We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Ranked #91 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Average Hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was a very average hotel that i can't believe is 4 star. The lobby and other common areas were very nice, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired.

I stayed at this hotel twice and had rooms on two different floors. On both occasions, there was an overwhelming smell of mildew and mold. This is probably related to the extreme humidity. I traveled in March and the air conditioners seemed unable to pull out the humidity. The result was everything smelling moldy and clothes/sheets feeling damp. The beds felt more like boards and were very uncomfortable. I was very disappointed by the cleanliness of the room. Besides the strong mildew smell, the rooms/bathrooms were extremely aged and did not appear to have been cleaned very thoroughly. One of the rooms had what appeared to be a very big blood stain on the carpet.

The best part of this hotel is the location! It is centrally located and right next to a subway station. There are also plenty of good places to eat and shop within walking distance. Also, the breakfast was very good.

Overall, the hotel was not terrible but there are much better hotel choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclone92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your experience at Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou.

We have reviewed your message carefully and assure you that we will do our best to improve in the areas that you mentioned.

We hope that you will continue to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

David Yuen
General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    236
    111
    26
    20
See reviews for
28
22
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is LOCATION, LOCATION.
But, as a traveler I believe one must be informed of all the details clearly. I have been to China couple of times.
1- I believe that hotels reservation booking system like Hotels.com and Agoda etc. should write specifically that deposit is required at the time of Check-in. In North America there is no deposit so travelers from there do not expect it.
2- I had called hotel specifically before making the reservation to confirm about the Complimentary Breakfast and Phone Service, and I was told it is free. I reassured it couple of times to know that Reception Desk understood my question. But at check in I was told none of them is complimentary. So it is not giving inaccurate information.
3- Rooms are clean and average. They miss the toiletries like Moisturizer or Body Lotion, which are available in the other hotels, which are non four star properties, who are charging tariff less than this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing about your experience with Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou.

We have taken note of your comments and suggestions, and assure you that we will do our best to improve where we possibly can.

We hope that you will continue to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

David Yuen
General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Located in Haizhu area, i stayed in this hotel because i stayed in the Beijing branch.

Some immediate good points:
1. Very accessible. It's above a subway station. There are also shopping and eateries all within walking distance.
2. Breakfast was OK.
3. Internet works and speed was decent.
4. The room was large. It was a single standard room i think, but there is a huge open space in the middle of the room.
5. Service was good.

Bad points:
1. Dated hotel. The carpet in the room doesn't look very clean, and i was not tempted to walk around barefooted. This applies also to all the carpets in the corridors etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conjured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing and giving us your comments about your stay at Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou.

We are delighted to learn about some good points and we will do our best to improve the area that you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future when you visit Guangzhou.

Yours sincerely,

David Yuen
General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed in 26 floor somedays ago, the hotel is not so good as you might expect, it's difficult to conceive of staying in 4*hotel--just like a market, i couldn't finished my drinks in bar because of the noise from lobby restaurant, it really made my head splitting. however my room was good, it worth paying 100pounds extra by clerk's advise when cheked in

Room Tip: try the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou.

We have taken note of your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We will do our best to improve our environment where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Guangzhou.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in April for the Canton Fair. The check in took a long time, but service was ok other than that. The rooms were dated and a bit musty but ok if you are not spending too much time in your room.
Breakfast was good, very busy with all the other trade fair guests.
The biggest problem we found was not being near any decent restaurants but is 1/2 block from Macdonalds, Pizza Hut, 7-11 and some very authentic restaurants.
The bar had very slow service but they did have a nice reception for trade guests one night and featured free wine, appies and a band playing cover hits from the 80's.
For the price, I think this is a decent bet for a business visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your experience with Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou.

We have noted your comments and will improve our services where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is quite dated. They should invest in a carpet shampooer as the smell is terrible on every floor. Internet access is nonexistent as the speed is glacially slow, even for Chinese websites. As someone who spends 200+ nights a year in hotels, I found this hotel to be very poor overall. It is in the running for my 2012 "worst hotel" list. There are many better options in Guangzhou at the same price level.

Room Tip: Choose one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Y, General Manager at Rosedale Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your experience with Rosedale Guangzhou.

We have taken note of your comments and will do our best to improve where we can.

We hope that we could be of service to you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel at least 5 times over the past 2 years and will do so everytime I go to Guangzhou. At RMB 400-500 a night, this hotel is a steal when you consider the following advantages.
- Direct crossborder coach connexion from hotel porch to HongKong Intl Airport
- Shuttle service to Pazhou Trade Fair Complex whenever there is a fair on
- Sits bang on top of one of Guangzhou's major Metro station Changang (Line 2 & Line 8)
Just one simple change to transit to Guangzhou Airport and to most other places
- Guangzhou train station is just 10 mins by cab
- Includes Breakfast
- Several english speaking staff and in general very helpful at all times
- KFC & many other restaurants and shopping all around.
- Located at a major crossing with banks and all kinds of other facilities
- Easy to get a cab at porch
- great rooms

In short , worth every penny unless you are stinking rich and prefer your yacht! :)

Room Tip: My favourite room is 2305 ..Deluxe Suite at RMB750 for three people with breakfast non smoking &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ujjalkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.8 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#46 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
483 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
570 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#56 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
770 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#74 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel & Suites

Property: Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Address: No.348 Jiangnan Avenue Middle, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510245, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Guangzhou is conveniently located on top of the subway station connecting to the East Railway Station, Baiyun International Airport and other business destinations in the city. The hotel is within a short distance to the Canton Fair Exhibition Complex.The hotel offers FREE WiFi internet access in all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosedale Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel And Suites
Guangzhou Rosedale Hotel
Rosedale Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing