We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for apparel shopping, nice room”
Review of Liuhua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liuhua Hotel
Ranked #199 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent location for apparel shopping, nice room”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

On this trip, I stayed at Liuhua near the main railway station and at Guangzhou near Yide st. In Haizhu. Both are in the same price range and well located with respect to different wholesale market areas. Liuhua is in a much busier and seedier area though the hotel itself is an oasis of calm. The hotel is well managed, things looked new, my room was clean, bed comfortable, water pressure strong, there is a safe in the room, free wifi and the ac worked well. There is a western buffet breakfast restaurant and a Chinese a la carte restaurant as well as a McDonald around the corner. Service is prompt and efficient, however the staff's command of English is poor nonetheless communication is not a problem. If my business takes me again to the railway station area, this will definitely be my choice of hotel. Guangzhou is a huge sprawling city. Although the subway is well laid out, the walking distances involved or if one is taking a cab, the traffic congestion make it wise to stay near where one will be frequenting. As far as I am concerned, the biggest minus of this hotel is its distance from the restaurants that I prefer, they are all a 30 yuan cab ride away, whereas from Guangzhou Hotel they are more like 20 yuan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    182
    71
    15
    9
See reviews for
10
3
8
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2011

i had a real bad staying experience in liuhua hotel guangzhou, the price that provide by the hotel can be so not transparent, the price that gave us can be CNY880 per night. but i saw some people that can negotiated till cny380 per night with the totally same kind of room... such a not standard hotel, what will u feel if u knew that u have pay so much more than other and received the same kind of room???? then the hotel staff provide bad service, not friendly at all, in the hotel greeting card, they have the well come noted that to provide the best service to fullfill customer satisfaction!!! but end up we ask for borrowing somethings like, multiple plug, vacuum cleaner.. they all refuse to borrow and with the bad reply, this make me really unhappy with their service attitude, i try to call the front desk manager, the reply is manager not in, and manager refuse to provide this service... what a bad service ... this is the worse hotel that i ever stay..... i never will and never recomend any of my friend and family to stay at this hotel anymore.....

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel is saved by its strategic location to wholesale markets and nice room for the price you pay. Otherwise, the hospitality rating is ZERO. It seemed to me that most of the front liner employees DO NOT know how to smile, rather rude and inattentive. If you ask for something that's not in their job descriptions, do not expect any assistance!
Day 1 - checked in at around 7pm, asked for an extra bed cos there're 3 of us, but the front desk lady said it IS NOT possible to put extrabed in the room, the hotel doesn't provide any. To sum it up, she insisted on and left us with no choice to take the "suite" rather than 2 rooms because 3 person occupying one room isn't allowed (hence, the extrabed requested!) I do not know any other hotels that don't provide extra beds. Even the small room hotels like in Japan can put an extrabed inside the room.

Day 3 - I asked a front desk lady in the information desk area (no one at the concierge desk & front desk was rather busy with few guests) if she's got any package for me. Poor lady does not understand English (for a 4star rated hotel), so she asked for her colleague's assistance who I assumed is the front desk staff. He, then, told me to go to the concierge instead, while he knew exactly that there's no one at the counter. No smile, no sense of hospitality, and he's not even looking at me when he told me off!

So, that's my experience!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

i would say according to me its the most economical and centrally located hotel in guangzhou which is located in the heart of the city ......i have been coming ot this hotel since the past 6 years and u=i am a loyal customer of this hotel .....this hotel has a 24 hrs mc donalds on its ground floor......its a 4star property .....the rooms are huge its thr times the size of the room you would get in hongkong at half the hongkong price......the room has good and decent bathrooms the hotel has been recently renovated......the hotel earlier had old and the new wing....namely north and the south wing ...the hotel now onli ha the new wing .....and in the plce of old wing they have the whole wholesale clothing market so it is very easily accesiable.......for me as well as other buyers
this place is very easy to comute as it is 5 minues from the wholesale jewellery centers and also 5 minutes from the worlds largest purse and bag market and the watch market......the rooms on the higher floor where i stay have free internet servse where in you can just plugin your laptops and use unlimited uinternet access..................tje hotel also has a gym and also a massage center ........i stay at this place normally for a week ..................and i normally tend to get good deals for the hotel.....for people who have vegeterian food its a little difficult to manage at the hotel so have ot go out to the places like mc donalds and pizza hut ....n some indian restuarants... i normally tend to carry my own pre mixed instand food packets.....the hotel room has coffee and tea maker and fridge with drinks and alll ......
the staff is also very helpful and kind.....the staff normally speaks good english so its very easy to explain if there is some problem or to get to some addresss ....so staff is very helpful ..............

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pravet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

- no seating area for visitors, they don't like you sitting in the cafe, you must order something.
- Visitors upstairs are screened.
- service is good - they would come up immediately you reported a faulty internet connection or safe, needed teacups, or needed a bellhop.
- MacDonalds downstairs, the fillet of fish and fries were of good quality.
- hotel breakfast is 85 yen, buy your own cereal and get milk at MacDOnalds!
- Hotel location is right in the middle of wholesale/retail markets of clothing, shoes, purses.
- evening walk around block...see octopus, baked yams, boiled corn, barbecued kebabs.
- To get to the hotel you must go around the whole block and then when you turn left towards the hotel you jump in one lane to the left.
- BEWARE: the Guangzhou railway station opposite is not the one that takes you to Hong Kong
- Subway stop here opposite the Liu Hua, a very good system, but not good to haul luggage!!!

Room Tip: Being polite fetches good results, no need to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujucome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

location of the hotel was very good , near to metro station , main bus station and guangzhou west railway station ,its 10 minutes drive to bejeing lu shopping street ,10 minutes drive to lujing lu where you can find most of indian restaurants , taxi fare from hotel not more than 14 rmb. staff was polite and help full and very important some staff could understand english. the room were quite comfortable and clean . i can not suggest for the food as am pure vetarian and hotel did not provide any indian vegetarian food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhilagarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My colleague and I checked in to this hotel on December 27, 2010 & checked out on December 30, 2010.I make my bookings through agoda.com and got a reasonable price.

LOCATION: The Hotel is right opposite to Guangzhou railway station. There are many whole sale markets in the vicinity of the hotel. The garment, watch, and packaging market are at walking distance. For the leather & cosmetic market you will require to take a cab by it hardly takes 10 mins and charge roughly 10 to 15 RNB from the hotel.

ROOMS: The rooms are mid sized and the bathroom has a tub. Their are LCD in the rooms but not many english channels, wired internet is complementary and there is no wi fi.

Cleanness: Is average, just regular stuff. the toiletries are average and nothing fancy but keeping the price in mind I would not rate it as bad.

FOOD: We did not try the breakfast as dint have time, the restaurant food is good and well priced. Their is a mc Donald in the hotel building and also many other eating options close to the hotel.

HOTEL STAFF: The hotel staff at the reception speaks english and is friendly & helpful. The other staff like the housekeeping & restaurant cant speak english and are not very friendly and helpful.

IMPORTANT : The hotel does not allow the checked in guest to take any other person (Clients, suppliers, friends) to their room. There is a area made (just normal coffee table & chair) in the lobby for holding meetings for which the hotel charges a minimum fee of RNB 20 per person including the checked in hotel guest. Also if you wish to sit in the restaurant you are told to make a minimum billing of RNB 30 per person. So BE CAREFUL if you are in the hotel for business and will have people visiting you, you will be charged RNB 20 per person for just sitting in the lobby with them.

OVERALL RATING: The hotel is rated as a 4 star but if you ask me as per international standard I would rate it not more the a 3 star. Overall experience I would give the hotel a 6 on a scale of 10.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MansoorBhabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hotel Elan
#201 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
95 reviews
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
#359 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
41 reviews
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#66 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Dongfang Hotel
#41 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
819 reviews
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railwa...
#1,580 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liuhua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liuhua Hotel

Property: Liuhua Hotel
Address: No.194 Huanshi West Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510017, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#128 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Liuhua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liuhua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liuhua Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing