We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 to 3* Hotel”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #1,576 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I read many not very good comments about this hotel during the consideration process. However, in view of its proximity to the Guangzhou East Railway Station and metro station, and the attractive price, we finally made the decision to book it for this trip as we only need rooms for a night.

We found that the room hygiene is not as bad as people commented. Perhaps it's due to the fact that we booked it through the hotel Hong Kong head office which offers very good rate, priority free upgrade to business superior room and non-smoking floor. When the staff saw the hotel vouchers were issued by the Hong Kong head office, they appeared to handle our check-in in a more efficient manner.

However, I have to agree with other tripadvisors that the free breakfast is very basic and you may find it more enjoyable in KFC or MD. The gym room and the swimming pool are quite dirty that no one will use these facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and book it through the Hong Kong head office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Feimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is a three star hotel, very close to Guangzhou East Railway station, about 4-5 minutes on foot. One can catch trains to Hong Kong, Shenzhen from this station. The Bus station, MRT station and a Big Mall is just at the opposite side of the hotel. The Mall has many good store and food stores. There is a McDonald nearby. The surrounding area is good. Taxis are easily available from the street in front of the hotel. Banks(including Bank Of China) are also nearby to exchange currency.

As for the hotel, it may be 3 star in Asian standard. It seems age is catching up and the hotel seems tired. It is about time they go for major refurbishing work. Hotel with such a nice location must be taken care of to attract more people. My experience was good with the hotel. Check-In was fast but needed security deposit. This can be taken care of by Credit Card. Room was big and with standard fixtures and at least my room was clean enough. No unpleasant odor was there. Free LAN was a real bonus, just plug it in and use. Bed is bit on the harder side in respect to western point of view, but from Asian point of view, it is OK. Bath room was Ok but tired. Never the less it was clean. Towels were clean and the supplied accessories(tooth brush, comb, sewing kits) were good. Breakfast……what shall I write,…..from Chinese point, may be Ok, but for others they need some additional food items. I could only eat the cereal, milk, tea, toast and the fruits. The breakfast hall is not at all impressive…..There is a penalty if some one waste food. This was some thing new for me. But I must say, it is good. I always see people waste food in buffet, which is vary bad.

A part from that, they have one bad practice. Occasionally suspicious ladies (heavily made up and scantily dressed) can be seen walking around. Even the Bell boys some times approaches hotel guests with unsocial offers, you know what I mean !!!! Hotel must stop that.……Over all this hotel is a good choice for short stay.

Room Tip: Room with the view of the Mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Where to start. The hotel is classed as three star, which is a joke, it's barely a one star. The rooms are dank and dirty and breakfast is without doubt the worst I've encountered - even worse than breakfast on China Southern Airlines - if that is possible!

While it is much cheaper than other hotels in the area, unless you are a pennyless student, take my warning and stay somewhere better

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank Eatmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel is at fantastic location as it's also near to bus terminal and metro. However hotel rooms are a very dirty and have a stale mouldy smell. Staff don't clean properly. We found cigarette butts behind the curtains and I have pics to prove it. Breakfast is much to be desired. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last year. I'm staying here again due to the very low room rate during off season. The hotel has one of the best locations being so near the Guangzhou East station (trains to Hong Kong, Dongguan and Shenzhen) about 5 min on foot. Apart from that, the hotel is slightly better than basic, sort of in between 2 to 3 stars. Since my last stay, little or nothing has improved. Check in was efficient, one pays a flat 500 yuan deposit which can be dine in credit cards. No bell boys to carry your luggage unless specially requested.

Now comes the room. It's medium in size, with bed tend towards on the hard side, Westerners who are used to softer beds may not be fond of it. The decor is showing its age unfortunately, but clean nonetheless. Free LAN with cable on the desk which is great. Bathroom is small, but water pressure and all that are good enough. However, the ventilation isn't great at all, one gets a feeling of dampness., that applies to all the new towels on the rack! Carpet smells a little musty in room and on the corridor. Sound proofing is mediocre, I was fortunate that the two nights I stayed was off season, it was quiet enough for a good night sleep. At peak season, I cannot imagine the same will happen. There are no safety deposit box inside the room, so taking care if your valuables can be a problem. For a short stay, and for its prime location, this hotel may still be worth considering, but one must put the usual international standard aside, I feel this hotel is best catered for the locals and Asian customers. It is worth noting that the hair salon on the ground floor seems to be operating something seedy apart from just getting ones hair done. Occasionally I see suspicious ladies (heavily made up and scantily dressed) walking around, or going up the rooms, you get the picture....

Overall, I will stay here again as long as the room rate is kept low, is still better than staying at many of the budget hotel chains dotting around China these days.

Room Tip: Hi floor, and there is no such thing as non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel is at fantastic location. Hotel also provides shuttle service from railway station though it's only a 5 minutes walk. It's also near to bus terminal.

However hotel rooms are a bit dirty and have a stale smell. Carpet really needs cleaning. Breakfast is fine with the value paid.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The star hotel is a nice hotel, The breakfast is good , but if you leave something on your plate they charge you ten dollars per piece, The rooms are nice and big

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveLover097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel Guangzhou
Grand Palace Hotel Guangzhou
#109 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#28 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vili International Hotel
Vili International Hotel
#866 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Days Inn Guangzhou East Train Station
7 Days Inn Guangzhou East Train ...
#415 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
16 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: No.89 Linhe West Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $40 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Guangzhou
Guangzhou Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing