We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable standard hotel.”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #68 of 3,462 Hotels in Guangzhou
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Reasonable standard hotel.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was in Guangzhou and needed to stay in downtown. A friend of mine booked me at President Hotel. It is a pretty old property. Breakfast is average (I will not say it is bad). The rooms are pretty big and clean as well. If need to go again to Guangzhou I will look for a newer property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    266
    72
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
7
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a good hotel overall, the only problem is that when you check in they ask you if you want a room with a window or one without a window, the area that the hotel is in is extremly busy and packed with all kinds of pocket pickers and other sorts of theives so you have to be carefull when walking about, the breaskfast is ok and nothing special. I stayed here during the Canton Fair which meant the average room price which is normally 50-60 USD was around 150 USD.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arash-GTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

3 words to describe the hotel (clean, comfort, cosy). Some of the key feature include plasma tv, nice work station and rain shower. Location and accessibility is perfect as it is just walking station to the subway. In general, I had an excellent stay and will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

KL

Room Tip: For those who like shopping, you may consider grand view mall and beijing road. Shop till you drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kentkflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I won't rank this hotel as 4 star. The entire hotel smells of smoke even if you asked for a no smoking room. I don't think there are "no smoking zones" in China anyway. Upon arrival, we were unloading our luggage and there was a hotel staff stationed outside the hotel but he didn't care to help. The room is a bit small compared to same price hotels i've tried in China. Although the room looks modern, but you can tell that low quality materials were used to refurbish the rooms. Or probably their maintenance wasn't good enough. Internet connection is free. The hotel is located in an area surrounded by several malls selling electronic gadgets and computers. The subway station is 3 minutes walk away. There are fast foods near the hotel and a big supermarket across.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Canboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed here for one night and I have to say I was thoroughly disappointed.

Lets start with the room. The room had no windows but some opaque glass with lights. I was never even given the option for a window-less room but I guess the hotel staff figured I won't discern the truth. Secondly, at around 2am, the air conditioning is switched off. The A/C fan still works so it gives the impression that the A/C is on (as when one is in deep sleep, you may not notice that its getting progressively warmer). I did notice it was very hot and went to adjust the temperature downwards. While the meter let me make the adjustment, there was not difference in temperature. I was later told that they switch off the A/C to save on electricity!

The hotel has limited floors for guest rooms but 3 floots for a night club! As a curious customer I went to see those night clubs. They are really 3 floors of large rooms where you can imagine what kind of activities take place. This is no night club. Its just disturbing to have such activity in what is supposedly a business hotel.

Lastly, the location of the hotel is in the middle of an extremely intersection. That in itself is fine but there were no bell boys available to hail a cab.

While I was booked for 2 nights at this hotel, I left after the first as I just couldn't stand the place. I strongly recommend you avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubli
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in Gungzhou, this is a nice and clean hotel, centrally located, in Thaine Dist. very close to Metro station.

I will again be staying there this Month during Canton Fair.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalavade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the price and location. It was clearly indicated they had rooms without windows, so we booked another room (12th floor). Don't expect great views. All the lights/airco etc worked via a nice panel in the wall. In the lobby is a business center where you can use internet for free. But there is also perfect wireless available in the lobby.
The location is PERFECT! Only 2 minutes away from the metro and 2 stations away from Tiyu Xilu (15-20 min walk) where you can find TeeMall and Grandviewmall. Staff was friendly. You can find a 7 Eleven near the shops at the metro entrance and if you walk to one of the other exits you will find a supermarket.
We didn't use breakfast (not included in our booking).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Furtune Hotel
Furtune Hotel
#184 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#56 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#59 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#26 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#43 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: No.586 Tianhe Road, Tianhe Distric, Guangzhou 510630, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#35 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#55 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing