We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, but few Important points Business travelers need to know.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Liuhua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liuhua Hotel
Ranked #244 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, but few Important points Business travelers need to know.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

My colleague and I checked in to this hotel on December 27, 2010 & checked out on December 30, 2010.I make my bookings through agoda.com and got a reasonable price.

LOCATION: The Hotel is right opposite to Guangzhou railway station. There are many whole sale markets in the vicinity of the hotel. The garment, watch, and packaging market are at walking distance. For the leather & cosmetic market you will require to take a cab by it hardly takes 10 mins and charge roughly 10 to 15 RNB from the hotel.

ROOMS: The rooms are mid sized and the bathroom has a tub. Their are LCD in the rooms but not many english channels, wired internet is complementary and there is no wi fi.

Cleanness: Is average, just regular stuff. the toiletries are average and nothing fancy but keeping the price in mind I would not rate it as bad.

FOOD: We did not try the breakfast as dint have time, the restaurant food is good and well priced. Their is a mc Donald in the hotel building and also many other eating options close to the hotel.

HOTEL STAFF: The hotel staff at the reception speaks english and is friendly & helpful. The other staff like the housekeeping & restaurant cant speak english and are not very friendly and helpful.

IMPORTANT : The hotel does not allow the checked in guest to take any other person (Clients, suppliers, friends) to their room. There is a area made (just normal coffee table & chair) in the lobby for holding meetings for which the hotel charges a minimum fee of RNB 20 per person including the checked in hotel guest. Also if you wish to sit in the restaurant you are told to make a minimum billing of RNB 30 per person. So BE CAREFUL if you are in the hotel for business and will have people visiting you, you will be charged RNB 20 per person for just sitting in the lobby with them.

OVERALL RATING: The hotel is rated as a 4 star but if you ask me as per international standard I would rate it not more the a 3 star. Overall experience I would give the hotel a 6 on a scale of 10.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MansoorBhabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    181
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
10
3
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

ROOM
Stayed at the Deluxe Room, and I must say they have improved their facilities. Last time I stayed here was 5 years ago, and the place was quite run-down already. But now the rooms have been renovated: Nice beds, Flat Screen TV, Separate Shower and Bath, new tiles in the bathroom.

LOCATION
Great - only if you plan to shop around the Liu Hua Wholesale Market, have business around the area, or need to be near the Guangzhou Railway Station. The area outside the hotel is very busy and crowded, and I don't feel safe walking around, especially that there are lots of people from rural areas outside the train station.

CHECK-IN
The front desk staff were not that "welcoming", doesn't smile at all, and I feel they don't want me to stay there.

I will stay here again ONLY if I need to be near the Train Station.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

I read varied reviews about this hotel and i thought , lets go ahead book it and see how it is. This is my review of this hotel.
1. Not a 4Star but definitely a good 3 star hotel.
2. the lobby carpet was bit old, but the room was very clean and nice
3. Free Internet in room (no wireless)
4. They give free bottled water (2 in room , want more ask the floor attendent)
5. The people at reception were quite slow in checking us in but checking out was fast as we did not have any minibar or room service, if you have any then they delay again (20 mins easily)
6. Front desk jackie was very helpful, and only one who smiles there and rest were not very friendly,, don know why but u don interact with them so often so no major worries about it.
7. There were attendants on every floor next to the elevator to make sure that none other than guests go to the room, but there were also quick to service you if you needed any assistance. that was a plus.
8. Lot of wholesale apparel shops around the hotel, like 2 mins away. so if anybody into serious clothing shopping this is the best place to stay.
9. Mc Donalds downstairs was very helpful and there is a liquor and snack shop inside the hotel, which was also very helpful.
10. Subway, train station and post office right across the hotel, very helpful.
11. Subway from here covers almost every part of the city and its fast and nice.
12. Taxis .. insist on meter many agree to it.
13. there is 1001 arabian nights 15 mins walk and good food and belly dance and hukka
14. there is a massage (**) parlor next to the china hotel (marriot) and its very expensive considering better places charging less.
15. check out the Latin Grill House for good great grilled food unlimited. enjoyed the food.
16. for people clubbing... there is KAMA club and babyface. they are quite expensive easily 500 rmb/person after you walk in. kama has lot of friendly women (not girls) who come by... make a deal as early as possible. but these places start buzzing after 11PM.
17. For shopping electronics go to Nanfang / New Asia Market. its whole sale.. bargain 50%. and at walkable distance there is a street market. forgot the name
18. for all the gift items go to one link plaza.
19. also check out the Beijing Lu.
20. definitely walk along the pearl river its nice.
21. for people going to canton fair ,, there is a free bus shuttle at 8.30 am sharp to the fair.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lottosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Got there 10 pm and was told that me and my girl friend can not check
In together because we do not have marriage license. I have to find her another room in a nearby hotel at 11 pm at night. The next day they would not allow me to leave early without
Paying for the 7 days I booked although the night manager agree to let me leave early the night before. I have to argue for 2 hours and they finally charged me only one night.
I wasted 2 hours of precious time of attending canton fair. Stay away. Every floor, there is a old lady watching guests so that they do not bring anyone else to room. This is honest experience during canton fair.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World1963Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

While very close to the train station, you should NOTE that it is NOT the main Guangzhou train station, which is Guangzhou East. It is that OTHER train station where you will probably catch trains to other cities. Nevertheless, it is near a large train station and across the streed from a subway station so is convenient.

The rooms are worn, dirty, and poorly repaired. The table in the room had the veneer on the top completely worm through. Walpaper in the room was repaired with a stapler. The bed became old a long time ago. "Disrepair" would be the one word that best describes this facility.

The staff is indifferent. They could not be bothered to answer questions or to provide any information. A local map in English was beyond their ability or interest.

We were eventually able to get the internet working, and there was not an extra charge.

The hotel is not a place you will stay in and choose to spend time in.

It is easy, however, and sometimes they discount nicely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

WORST for the rooms, smelly rooms, pron\blem with internet, stuck basin, curview for guest's visitor, rude and pooer english staffs, unhelpful staffs, the hotel charge for local calls for 2 RMB per minute (while other hotels give free call for local calls )

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Pros
- Good location, and near Guangzhou Train and Subway Station. Going anywhere was so easy.
- Right in garment district
- Still accepatable price - value, during Canton Fair
- McDonald downstair and 24 hrs.
- Clean and good sleep
Cons
- Slow service, esp if you check out early morning
- Extremely busy surrounding at daytime, but a bit too quiet at night. Must be careful to walk around late evening.
- Foot massage upstair was too expensive to Guangzhou standard

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisiskeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangdong Baiyun City Hotel
#197 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
#350 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Hotel Elan
#182 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railwa...
#1,747 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Dongfang Hotel
#39 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liuhua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liuhua Hotel

Property: Liuhua Hotel
Address: No.194 Huanshi West Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510017, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#151 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liuhua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liuhua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liuhua Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing