venues. The perfect choice for your journey in Guangzhou! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing